British Columbia

In British Columbia, approximately 14.2 million hectares (14.4% of the province as of 2010) are designated as protected. Environment Canada maintains 12 protected areas in British Columbia, including 5 National Wildlife Areas (NWAs) and 7 Migratory Bird Sanctuaries (MBSs), comprising over 5 thousand hectares of the province's protected lands and waters.

Map of Environment Canada's Protected Areas in British Columbia

Map showing the number of Environment Canada’s protected areas in British Columbia totalling 12 divided among  5 National Wildlife Areas (NWAS) and 7 Migratory Bird Sanctuaries (MBSs). Details can be found below. (4) Nechako River MBS (6) Vaseux Lake MBS (1) Christie Islet MBS (3) George C. Reifel MBS (5) Shoal Harbour MBS (7) Esquimalt Lagoon MBS (2) Victoria Harbour MBS (3) Qualicum NWA (1) Alaksen NWA (5) Widgeon NWA (4) Vaseux-Bighorn NWA (2) Columbia NWA

List of Protected Areas in British Columbia

The tables below contain information about the NWAs and MBSs shown on the map above. In addition to the name, year of establishment, and size of each protected area, the tables indicate how these sites fit into national and international networks of conservation areas. The following entities may be noted:

Ramsar: Wetland of International Importance
IBA: Important Bird Area
WHSRN: Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network
MAB: Biosphere reserve of the UNESCO Man and Biosphere Programme

This table provides information on the national wildlife areas such as the name of the area, the year it was established, the size in hectares and notes.

National Wildlife Areas
No.NameYear establishedSize in hectaresNotes
1Alaksen NWA1976349
2Columbia NWA19781,007 
3Qualicum NWA197778
4Vaseux-Bighorn NWA1979753
5Widgeon Valley NWA1978125 
Total:2,312 

This table provides information on migratory bird sanctuaries such as the name of sanctuary, the year it was established, the size in hectares and notes. 

Migratory Bird Sanctuaries
No.NameYear establishedSize in hectaresNotes
1Christie Islet MBS19621 
2Victoria Harbour MBS1931134 
3George C. Reifel MBS1967376
4Nechako River MBS1944183 
5Shoal Harbour MBS1931143 
6Vaseux Lake MBS1923353
7Esquimalt Lagoon MBS19231,841 
Total:3,031 

 

Access and Permitting

Although access to NWAs is not restricted, the primary purpose of these areas is to protect and conserve wildlife and their habitats, and therefore most NWAs are not equipped with facilities to accommodate public visitation. Unless otherwise posted, all recreational activities are prohibited within NWAs.

Although access to most MBSs is not restricted either, the primary intent of these sanctuaries is to protect migratory birds, and therefore hunting, as well as disturbing or molesting migratory birds, their eggs, nests or habitat, is prohibited.

A permit may be obtained from the Minister of the Environment authorizing the conduct of certain activities in an NWA or MBS, if the Minister or delegate is of the opinion that the proposed activity:

  • will not interfere with the conservation of wildlife; or
  • is consistent with the purpose for which the protected area was established; and
  • is consistent with the management plan for the protected area.

Contact Information

Additional information on entry, prohibited activities and permits in Environment Canada's protected areas is provided on the Management and Activities web pages of the National Wildlife Areas and Migratory Bird Sanctuaries. For more information on Environment Canada's protected areas in British Columbia, please contact the regional Environment Canada office: 

Environment Canada - Pacific and Yukon Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Ecosystem Conservation
5421 Robertson Road
Delta, British Columbia
V4K 3N2
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Colombie-Britannique

En Colombie-Britannique, environ 14,2 millions d'hectares de terrain (14,4 % de la province en 2010) sont protégés. Environnement Canada régit 12 aires protégées en Colombie-Britannique, soit 5 réserves nationales de faune (RNF) et 7 refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM), lesquels totalisent plus de 5 milles hectares des terres et eaux protégées de la province.

Carte des aires protégées d'Environnement Canada en Colombie-Britannique

Carte géographique montrant les aires protégées d’Environnement Canada dans la province de la Colombie-Britannique totalisant 12, lesquelles sont divisées en 5 réserves nationales de faune (RNF) et 7 refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs (ROM). Vous trouverez des informations détaillées ci-dessous. (4) ROM de la rivière Nechako(6) ROM du lac Vaseux(1) ROM de l'Îlot Christie(3) ROM de George C. Reifel(5) ROM de Shoal-Harbour(7) ROM d'Esquimalt-Lagoon(2) ROM du havre de Victoria(3) RNF de Qualicum(1) RNF d'Alaksen(5) RNF de la Vallée Widgeon(4) RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn(2) RNF de Columbia

Liste des aires protégées en Colombie-Britannique

Les tableaux ci-dessous renferment des renseignements sur les RNF et les ROM illustrés sur la carte qui précède. En plus de fournir le nom, l'année d'établissement et la taille de chacune des aires protégées, les tableaux indiquent comment ces sites s’intègrent à certains réseaux d’aires de conservation nationaux et internationaux. Les entités suivantes peuvent être mentionnées:

Ramsar : Zones humides d'importance internationale
ZICO : Zone importante pour la conservation des oiseaux
RRORHO : Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage de l’hémisphère occidental
MAB : Réserve de la biosphère du Programme sur l'homme et la biosphère de l'UNESCO

Ce tableau fournit l'information sur les réserves nationales de faune. Elle fournit le nom de la réserve, l'année de création, la taille en hectares et des notes.

Réserves nationales de faune
No.NomAnnée de créationTaille en hectaresNotes
1RNF d'Alaksen1976349
2RNF de Columbia19781 007 
3RNF de Qualicum197778
4RNF de Vaseux-Bighorn1979753
5RNF de la Vallée Widgeon1978125 
Total:2 312 

Ce tableau fournit l'information sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Elle fournit le nom du refuge, l'année de création, la taille en hectares et des notes.

Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs
No.NomAnnée de créationTaille en hectaresNotes
1ROM de l'Îlot Christie19621 
2ROM du havre de Victoria1931134 
3ROM de George C. Reifel1967376
4ROM de la rivière Nechako1944183 
5ROM de Shoal-Harbour1931143 
6ROM du lac Vaseux1923353
7ROM d'Esquimalt-Lagoon19231 841 
Total :3 031 

 

 

Accès et obtention de permis

Bien que l'accès aux RNF ne soit pas restreint, ces endroits visent la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leurs habitats. Par conséquent, la plupart des RNF ne disposent pas d’installations pour recevoir les visiteurs. À moins d’avis contraires affichés, toute activité récréative est interdite dans les RNF.

Bien que l'accès à la plupart des ROM ne soit pas non plus restreint, ces refuges visent avant tout la protection des oiseaux migrateurs. Par conséquent, il est interdit de chasser les oiseaux migrateurs, de les déranger ou de les maltraiter, ainsi que de malmener leurs œufs, leurs nids ou leur habitat.

Il est possible d'obtenir, auprès du ministre de l'Environnement, un permis autorisant la tenue de certaines activités dans une RNF ou un ROM, si le ministre ou un délégué estime que l'activité proposée :

  • ne nuira en rien à la conservation des espèces sauvages; ou
  • est conforme aux objectifs pour lesquels l'aire protégée a été établie; et
  • est conforme au plan directeur de l'aire protégée.

Coordonnées:

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur l'accès, les activités interdites et l’obtention de permis pour les aires protégées d'Environnement Canada, visitez la section Gestion et activités des pages Web des réserves nationales de faune et des refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Pour en savoir plus sur les aires protégées d'Environnement Canada en Colombie-Britannique, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du Ministère :

Environnement Canada - Région du Pacifique et Yukon
Service canadien de la faune
Conservation des écosystèmes
5421, route Robertson
Delta (Colombie-Britannique)
V4K 3N2
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca