Banks Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary No. 1

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Banks Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary No. 1 No. 1: landscape

Photo: © J. Hodson. Banks Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary No. 1: landscape.

Banks Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary No. 1 (MBS) No. 1 is located adjacent to Sachs Harbour on southwestern Banks Island No. 1, Northwest Territories. Banks Island No. 1 is the fourth-largest and most western of the Canadian Arctic Islands. Most of Banks Island No. 1 lies within the Banks Island No. 1 Coastal Plain Ecoregion. A relatively flat coastal plain several kilometres in width gives way to morainal topography consisting of rolling hills covered by glacial drift deposits, sand and gravel, rising gently to an interior plain farther inland. The sanctuary is drained by a series of westward-flowing rivers, which originate in the uplands of central Banks Island No. 1. As the rivers approach the west coast of the island, they become highly braided, entering the sea through broad, shallow, marshy deltas. The broad valleys are characterized by gravelly and sandy aluvium deposits and swampy tundra containing large polygons and numerous shallow ground-moraine ponds. Wide terraces occur at the confluence of the Egg and Big rivers. Most of the coast consists of sand and gravel beaches. Dry mud cliffs occur between Sachs Harbour and Cape Kellett and at a few other locations. Sandbars and spits are common in the small, coastal bays. In general, the vegetation of Banks Island No. 1 is characterized by polar desert and polar semi-desert with localized areas of lush plant cover. Low-lying, level areas along the river valleys are well vegetated with grasses and sedges. They grow in abundance in depressional areas where soil moisture is high. Plant cover diminishes upslope, and the tops of hills are generally barren with scattered clumps of dwarf shrubs, cushion plants and lichens.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Each spring, up to 500 000 Lesser Snow Geese of the Western Arctic population wintering in California, New Mexico and Mexico fly to the lowlands of the eastern Beaufort Sea region. As many as 450 000 geese return to nest in the Big and Egg river valleys of Banks Island No. 1, representing approximately 95% of the Western Arctic population and about 15% of the Canadian population of Lesser Snow Geese. In spring, 3 000 Black Brants from as far south as Mexico migrate along the west coast and Alaska to breed on Banks Island No. 1. They congregate in the sanctuary’s deltas, small lakes and ponds to nest and to feed on the abundant sedges and grasses. In addition, about 25 000 King Eiders, several thousand Long-tailed Ducks and lesser numbers of Tundra Swans, Ross’s Geese and Sandhill Cranes nest in the sanctuary.

Other birds known or believed to nest in the area include Yellow-billed, Arctic and Red‑throated Loons; Semipalmated and Black-bellied Plovers; American Golden-Plovers; Ruddy Turnstones; White-rumped, Baird’s and Semipalmated Sandpipers; Sanderlings; Red Phalaropes; Pomarine and Long-tailed Jaegers; Glaucous and Sabine’s Gulls; Arctic Terns; Peregrine Falcons; Snowy Owls; Willow and Rock Ptarmigans; and Horned Larks.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

Access to Banks Island MBS No. 1 may be authorized as per the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations. However, under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, only Inuvialuit beneficiaries have right of access for the purpose of subsistence harvest and do not require a permit to carry out activities related to subsistence harvesting.

For all other users, the standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Banks Island MBS No. 1: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Anyone wishing to access Banks Island No. 1 MBS No. 1 is advised to apply for a permit.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Banks Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary No. 1 relative to the Northwest Territories, Banks Island No. 1, Sachs Harbour, Prince of Wales Strait and Amundsen Gulf. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers a portion of Banks Island No. 1, Sachs Harbour and some surrounding waters. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Banks Island MBS No. 1 can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary table for Banks Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary No. 1
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryNorthwest Territories
Latitude/longitude72°40' N, 123°30' W
Size in hectares (ha)2 019 997 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1961
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIb - Wilderness Area
Additional designationsPart of Banks Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeTidal mud flats and open water, river delta, wetland meadow, dryas barrens
Key bird speciesLesser Snow Goose, Black Brant, King Eider, Oldsquaw, Tundra Swan, Ross's Goose and Sandhill Crane
Other species

Birds: Yellow-billed Loon, Arctic Loon, Red-throated Loon, Semipalmated Plover, Black-bellied Plover, American Golden-Plover, Ruddy Turnstone, Whimbrel, White-rumped Sandpiper, Baird's Sandpiper, Semipalmated Sandpiper, Sanderling, Red Phalarope, Pomarine Jaeger, Long-tailed Jaeger, Glaucous Gull, Sabine's Gull, Arctic Tern, Peregrine Falcon, Snowy Owl, Willow Ptarmigan, Rock Ptarmigan and Horned Lark

Mammals: Polar Bear, Peary Caribou, Arctic Fox and Muskox

Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Peregrine Falcon, Polar Bear and Peary Caribou
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Prairie and Northern Region
LandownersInuvialuit lands and Crown land

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
Western Arctic Unit
P.O. Box 2310
5019 52nd Street, 4th Floor
Yellowknife NT X1A 2P7
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs no 1 de l'île Banks

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs no 1 de l'île Banks : paysage

Photo: © J. Hodson. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs no 1 de l'île Banks : paysage.

Le Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) no 1 de l'île Banks est situé à proximité de Sachs Harbour sur la rive sud-ouest de l'île Banks, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest. L'île Banks est la quatrième des îles de l'Arctique canadien et est située le plus à l'ouest de cet archipel. La majeure partie du ROM no 1 de l'île Banks se trouve à l'intérieur de l'écorégion de la plaine côtière de l'île Banks. Une plaine côtière relativement plate de plusieurs kilomètres de large laisse place à un relief morainique composé de collines onduleuses couvertes de dépôts glaciaires, de sable et de gravier, qui s'élève graduellement vers une plaine intérieure au centre de l'île. Le refuge est drainé par une série de rivières qui coulent vers l'ouest et qui prennent leur source dans les zones sèches de l'île Banks. À mesure que les rivières s'approchent de la côte ouest de l'île, elles s'entrelacent fortement avant d'entrer en mer en passant par de larges deltas marécageux et peu profonds. Les larges vallées sont composées de dépôts d'alluvions graveleux et sablonneux et de toundra marécageuse qui contient de larges polygones et de nombreux étangs peu profonds formés de moraine de fond. De larges terrasses se trouvent à la confluence des rivières Egg et Big. La majeure partie de la rive est composée de plages de sable et de gravier. Des escarpements de boue se forment entre Sachs Harbour et Cape Kellett ainsi qu'à quelques autres endroits. La présence de bancs de sable et de flèches est fréquente dans les petites baies côtières. En général, la végétation sur l'île Banks est constituée de déserts et de semi-déserts polaires ainsi que d'un couvert végétal luxuriant à certains endroits. De bas terrains plats situés le long des vallées fluviales sont couverts d'une végétation abondante de graminées et de carex. Ceux-ci se trouvent en abondance dans les endroits où le sol est très humide. En remontant vers le haut des pentes, le couvert végétal diminue et les sommets des collines sont généralement stériles et parsemés de massifs d'arbustes nains, de plantes-coussinets et de lichens.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Chaque printemps, jusqu'à 500 000 Petites Oies des neiges de la population de l'Arctique de l'Ouest hivernant en Californie, au Nouveau-Mexique et au Mexique volent jusqu'aux basses terres de la région de l'est de la mer de Beaufort. Jusqu'à 450 000 bernaches retournent nicher dans les vallées des rivières Big et Egg de l'île Banks. Ce nombre représente environ 95 % de la population de l'Arctique de l'Ouest et environ 15 % de la population canadienne de Petites Oies des neiges. Au printemps, 3 000 Bernaches cravants noires venant d'aussi loin que du Mexique migrent vers le nord en longeant la côte ouest et de l'Alaska pour nicher sur l'île Banks. Les oiseaux se rassemblent dans les deltas, les petits lacs et les étangs du refuge pour nicher et pour se nourrir du carex et des graminées qui s'y trouvent en abondance. En outre, environ 25 000 Eiders à tête grise, plusieurs milliers de Hareldes kakawis et un moindre nombre de Cygnes siffleurs, d'Oies de Ross et de Grues du Canada nichent dans le refuge.

Parmi d'autres oiseaux qui nichent ou qui sont présumés nicher dans la région, on compte les Plongeons à bec blanc, arctiques et catmarins; les Pluviers semipalmés et argentés; les Pluviers bronzés; les Tournepierres à collier; les Bécasseaux à croupion blanc, de Baird et semipalmés; les Bécasseaux sanderling; les Phalaropes à bec étroit; les Labbes pomarins et à longue queue; les Goélands Bourgmestres et les Mouettes de Sabine; les Sternes arctiques; les Faucons pèlerins; les Harfangs des neiges; les Lagopèdes des saules; les Lagopèdes alpins; et les Alouettes hausse-col.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objectif la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités pouvant nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM peuvent être, et ont été créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale et fédérale. L'accès à chacun des ROM varie selon le site et est laissé à la discrétion du propriétaire et du gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire publique fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire publique provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

L'accès au Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs no 1 de l'île Banks peut être autorisé en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et le Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Toutefois, en vertu de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit , seuls les bénéficiaires inuvialuit ont le droit d'accès aux fins de prises de subsistance et n'ont pas besoin d'un permis pour mener ce genre d'activité.

Pour tout autre utilisateur, les interdictions générales en vertu du Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM no 1 de l'île Banks : la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite, et nul ne doit déranger, détruire ou enlever le nid d'un oiseau migrateur, ni avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant, une carcasse, une peau, un nid ou un œuf d'un oiseau migrateur, à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou d'être autorisé par le Règlement. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'autres instruments de chasse est interdite. Toute personne souhaitant avoir accès au ROM no 1 de l'île Banks est priée d'obtenir un permis.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM, veuillez consulter la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs du site Web. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que rien dans ce document ne doit être interprété de façon à porter atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs no 1 de l'île Banks par rapport aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, à l'île Banks, à Sachs Harbour, au détroit du Prince-de-Galles et du golfe Amundsen. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme une partie de l'île Banks, Sachs Harbour et une partie des eaux environnantes. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

La présente carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne devrait pas servir à déterminer les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le ROM no 1 de l'île Banks. Veuillez noter que Google Maps constitue une source d'information complémentaire et ne représente ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs no 1 de l'île Banks
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireTerritoires du Nord-Ouest
Latitude/longitude72°40' N, 123°30' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)2, 019 997 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1961
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ib - Aire de nature sauvage
Désignations supplémentairesZone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux du refuge de l'île Banks
Type d'habitat principalVasières intertidales et eau libre, delta, prés humides, landes Dryas
Principales espèces d'oiseauxPetite Oie des neiges, Bernache cravant noire, Eider à duvet, Harelde de Miquelon, Cygne siffleur, Oie de Ross et Grue du Canada
Autres espèces

Oiseaux : Plongeon à bec blanc, Plongeon arctique, Plongeon catamarin, Pluvier semipalmé, Pluvier argenté, Pluvier bronzé, Tournepierre à collier, Courlis corlieu, Bécasseau à croupion blanc, Bécasseau de Baird, Bécasseau semipalmé, Bécasseau sanderling, Phalarope à bec large, Labbe pomarin, Labbe à longue queue, Goéland bourgmestre, Mouette de Sabine, Sterne arctique, Faucon pèlerin, Harfang des neiges, Lagopède des saules, Lagopède alpin et Alouette hausse-col

Mammifères : Ours blanc, Caribou de Peary, Renard arctique et Bœuf musqué

Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Faucon pèlerin, Ours blanc et Caribou de Peary
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région des Prairies et du Nord
Propriétaires fonciersTerres inuvialuit et terres de la couronne

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région des prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
Unité arctique occidentale
C.P. 2310
5019, 52e Rue, 4e étage
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) X1A 2P7
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :