Last Mountain Lake National Wildlife Area

Last Mountain Lake NWAPhoto: John Dunlop © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Last Mountain Lake National Wildlife Area.

Related Documents


For more than a century, Last Mountain Lake National Wildlife Area (NWA) has been officially recognized as a special place for wildlife. This area was first protected in 1887, when 1025 hectares (ha) of land at the north end of Last Mountain Lake were set aside as breeding grounds for wild fowl, becoming the first federal bird sanctuary in North America. Two main factors contribute to attracting such a wealth of birdlife to the area: its good habitats, as one of the most productive lakes in southern Saskatchewan; and its strategic location in the heart of the central flyway of North America. Spectacular populations of migrating ducks, geese, Sandhill Cranes and other birds use the area as they travel across the Great Plains, between their northern breeding grounds and southern wintering grounds.

Over 280 species of birds have been recorded at Last Mountain Lake NWA during migration. Up to 50,000 cranes, 450,000 geese and several hundred thousand ducks can be observed when migration peaks. Although less conspicuous, scores of songbirds, shorebirds and birds of prey spend from a few days to a few weeks every year in the area. Birds travelling through at least 25 different countries, from arctic Canada to Argentina, use Last Mountain Lake's rich habitats. The NWA is also an important breeding ground for at least 100 species of birds, many of which are unique to the prairie region. More than 9 species of shorebirds, 43 species of songbirds and 13 species of ducks nest within the limits of the NWA. Some of the most spectacular breeders include the Western Grebe, the American White Pelican, the American Avocet and the Wilson's Phalarope.

Besides its values as a migratory stopover and a breeding area, Last Mountain Lake NWA provides appropriate habitat for 9 of Canada's 36 species of vulnerable, threatened and endangered birds, as classified by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in 1993. They include the Peregrine Falcon, the Piping Plover, the Whooping Crane, the Burrowing Owl, the Ferruginous Hawk, the Loggerhead Shrike, the Baird's Sparrow, the Caspian Tern, and the Cooper's Hawk. Colonial nesters such as Pelicans, Cormorants, Gulls, Terns and Grebes are also particularly dependent upon the statutory protection afforded by the NWA. These birds nest in mixed colonies on several islands on the lake or on floating platforms in the marsh and are very sensitive to disturbance during the breeding season.

More information on Last Mountain Lake NWA is provided in the summary table below.

Top of Page

Planning Your Visit

Whether you wish to take a driving tour with interpretive stops, explore some walking trails or get a birds-eye view of extensive wetlands and prairies from an observation tower, Last Mountain Lake NWA has something for everyone. For the more adventurous, check out the opportunities for fishing, hunting, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, bird-watching, wildlife photography, and nature study in this beautiful NWA. Don't forget to take in the sight of the tens of thousands of migrating geese, ducks, swans and cranes that stop by to rest and replenish on their long journeys.

Public facilities: self-service information kiosk, washrooms (located near information kiosk), self-interpretive trails (with floating dock and bird blind), parking lot and observation tower.

For more information on what is permitted in NWAs, consult the NWA Management and Activities page.


The administration building and visitor centre are both located at the main access point south of Highway 15.

From Regina and Saskatoon:
Take Highway 2 to Highway 15. Go east on Highway 15 for 14.4 kilometers where you'll see a headquarters sign for the NWA. Turn south (right) and travel 3.2 km to the headquarters office.

GPS: 51.416929, -105.239036.

More information on access and permitting for Last Mountain Lake NWA can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Top of Page

Map of the Area

  • Last Mountain Lake NWA
Long description for the Map

Map showing the region around Last Mountain Lake in southern Saskatchewan. The boundaries of the Last Mountain Lake NWA and of the Last Mountain Lake Migratory Bird Sanctuary are indicated. The NWA covers almost all land around the northern side of the lake and the Migratory Bird Sanctuary covers the northern portion of the lake. The two protected areas are superimposed in a few small townships. The scale on the map is in kilometers. Permanent water, intermittent water, roads and highways are all indicated on the map. A small inset national map situates the NWA in Canada.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Last Mountain Lake NWA can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Top of Page

Summary Table

This table provides summary information for Last Mountain Lake NWA
Protected Area designationNWA
Latitude/longitude51°22' North / 105°12' West
Size10,905 ha
Reason for Creation of protected areaTo maintain and enhance its wildness; An important breeding ground and migratory stopover for several species of birds, many of which are unique to the prairie region.
Date created (Gazetted)1994 - Legal Description
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryIV-Habitat / Species Management Area
Additional designations
Main habitat typeWetland (21 %), Grassland (57 %), Cultivated land (4 %), Hay land (18 %)
Listed Species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)Sprague's Pipit, Piping Plover, Whooping Crane, Burrowing Owl, Ferruginous Hawk, Loggerhead Shrike, Baird's Sparrow, Caspian Tern, and Cooper's Hawk.
Invasive speciesSmooth Brome Grass, Kentucky Blue Grass, Quack Grass, Toadflax, Nodding Thistle, Sweet Clover.
Additional linksBirds: Western Grebe, American White Pelican, American Avocet, and Wilson's Phalarope.
Main threats and challengesAlien invasive plant species, gravel extraction, human influence and habitat fragmentation.
Management AgencyEnvironment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service)
Public access and usageFishing, hunting, boating, bird-watching, wildlife photography, nature study, and public notices only.

Note: If there is a discrepancy between the information presented on this web page and any notice posted at the NWA site, the notice prevails as it is the legal instrument authorizing the activity

Top of Page

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship Unit
115 Perimeter Rd
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
S7N 0X4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Date modified:

Réserve nationale de faune du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne

Description | Planifiez votre visite | Emplacement de la réserve | Carte de la réserve | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Réserve nationale de faune du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne Photo: John Dunlop © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Réserve nationale de faune (RNF) du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne.

Documents connexes

Description

Depuis plus d'un siècle, Last Mountain Lake est officiellement reconnu comme un endroit privilégié pour la faune. Cette zone est protégée depuis 1887, alors que 1 025 hectares (ha) de terre à l'extrémité nord de Last Mountain Lake ont été réservés comme lieux de reproduction pour les oiseaux sauvages, pour ainsi devenir le premier refuge d'oiseaux du gouvernement fédéral en Amérique du Nord. La richesse de l'avifaune de cette zone est attribuable à deux principaux facteurs : ses bons habitats, puisque l'un des lacs les plus productifs du sud de la Saskatchewan s'y trouve, et son emplacement stratégique au cœur de la voie migratoire du Centre de l'Amérique du Nord. De spectaculaires populations de canards, d'oies, de grues du Canada et d'autres oiseaux migrateurs utilisent la réserve pendant leur traversée des grandes plaines, entre leurs lieux de reproduction au nord et leurs aires d'hivernage au sud.

Plus de 280 espèces d'oiseaux ont été répertoriées à la RNF du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne pendant la migration. Jusqu'à 50 000 grues, 450 000 oies et plusieurs centaines de milliers de canards peuvent être observés au plus fort de la migration. Bien que plus discrets, un grand nombre d'oiseaux chanteurs, d'oiseaux de rivage et d'oiseaux de proie passent chaque année de quelques jours à quelques semaines dans la région. Les oiseaux qui traversent au moins 25 pays différents, de l'Arctique canadien à l'Argentine, utilisent les riches habitats du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne. La RNF constitue aussi un important lieu de reproduction pour au moins 100 espèces d'oiseaux, dont plusieurs sont uniques à la région des prairies. Plus de neuf espèces d'oiseaux de rivage, 43 espèces d'oiseaux chanteurs et 13 espèces de canards nichent dans les limites de la RNF. Certains des oiseaux reproducteurs les plus remarquables demeurent le Grèbe élégant, le Pélican d'Amérique, l'Avocette d'Amérique et le Phalarope de Wilson.

En plus de sa valeur comme halte migratoire et aire de reproduction, la RNF du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne offre un habitat convenant à 9 des 36 espèces d'oiseaux du pays que le comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a désignées vulnérables, menacées ou en voie de disparition en 1993 soit, le Faucon pèlerin, le Pluvier siffleur, la Grue blanche, la Chevêche des terriers, la Buse rouilleuse, la Pie-grièche migratrice, le Bruant de Baird, la Sterne caspienne et l'Épervier de Cooper. Des oiseaux nichant en colonies tels que les pélicans, les cormorans, les mouettes, les sternes et les grèbes dépendent aussi de la protection réglementaire que procure la RNF. Ces oiseaux nichent en colonies mixtes sur plusieurs îles du lac ou sur des plateformes flottantes dans le marais, et ils sont très sensibles aux perturbations pendant la saison de reproduction.

Pour plus d'information sur la RNF du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne, consultez le tableau sommaire ci-dessous.

Planifiez votre visite

Que ce soit pour faire un circuit panoramique en voiture parsemé de haltes d'interprétation, explorer des sentiers de promenade ou avoir une vue d'ensemble de la vaste étendue de terres humides et de prairies à partir d'une tour d'observation, une visite à la du lac de la Dernière-Montagne saura plaire à tout le monde. Les plus aventureux y trouveront aussi leur compte, car cette magnifique RNF offre une foule de possibilités d'activités, comme la pêche, la chasse, le canot, le kayak, la randonnée pédestre, l'observation d'oiseaux, la photographie d'espèces sauvages ou l'étude de la nature. À ne pas manquer : le spectacle offert par les dizaines de milliers d'oies, de canards, de cygnes et de grues qui y font halte pour se reposer et reprendre des forces au cours de leur longue migration.

Installations destinées au public : kiosque d'information libre-service, toilettes (situées près du kiosque d'information), sentiers d'auto-interprétation (dotés de quais flottants et de caches pour observer les oiseaux), stationnement et tour d'observation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les activités autorisées dans les RNF, consultez la page sur la gestion et les activités.

Emplacement de la réserve (accès)

Le bureau de l'administration et le centre des visiteurs sont tous les deux situés au point d'accès principal situé au sud de l'autoroute 15.

À partir de Regina et de Saskatoon :
Empruntez l'autoroute 2 jusqu'à l'autoroute 15. Prenez ensuite l'autoroute 15, direction est, sur 14,4 kilomètres. Vous verrez alors un panneau indiquant l'administration centrale de la RNF. Tournez à droite (au sud) et continuez pendant 3,2 km jusqu'au bureau de l'administration centrale.

GPS: 51.416929, -105.239036.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accès et les permis dans la RNF du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne, communiquez avec le bureau régional d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Carte de la réserve

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte montrant la région située autour du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne dans le sud de la Saskatchewan. Les limites de la du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne ainsi que du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne sont indiquées. La comprend presque toutes les terres entourant la partie nord du lac alors que le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs recouvre une portion nord du lac. Les deux aires protégées se superposent dans quelques cantons. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres. Les eaux permanentes, les eaux intermittentes, les routes ainsi que les autoroutes sont indiquées sur la carte. Un petit encart montre l'emplacement de la dans le Canada.

Cette carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne doit pas être utilisée pour définir les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser Google Maps pour situer la Réserve national de faune du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne. Notez cependant que Google Maps est une source d'information complémentaire et ne remplace en aucun cas ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire affichant diverses données sur la du Lac-de-la-Dernière-Montagne
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégée 
Province/territoireSaskatchewan
Latitude/longitude51°22' Nord / 105°12' Ouest
Superficie10 906 ha
Raison pour la désignation de l'aire protégéePréserver et améliorer son état sauvage. Site de reproduction important et halte migratoire pour les oiseaux migrateurs, dont plusieurs sont uniques à la région.
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1994 - Description légale
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) IV - Aire de gestion des habitats ou des espèces
Désignations supplémentaires
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Pipit de Sprague, Pluvier siffleur, Grue blanche, Chevêche des terriers, Buse rouilleuse,Pie-grièche migratrice, Bruant de Baird, Sterne caspienne, et l'Épervier de Cooper.
Type d'habitat principalTerres humides (21 %), Prairies (57 %), Terres cultivées (4 %), Champs de foin (18%)
Espèces envahissantesBrome inerme, Pâturin des prés, Chiendent, Linaire vulgaire, Chardon penché, Trèfle des champs.
Liens additionnelsOiseaux: Grèbe élégant, Pélican blanc d'Amérique, Avocette d'Amérique, et Phalarope de Wilson.
Défis et pressionsEspèces envahissantes, fragmentation de l'habitat.
Organisme de gestionEnvironnement et Changement climatique Canada (Service canadien de la faune)
Accès public et utilisationPêche, chasse, la navigation de plaisance, observation d'oiseaux, photographie de la faune, étude de la nature, et selon les avis publics affichés seulement.

Remarque : En cas d'incompatibilité entre les renseignements présentés sur cette page web et l'avis affiché sur le site de la RNF, l'avis prévaudra à titre d'instrument juridique autorisant l'activité.

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région des prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
115, route Perimeter
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)
S7N 0X4
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :