Eleanor Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Eleanor Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape
Photo: © Blake A. Mann. Eleanor Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary: landscape.

Eleanor Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS), a small, rocky island located in the lower section of Lake Muskoka, is about 1.6 km from the mainland. The island is also managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada as a National Wildlife Area. It is highest on the west side, and slopes toward the east. The eastern third of the island is a mixture of red oak, eastern white cedar, eastern white pine and various shrubs, including elderberry. Approximately half of the pines are dead. The central part of the island is a mixture of grasses and raspberry shrubs. The higher western third of the island is composed of bare, rounded granite rock with clumps of grasses and shrubs scattered throughout. The western rock face drops steeply to the water's edge.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Eleanor Island MBS supports one of the few gull and heron colonies in the vicinity of Lake Muskoka. In 1970, the island was reported to have 20 to 30 nesting pairs of Great Blue Herons and approximately 300 pairs of nesting gulls (mainly Ring-billed Gulls and some Herring Gulls). During a visit to the island in the spring of 1983, 23 Great Blue Heron nests were observed. At that time, only 5 herons were on nests, but another 25 were flying about the island. Most of the heron nests were located in dead white pine snags (5 of the 13 in white pine trees), and the remaining nests were in red oak trees.

In 2009, 238 Double-crested Cormorant nests and 30 Great Blue Heron nests were found in the trees, while 266 Herring Gull nests were located on the ground. Ring-billed Gulls appeared to have abandoned the site at some point between 1983 and 2009. Interestingly, the appearance of cormorants nesting in the trees does not appear to have negatively impacted the number of nesting herons. It is unlikely that cormorants would have caused the Ring-billed Gulls to leave the island.

An expansion of the dense grass/raspberry shrub and/or dense shrub zones would reduce the nesting area available for Herring Gulls.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

Public access to Eleanor Island MBS is prohibited.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on Environment and Climate Change Canada's protected areas, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Eleanor Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Ontario, Muskoka Beach, Browning Island, St. Elmo, Eleanor Island, Lake Muskoka and Eleanor Island National Wildlife Area. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Eleanor Island and are identical to those of Eleanor Island National Wildlife Area. The scale of the map is in tenths of a kilometer.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Eleanor Island MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary Table

Summary table for Eleanor Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryOntario
Latitude/longitude44°59' N, 79°30' W
Size in hectares (ha)0.6 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1971
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsEleanor Island National Wildlife Area
Main habitat typeShrub/tree (30%), bare rock/scattered grass and shrub (50%), grass/shrubs (20%)
Key bird speciesGreat Blue Heron, Herring Gull and Double-crested Cormorant
Other speciesBirds: Ring-billed Gull
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Region
LandownerCanadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto ON M3H 5T4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Eleanor

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Eleanor – Paysage
Photo : © Blake A. Mann. Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Eleanor - Paysage.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de l'île Eleanor, une petite île rocheuse située dans la partie inférieure du lac Muskoka, se trouve à environ 1,6 km de la partie continentale. L'île est également gérée par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada en tant que réserve nationale de faune. Le côté ouest de l’île est le point le plus élevé et le côté est constitue le point le plus bas. Le tiers est de l'île comporte un mélange de chênes rouges, de thuyas occidentaux, de pins blancs et de différents arbustes, y compris le sureau. Près de la moitié des pins sont morts. La partie centrale de l'île comporte un mélange de graminées et de framboisiers. La partie ouest de l'île qui est plus élevée se compose de roches de granite dénudées et arrondies, avec des mottes d'herbes et des arbustes dispersés un peu partout. La paroi rocheuse de l'ouest descend abruptement jusqu'au bord de l'eau.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de l'île Eleanor abrite l'une des rares colonies de goélands et de hérons à proximité du lac Muskoka. En 1970, on a déclaré que l'île comptait de 20 à 30 couples de Grands Hérons nicheurs et environ 300 couples de Goélands nicheurs (principalement des Goélands à bec cerclé et quelques Goélands argentés). Au cours d'une visite à l'île au printemps 1983, 23 nids de Grands Hérons ont été observés. À cette période, seulement cinq hérons nichaient, mais 25 autres volaient sur l'île. La plupart des nids de hérons se trouvaient dans des chicots de pins blancs morts (cinq des treize pins blancs) et le reste des nids étaient dans des chênes rouges.

En 2009, 238 nids de Cormorans à aigrettes et 30 nids de Grands Hérons ont été trouvés dans les arbres, tandis que 266 nids de Goélands argentés ont été trouvés au sol. Les Goélands à bec cerclé semblent avoir abandonné le site à un moment donné entre 1983 et 2009. Il est intéressant de noter que l'apparition de Cormorans nichant dans les arbres ne semble pas avoir des répercussions négatives sur le nombre de hérons nicheurs. Il est peu probable que les Cormorans aient amené les Goélands à bec cerclé à quitter l'île.

Une expansion des zones denses de graminées, de framboisiers ou d'arbustes réduirait l'aire de nidification disponible pour les Goélands argentés.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres territoriales, fédérales et privées. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

L'accès du public au refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Eleanor est interdit.

Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès, les activités et les permis dans les ROM veuillez consulter la section Gestion et activités du site Web Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional.

Il est entendu que le présent document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Eleanor par rapport à l'Ontario, à Muskoka Beach, à l'île Browning, à St.Elmo, à l'île Eleanor, au lac Muskoka et à la réserve nationale de faune de l'île Eleanor. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui couvrent l'île Eleanor et sont identiques à celles de la réserve nationale de faune de l'île Eleanor. L'échelle de la carte est en dixièmes de kilomètre.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Eleanor (en anglais seulement). Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d’information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'île Eleanor
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireOntario
Latitude/longitude44° 59 'N, 79° 30' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)0,6 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1971
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesRéserve nationale de faune de l'île Eleanor
Type d'habitat principalArbustes/arbres (30 %), zone rocheuse/arbustes et graminées dispersés (50 %), graminées/arbustes (20 %)
Espèces clés d'oiseauxGrand Héron, Goéland argenté et Cormoran à aigrettes
Autres espècesOiseaux : Goéland à bec cerclé
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région de l'Ontario
Propriétaire des terresService canadien de la faune, région de l'Ontario

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
4905, rue Dufferin
Toronto (Ontario) M3H 5T4
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :