Vaseux-Bighorn National Wildlife Area

Five California Bighorn Sheep in a field with and forest behind.
Photo: Neil Dawe © Environment Canada.
Vaseux-Bighorn National Wildlife Area (NWA), California Bighorn Sheep.

Description

The Vaseux-Bighorn National Wildlife Area (NWA) is located in the south Okanagan–Similkameen region of British Columbia. The NWA was established in 1979 to protect habitat for species deemed to be special and important, including the charismatic California bighorn sheep, which was considered endangered at the time. The Vaseux-Bighorn NWA provides significant habitat to federally listed species at risk as well as many species of migratory birds and other wildlife. The NWA is a dynamic natural system influenced by erosion, flooding, fire, grazing, and other natural processes. The NWA is important not only as habitat for local wildlife but also is part of an important habitat corridor for migratory species.

Mountainous landscape with a lake.

Photo: Dave Smith © Environment Canada.

Vaseux-Bighorn NWA, Landscape.

The Vaseux-Bighorn NWA officially became a federal property in 1979. The wildlife area took its name from Vaseux Lake and one of the area's most charismatic wildlife species, the California Bighorn Sheep. The Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) manages several separate units of land which comprise the Vaseux-Bighorn NWA. The NWA is also adjacent to Vaseux Lake, a federal Migratory Bird Sanctuary (est. 1923), and other conservation land holdings protected by the province, Nature Trust of British Columbia, The Land Conservancy of British Columbia and the Nature Conservancy of Canada.

The NWA includes habitats that extend from wetlands and riparian thickets around Vaseux Lake up to arid terraces dominated by antelope bitterbrush, and finally up to rugged hillsides, dominated by exposed rock and ponderosa pine. Old ponderosa pine and Douglas-fir parklands in the area create habitat for cavity nesting birds including Lewis's and White-headed Woodpeckers. Grasslands dominated by antelope-brush, sagebrush and blue bunch wheatgrass are unique to this area and provide suitable habitat for species such as Behr's Hairstreak and several bird species including the Long-billed Curlew. Extensive wetlands surrounding the Okanagan River channel and dyke system at the north end of Vaseux Lake provide excellent migratory bird habitat.

More information is provided on Vaseux-Bighorn NWA in the summary table below.

Top of Page

Planning Your Visit

Follow a short boardwalk through Vaseux-Bighorn NWA and you'll be rewarded with magnificient views of the beautiful landscape from the wildlife viewing tower. Don't forget your camera!

The boardwalk and an information kiosk are both accessible from a small parking lot and some public events are offered locally by the Okanagan Similkameen Conservation Alliance.

A Bobcat climbing up a rock.

Photo: Neil Dawe © Environment Canada.

Bobcat.

Public facilities: a small parking lot, a boardwalk, an information kiosk, and a wildlife viewing tower.

Vaseux Bighorn is one of ten NWAs receiving funding as part of Canada's National Conservation Plan -- established to conserve Canada's precious wildlife and to ensure that you have access to discover the nature around you. Visit, connect with nature, and leave only footprints behind.

For more information on what is permitted in NWAs, consult the NWA Management and Activities page.

 

Directions

Access to the National Wildlife is from Highway 97 (five km south of Okanagan Falls and nearly 15 km north of Oliver).

GPS: 49.303300, -119.535472

More information on access and permitting for Vaseux Bighorn NWA can be obtained by contacting the Environment Canada regional office.

Top of Page

Map of the Area

Map of the Vaseux-Bighorn NWA boundaries

Map showing the Vaseux-Bighorn NWA

Long description for the Map

Map showing the area around the Vaseux Lake in the Okanagan region of southern British Columbia. The boundaries of the Vaseux-Bighorn and the Vaseux Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary are indicated. The contains six different distinct units and the migratory bird sanctuary covers the lake as well as a portion of land to the north-west of the lake. The units are named according to their location with respect to Vaseux Lake. The Northwest Marsh Unit and the Northern Wetlands Unit overlap with the migratory bird sanctuary. The other units are the Northeast Uplands unit, the Westside Unit, the Southeast Uplands Unit and the Irrigation Creek Unit, which is located a couple of kilometers to the East of the lake. The scale on the map is in kilometers. Permanent water, roads and highways are all indicated on the map. A small, inset national map situates the in Canada.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Vaseux-Bighorn NWA can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Top of Page

Summary Table

This table provides summary information for the Vaseux-Bighorn NWA
Protected Area designationNWA
Province/territoryBritish Columbia
Latitude/longitude49°17' North / 119°33' West
Size812 hectares, comprised of several discontinuous parcels
Reason for creation of protected areaHistoric: protection of critical winter range for California Bighorn Sheep.
Current: the area supports an appreciable assemblage of rare, vulnerable, threatened or endangered species.
Date created (Gazetted)1979 – Legal description
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIV – Habitat/Species Management Area
Additional designations
Keystone or flagship speciesCalifornia Bighorn Sheep.
Listed Species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)30 species listed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), 28 listed on Schedule I of the Species at Risk Act including the threatened White-headed Woodpecker, Lewis's Woodpecker, Pallid Bat, and Behr's Hairstreak, as well as the special concern Long-billed Curlew and Peregrine Falcon.
Main habitat typePonderosa Pine & Bunchgrass zones
Faunistic and floristic importanceRare plant communities (identified by the B.C. Conservation Data Centre as red or blue-listed): Antelope Brush, Needle-and-Thread Grass, Water Birch, Red Osier Dogwood, Bluebunch Wheatgrass, Arrow-Leaved Balsamroot, and Ponderosa Pine–Bluebunch Wheatgrass communities. 
Invasive speciesRiparian  For example (e.g.) (purple loosestrife, aquatic e.g. Eurasian Milfoil), upland e.g.Sulphur Cinquefoil, Reed Canary Grass, Cheat Grass, Purple Loosestrife, Smooth Brome, Bull Thistle, Diffuse Knapweed, Hound's Tongue, St. John's Wort.
Additional linksCalifornia Bighorn Sheep
Main threats and challengesNWA is anticipated to be under a high level of threat in the future due to population growth, recreation pressure, and alien and invasive plant species.
Management AgencyEnvironment Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service)
Public access and usagePublic access allowed only on designated trail: wildlife viewing tower (Vaseux Lake Bird Observatory) and boardwalk.

Note: If there is a discrepancy between the information presented on this web page and any notice posted at the NWA site, the notice prevails as it is the legal instrument authorizing the activity.

Top of Page

Contact Information

Environment Canada – Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship Unit
5421 Robertson Road
Delta, BC
V4K 3N2
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Réserve nationale de faune de Vaseux-Bighorn

Description | Planifiez votre visite | Emplacement de la réserve | Carte de la réserve | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Cinq mouflons de Californie dans un champs avec une forêt à l'arrière. Photo : Neill Dawe © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Réserve nationale de faune (RNF) de Vaseux-Bighorn, Mouflons de Californie.

Documents connexes

Description

La Réserve nationale de faune (RNF) de Vaseux-Bighorn est située dans la région Okanagan-Sud-Similkameen de la Colombie-Britannique. La RNF a été créée en 1979 pour protéger l'habitat d'espèces considérées spéciales et importantes, dont le mouflon de Californie, qui était menacé de disparaître à l'époque. La RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn procure un habitat significatif à des espèces en péril ainsi qu'à de nombreuses espèces d'oiseaux migrateurs et autres espèces sauvages. La réserve constitue un système naturel dynamique et est sujette à divers processus naturels, comme l'érosion, les inondations, les incendies, le broutage. La RNF est importante pour la conservation de l'habitat non seulement pour des espèces sauvages locales mais aussi pour des espèces migratoires, la réserve formant une partie intégrante d'un important corridor biologique dont elles dépendent.

La RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn est devenue officiellement propriété du gouvernement fédéral en 1979. Le nom de la RNF fait référence au lac Vaseux et à l'espèce phare de la région, le mouflon de Californie (California Bighorn Sheep en anglais). Le Service canadien de la faune (SCF) d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada gère plusieurs unités de terrain distinctes qui ensemble, constituent la RNF. Localisée à proximité de propriétés privées, la RNF est aussi adjacente au lac Vaseux, un Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (créé en 1923), ainsi qu'à d'autres zones de conservation protégées par la province, Nature Trust of British Columbia, The Land Conservancy of British Columbia, et Conservation de la nature du Canada.

La RNF comprend des terres humides et des fourrés riverains autour du lac Vaseux, lesquels rejoignent les terrasses arides où abonde la purshie tridentée, pour culminer en falaises accidentées et en flancs de collines où dominent les affleurements rocheux, les pentes d'éboulis et le pin ponderosa. On y trouve d'anciennes forêts de pins ponderosa et de douglas taxifoliés qui servent d'habitat aux oiseaux nichant dans des cavités, y compris le Pic de Lewis et le Pic à tête blanche. Les prairies où dominent la purshie tridentée, l'armoise et l'agropyre à épi, des espèces endémiques à la région, offrent un habitat propice à des espèces comme le Porte-queue de Colombie-Britannique et plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux, notamment le Courlis à long bec. Les vastes zones humides adjacentes au système de chenaux et de digues de la rivière Okanagan, à l'extrémité nord du lac Vaseux, constituent un excellent habitat pour les oiseaux migrateurs.

Pour plus d'information sur la RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn, consultez le tableau sommaire ci-dessous.

Planifiez votre visite

Suivez un court trottoir de bois dans la RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn et vous serez récompensé par une vue spectaculaire du merveilleux paysage à partir de la tour d'observation de la faune. N'oubliez pas votre appareil photo!

Le trottoir de bois et un centre d'information sont accessibles depuis le petit parc de stationnement, et certaines activités publiques sont offertes par l'Okanagan Similkameen Conservation Alliance.

Installations publiques : un petit parc de stationnement, un trottoir de bois, un centre d'information et une tour d'observation de la faune.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les activités autorisées dans les RNF, consultez la page sur la gestion et les activités.

Emplacement de la réserve (accès)

Pour accéder à la RNF, empruntez la route 97 (à 5 km au sud d'Okanagan Falls et à presque 15 km au nord d'Oliver).

Coordonnées GPS : 49.303300, -119.535472

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès et les permis dans la RNF de Vaseux Bighorn, communiquez avec le bureau régional d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Carte de la réserve

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte montrant la zone autour du lac Vaseux dans la région de l'Okanagan dans le sud de la Colombie Britannique. Les limites de la RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn ainsi que celles du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Vaseux sont indiquées. La RNF est composée de six unités distinctes. Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs recouvre le lac ainsi qu'une portion des terres au nord-ouest du lac. Les unités sont nommées en fonction de leur emplacement par rapport au lac Vaseux. L'unité du marais du nord-ouest et l'unité des terres humides du nord chevauchent le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs. Les autres unités sont l'unité des hautes terres du nord-est, l'unité de l'ouest, l'unité des hautes terres du sud-est et l'unité de la rivière Irrigation, lequel est situé à quelques kilomètres à l'est du lac. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres. Les eaux permanentes, les routes ainsi que les autoroutes sont indiquées sur la carte. Un petit encart montre l'emplacement de la RNF dans le Canada.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer la RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire affichant diverses données sur la réserve nationale de Vaseux-Bighorn
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRNF
Province/territoireColombie-Britannique
Latitude/longitude49°7' Nord / 119°33' Ouest
Superficie753 ha, formée de plusieurs parcelles distinctes
Raison pour la désignation de l'aire protégéeHistorique : protection de l'aire de répartition hivernale essentielle du mouflon de Californie.
Actuel : la zone abrite un assemblage appréciable d'espèces ou de sous-espèces animales ou végétales rares, vulnérables, menacées ou en danger de disparition.
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1979 - Description légale
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)IV - Aire de gestion des habitats ou des espèces
Désignations supplémentaires
Espèces vedettes ou pharesMouflon de Californie.
Espèces inscritessous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Trente espèces évaluées par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et dont 28 figurent à l'annexe I de la Loi sur les espèces en péril comme les espèces menacées suivantes: Pic à tête blanche, Chauve-souris blonde, Pic de Lewis, Porte-queue de Colombie-Britannique, ainsi que les espèces préoccupantes Courlis à long bec, Faucon pèlerin.
Type d'habitat principalPin ponderosa et zones de graminée en touffe
Importance de la faune et de la floreCommunautés végétales rares (inscrites sur la liste rouge ou la liste bleue par le Conservation Data Centre de la Colombie-Britannique) : purshie tridentée, stipe comateuse, bouleau fontinal, cornouiller stolonifère, agropyre à épi, balsamorhize à feuilles sagittées et communautés de pins ponderosa-agropyres à épi.
Espèces envahissantesMilieux rivulaires (Par exemple (p. ex.) salicaire pourpre), milieux aquatiques (p. ex. myriophylle en épi), hautes terres (p. ex. potentille dressée, alpiste roseau, brome des toits, brome inerme, chardon vulgaire, centaurée diffuse, cynoglosse officinale, millepertuis commun).
Liens additionnelsLe mouflon de Californie
Défis et pressionsDes menaces importantes sur la RNF sont anticipées dans le futur, associées aux changements attendus dans la région tels: une croissance démographique, une augmentation des activités récréatives et des espèces non indigènes et envahissantes.
Organisme de gestionEnvironnement et Changement climatique Canada (Service canadien de la faune)
Accès public et utilisationLe public n'est admis que sur les sentiers désignés, dans la tour d'observation des espèces sauvages (Observatoire d'oiseaux du lac Vaseux - Vaseux Lake Bird Observatory) et sur le trottoir de bois.

Remarque : En cas d'incompatibilité entre les renseignements présentés sur cette page web et l'avis affiché sur le site de la RNF, l'avis prévaudra à titre d'instrument juridique autorisant l'activité.

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région du Pacifique et Yukon
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
5421, route Robertson
Delta (Colombie-Britannique)
V4K 3N2
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :