Brador Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Trumpeter Swans picture
Photo: Jean-François Rail © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Île Greenly within Brador Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

The Brador Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located in the northeastern part of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, near the town of Blanc-Sablon. It covers two islands, Île aux Perroquets and Île Greenly, as well as the waters within 500 metres surrounding each island. Île aux Perroquets is located in Anse des Dunes, northwest of Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon. Île Greenly is further offshore, approximately three kilometres southwest of the town. These two relatively flat islands (15 to 19 metres in elevation) are characterized by rocky outcrops with low-lying vegetation.

The 567 hectare MBS was established in 1925 to protect a major seabird nesting site. The sanctuary's key habitats include rocky outcrops and sand deposits, as well as grasses and rare shrubs. The remainder of the site comprises coastal shores and waters.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Approximately six species of seabirds, three of which belong to the family Alcidae, flock to Île Greenly and Île aux Perroquets during nesting season. Quebec's largest colony of Atlantic Puffins can be found in this MBS. Despite a significant decline in site use by this species (less than 16 000 birds in 2010 compared to more than 62 000 in 1935), the sanctuary now supports nearly two thirds of Quebec's Atlantic Puffin population. Razorbills are the second most populous species in the sanctuary. Although their numbers declined substantially in the 1970s and 80s, they have recovered dramatically in recent decades, peaking at 6300 individuals in 2010.

Common Murres are also found within the site, despite having completely vanished between 1965 and 1993. This species made a tentative reappearance in 1994 (14 birds) and its population grew enormously in the following years. By 2010, the number of Common Murres in the area had increased one hundred fold. Other nesting species are present in smaller numbers, varying from a couple to several hundred birds, depending on the species and the year. These include the Black Guillemot, the Great Black-backed Gull and the Herring Gull. Other species (Black-legged Kittiwake, Common Eider and terns) have nested here, but only on one occasion. Canada's endangered Short-eared Owl is also occasionally seen in the sanctuary.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be, and have been, established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Brador Bay MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

Access denial or restrictions imposed by the owners of land within the MBS may also apply.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Brador Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec, Île aux Perroquets, Île-Greenly, La Longue Pointe, Anse des Dunes, Anse Lazy, Baie de Blanc-Sablon and Baie de Brador. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Île aux Perroquets and Île-Greenly as well as some of the water surrounding each island. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Brador Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary table for Brador Bay Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude51° 22'; 45" N 57° 11' 23" W and 51° 25' 46" N 57° 14' 05" W
Size in hectares (ha)567 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1925
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsBrador Bay Important Bird Area
Main habitat typeRocky outcrops, marine, grass
Key bird speciesAtlantic Puffin and Razorbill
Other speciesBirds: Common Murre, Black Guillemot and Great Black-backed Gull
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la Baie-de-Brador

Importance du refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photographie de cygnes tpettes.
Photo : Jean-François Rail © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Île Greenly dans le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la Baie-de-Brador.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de la Baie-de-Brador est situé sur la partie nord-est du golfe du Saint-Laurent, près de la municipalité de Blanc-Sablon. Il est composé de deux Îles, l'Île aux Perroquets et l'Île Greenly, ainsi que d'une zone d'eau de 500 mètres autour de chacune d'elles. L'Île aux Perroquets se situe dans l'anse des Dunes au nord-ouest de Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon, alors que l'Île Greenly se trouve plus au large, à environ trois kilomètres au sud-ouest de cette municipalité. Ces deux Îles, au relief peu élevé (de 15 à 19 mètres d'altitude), se composent d'affleurements rocheux recouverts de végétation basse.

Ce refuge de 567 hectares a été créé en 1925 pour protéger un site important de nidification pour les oiseaux marins.

Les principaux habitats du refuge sont des affleurements rocheux et des dépôts sablonneux, ainsi que des herbacées et quelques rares arbustes. La zone côtière complète le portait.

Importance du refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs

Environ six espèces d'oiseaux marins dont des alcidés envahissent les Îles Greenly et aux Perroquets pendant la période de nidification. On trouve dans ce ROM la plus grande colonie de Macareux moines du Québec. Ainsi, malgré une baisse significative de l'occupation du site par cette espèce (moins de 16 000 individus en 2010 comparativement à plus de 62 000 en 1935), le refuge accueille aujourd'hui près des deux tiers de la population du Macareux moine au Québec. Le Petit Pingouin arrive second en termes d'abondance dans le refuge. Cette dernière espèce s'est rétablie de façon spectaculaire. Alors que ses effectifs ont beaucoup diminué dans les années 1970 et 1980, ils ont atteint un nouveau sommet d'abondance en 2010 avec près de 6 300 individus.

On trouve aussi dans ce refuge le Guillemot marmette, qui avait complètement disparu du refuge de 1965 à 1993. Cet oiseau est réapparu timidement en 1999 (14 individus) et sa population a littéralement explosé au cours des années suivantes. En 2010, le nombre de ce Guillemot y était 100 fois plus élevé. Les autres espèces nicheuses sont moins abondantes, leurs effectifs variant de quelques individus à quelques centaines selon les espèces et les années. Il s'agit du Guillemot à miroir, du Goéland marin et du Goéland argenté. D'autres espèces (la Mouette tridactyle, l'Eider à duvet et des sternes) y ont déjà été nicheuses, mais en une seule occasion. Le Hibou des marais, une espèce en péril au Canada, fréquente le site occasionnellement.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de la Baie-de-Brador : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d’armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Des interdictions ou des restrictions d'accès par le ou les propriétaires des terres incluses dans ce ROM peuvent également s'appliquer.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de la baie de Brador par rapport au Québec, à l'Île aux Perroquets, à l'Île Greenly, à la Longue Pointe, à l'Anse des Dunes, à l'Anse Lazy, à la baie de Blanc-Sablon et à la baie de Brador. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme l'Île aux Perroquets et l'Île Greenly ainsi qu'une partie des eaux entourant chaque Île. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de de la Baie-de-Brador (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du lac Saskatoon
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude51° 22' 45" N 57° 11' 23" O et 51° 25' 46" N 57° 14' 05" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)567 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1925
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesZone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux Baie de Brador
Type d'habitat principalaffleurements rocheux, zone marine et herbacées
Principales espèces d'oiseauxMacareux moine et Petit Pingouin
Autres espècesOiseaux : Guillemot marmette, Guillemot à miroir et Goéland marin
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :