Gros-Mécatina Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

One of the two Îles aux Marmettes in the Gros-Mécatina Migratory Bird Sanctuary
Photo: Patrick Labonté © Environment and Climate Change Canada. One of the two Îles aux Marmettes in the Gros-Mécatina Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

The Gros Mécatina Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is located on the north shore of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, east of the village of La Tabatière, in the Gros Mécatina group of islands. This protected area is divided into three zones. The first zone contains two islands, collectively called Îles aux Marmettes, and a reef known as Rochers aux Marmettes. The other two zones encompass Île Plate and Île aux Trois Collines respectively. Coastal waters within a 1 km perimeter surrounding the islands, islets and reefs are also part of the MBS.

This 2168 hectare protected area was established in 1968 to protect essential seabird nesting sites. A portion of the sanctuary's terrestrial area consists almost entirely of rocky terrain, whereas the remainder is covered in vegetation. The latter part is comprised mostly of cranberry and cloudberry (also called salmonberry or yellowberry), as well as mosses and lichens that grow in abundance on the hilltops.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

The MBS provides important nesting grounds for many colonial birds. In the past, thousands of Common Murres would nest on the islands of this protected site. Illegal hunting, coupled with repeated egg collecting, has resulted in a marked decline in the number of birds observed in the sanctuary. Only 12 birds of this species were recorded throughout all the islands of the MBS in 2010. Occasionally, terns are the most common species found here, as in 2005, when 1800 of these birds were observed. Other species, like the Atlantic Puffin, Black Guillemot, Razorbill, Herring Gull, Great Black-backed Gull, Black-legged Kittiwake, Great and Double-crested Cormorants may form small colonies of anywhere from a few dozen to a few hundred birds throughout the different islands of the MBS. Use of the site by these various seabirds confirms the importance of the sanctuary in this region of Quebec.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to Cap-Saint-Ignace MBS: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless specifically authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited, and dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Gros Mécatina Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Quebec, La Tabatière, Baie des Moutons, Île aux Trois Collines, Île du Gros Mécatina, Îles aux Marmettes, Île Buffitt, Île Plate and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Îles aux Marmettes, Île aux Trois Collines and Île Plate as well as a portions of the surrounding waters. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Gros-Mécatina Migratory Bird Sanctuary can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary table for Gros-Mécatina Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territoryQuebec
Latitude/longitude50° 42' 30" N 58° 53' 02" W ; 50° 45' 15" N 58° 45' 22" W ; 50° 50' 17" N ; 58° 43' 46" W
Size in hectares (ha)2168 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1996
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) management categoryIa - Strict Nature Reserve
Additional designationsNone
Main habitat typeRocky outcrops and tundra landscape
Key bird speciesBlack Guillemot, Razorbill, Atlantic Puffin, Great Black-backed Gull, Herring Gull, Common Murre, Common Tern and Arctic Tern
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Other speciesPlants: cranberry and cloudberry
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Quebec Region

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas Unit
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
9250 - 49th Street
Québec, Quebec G1J 0C3
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email:ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Gros-Mécatina

Importance du refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photographie de Une des deux îles aux Marmettes du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Gros-Mécatina
Photo : Patrick Labonté © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Une des deux îles aux Marmettes du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Gros-Mécatina.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Gros-Mécatina se situe sur la côte nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent, à l'est du village de La Tabatière, dans l'archipel de Gros Mécatina. Ce territoire protégé est divisé en trois zones. La première comprend deux îles appelées les îles aux Marmettes, ainsi qu'un récif du nom de Rochers aux Marmettes. Les deux autres zones englobent l'île Plate et l'île aux Trois Collines respectivement. Les eaux comprises à l'intérieur d'un kilomètre autour de ces îles, îlots et récifs complètent le refuge.

Cette aire protégée de 2168 hectares a été créée en 1996 dans le but de protéger un site de nidification important pour les oiseaux marins. Bien qu'une portion de la partie terrestre du refuge soit presque exclusivement rocheuse, l'autre partie abrite une végétation dominée par certaines espèces d'airelles, la ronce petit-mûrier, communément appelée chicoutai ou plaquebière, ainsi que des mousses et lichens qui poussent en grande abondance sur les sommets des collines.

Importance du refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs

Ce ROM offre une aire de nidification importante pour un bon nombre d'oiseaux coloniaux. Autrefois, des milliers de Guillemots marmettes nichaient sur les îles de ce territoire protégé. La pratique d'une chasse illégale, combinée à des collectes d'œufs récurrentes, se traduit aujourd'hui par une très faible présence de l'espèce dans le refuge. Seuls 12 individus de cette espèce ont été dénombrés sur l'ensemble des îles du refuge en 2010. Occasionnellement, les sternes y sont les oiseaux les plus abondants, comme en 2005 où près de 1800 de ces oiseaux ont été observés. D'autres espèces comme le Macareux moine, le Guillemot à miroir, le Petit Pingouin, les Goélands marin et argenté, la Mouette tridactyle, le Grand Cormoran et le Cormoran à aigrettes peuvent former de petites colonies de quelques dizaines à quelques centaines d'individus dans les différentes îles du ROM. L'utilisation du territoire par ces différentes espèces d'oiseaux de mer démontre l'importance de ce refuge dans cette région du Québec.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objet la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités qui pourraient nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM ont pu, et c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, être créés sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale. Les conditions d'accès aux refuges varient d'un site à l'autre et sont établies par le propriétaire et le gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire domanial provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids et la gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

Les interdictions générales relatives au Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs s'appliquent au ROM de Gros-Mécatina : à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou que la réglementation l'autorise spécifiquement, la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite et nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre leurs nids, et nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant ou mort, ou le nid ou l'œuf d'un oiseau migrateur. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'engin de chasse est interdite et les chiens et les chats ne doivent pas être laissés en liberté.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que ce document ne porte pas atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Gros-Mécatina par rapport au Québec, à La Tabatière, à la baie des Moutons, à l'île aux Trois Collines, à l'île du Gros-Mécatina, aux îles aux Marmettes, à l'île Buffitt, à l'île Plate et au golfe du Saint-Laurent. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme les îles aux Marmettes, l'île aux Trois Collines et l'île Plate ainsi qu'une partie des eaux environnantes. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer lle refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Gros-Mécatina (en anglais seulement) Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Gros-Mécatina
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireQuébec
Latitude/longitude50° 42' 30" N 58° 53' 02" O ; 50° 45' 15" N 58° 45' 22" O ; 50° 50' 17" N ; 58° 43' 46" O
Superficie en hectares (ha)2168 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1996
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)Ia - Réserve naturelle intégrale
Désignations supplémentairesAucune
Type d'habitat principalAffleurement rocheux et toundra
Espèces clés d'oiseauxGuillemot à miroir, Petit Pingouin, Macareux moine, Goéland marin, Goéland argenté, Guillemot marmette, Sternes pierregarin et arctique
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Autres espècesPlantes: airelles et ronce petit-mûrier
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, Région du Québec

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Unité des Aires protégées
801-1550, avenue d'Estimauville
Québec (Québec) G1J 0C3
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :