Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Management and Activities


Introduction

Blue loon sign indicating the boundaries of an Environment Canada Migratory Bird Sanctuary © Canadian Wildlife Service

The management of Migratory Bird Sanctuaries is first guided by the Migratory Birds Convention Act, which allows for the promulgation of regulations for the protection of migratory birds from the taking, injuring, destruction or molestation of their nests or eggs, within any prescribed area, and for the control and management of that area.  This provision forms the basis of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations, under which Migratory Bird Sanctuaries are designated, established and managed.

Activities and Entry

Banding of a Wood Duck (also Carolina Duck), St. Clair National Wildlife Area, Ontario © Canadian Wildlife Service

Although entry and access to most sanctuaries is not restricted, human activities are controlled as per the Migratory Birds Convention Act and Migratory Birds Sanctuary Regulations. The Regulations outline specific prohibited and permitted activities in Migratory Bird Sanctuaries.

Prohibited Activities and Authorizations

The primary purpose of Migratory Bird Sanctuaries is the protection of migratory birds from killing, harm and harassment during a critical part of their life cycle, such as breeding, nesting, moulting, or staging and stopover during their migration. Unless a permit has been issued by the Minister of the Environment authorizing such activity, the Regulations prohibit the following activities in a Migratory Bird Sanctuary:

  • No person shall hunt migratory birds.
  • No person shall disturb, destroy or take the nests of migratory birds.
  • No person shall have in their possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird (a resident of a Migratory Bird Sanctuary may have in their possession migratory birds lawfully killed outside a Migratory Bird Sanctuary).
  • No person shall have in their possession in a Migratory Bird Sanctuary any firearm; or any hunting appliance except as otherwise provided in these Regulations (does not apply to residents of a Migratory Bird Sanctuary).
  • No person shall permit a dog or cat to run at large in a Migratory Bird Sanctuary.
  • No person shall carry on any activity that is harmful to migratory birds or the eggs, nests or habitat of migratory birds, except under the authority of a permit for those Migratory Bird Sanctuaries on provincial, territorial and federal lands.

Decision making when considering permitting or authorizing activities within a Migratory Bird Sactuary is guided by the Environment Canada protected areas permitting policy. Other requirements for specified sanctuaries may also apply in accordance with the management plan conservation goals of each Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

Migratory Bird Sanctuaries on Non-Federal Land

In the case of Migratory Bird Sanctuaries established on provincial/territorial land or private property, the prohibited activities under the Regulations have the force of law. However, requirements regarding authorizations or issuance of permits need to be verified with the appropriate authority (provincial/territorial) or landowner.

Exceptions

The Act and Regulations recognize Aboriginal or treaty rights, in accordance with Canada’s Constitution Act (section 25). In addition, permits might be required by Aboriginal peoples in accordance with the relevant land claim agreements. 

For more information on Migratory Bird Sanctuaries, please contact the Environment Canada office assigned to your province or territory as indicated in the list below. Please note that all requests must be made in writing through the Inquiry Center, email or to one of the following addresses:

Environment Canada - Atlantic Region *
Canadian Wildlife Service
17 Waterfowl Lane
Sackville , New Brunswick
E4L 1G6

Environment Canada - Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
1550 avenue d’Estimauville
Québec, Quebec
G1J 5E9

Environment Canada - Ontario Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
4905 Dufferin Street
Downsview , Ontario
M5H 5T4

Environment Canada - Prairie and Northern Region **
Canadian Wildlife Service
4999 – 98th Avenue
Edmonton , Alberta
T6B 2X3

Environment Canada - Pacific & Yukon Region ***
Canadian Wildlife Service
5421 Robertson Road
Delta, British Columbia
V4K 3N2


* The Atlantic Region includes: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador.

** The Prairie and Northern Region includes: Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

*** The Pacific and Yukon Region includes: British Columbia and Yukon.

Gestion et activités

Introduction

L’administration des refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs est d’abord guidée par la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, qui permet la promulgation de règlements visant à assurer la protection des oiseaux migrateurs pouvant prescrire l’interdiction de prendre, de blesser, de détruire ou de molester les oiseaux migrateurs, leurs nids ou leurs œufs dans les refuges établis. Cette disposition constitue le fondement du Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs, en vertu duquel les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs sont désignés, établis et gérés.

Activités et accès

Bien que l’accès à la plupart des refuges ne soit pas restreint, les activités humaines y sont contrôlées selon la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et le Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. Le Règlement cite les activités spécifiques qui sont interdites ainsi que les activités qui peuvent être autorisées dans les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs.

Activités interdites et autorisations

Le principal objectif des refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs est la protection des oiseaux migrateurs pour ne pas se faire tuer, blesser et harceler pendant une partie déterminante de leur cycle de vie, comme la reproduction, la nidification, la mue ou pendant les haltes migratoires et de repos durant la migration. À moins que le ministre de l'Environnement n’ait délivré un permis pour autoriser l’activité en question, le Règlement interdit les activités suivantes dans un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs:

  • Nul ne peut chasser des oiseaux migrateurs.
  • Nul ne peut déranger, détruire ou prendre des nids d’oiseaux migrateurs.
  • Nul ne peut avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant, ou une carcasse, une peau, un nid ou un œuf d’un oiseau migrateur (une personne qui réside ou qui est domiciliée dans un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs peut avoir en sa possession des oiseaux migrateurs tués légalement à l’extérieur d’un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs).
  • Nul ne peut avoir en sa possession une arme à feu ou tout instrument de chasse dans un refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs, sauf en cas de dispositions contraires dans ce Règlement (ne s’applique pas aux résidents d’un refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs).
  • Nul ne peut laisser un chien ou un chat circuler librement dans un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs.
  • Nul ne peut exercer une activité nuisible aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs œufs, à leurs nids ou à leur habitat, à moins d’un permis émis pour un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs situé sur une terre provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale.

La politique relative à la délivrance de permis pour les aires protégées d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada guide la prise de décision relative à si une activité peut être permise ou autorisée dans un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs. D'autres exigences peuvent aussi s’appliquer pour certains refuges et selon les objectifs de conservation du plan de gestion de chaque refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs.

Refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs sur des terres non fédérales

Dans le cas de refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs établis sur une terre de propriété provinciale, territoriale ou privée, les activités interdites par le Règlement ont force exécutoire. Cependant, les exigences liées aux autorisations ou à la délivrance de permis doivent être vérifiées auprès de l'autorité concernée (provinciale ou territoriale) ou du propriétaire privé.

Exceptions

La Loi et le Règlement reconnaissent les droits ancestraux ou issus des traités des Autochtones, selon la Loi constitutionnelle du Canada (article 25). Dans certains cas, les peuples Autochtones pourraient aussi devoir obtenir un permis et ce, selon les accords de revendication territoriale applicables.

Coordonnées

Pour en savoir davantage sur les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs, communiquez avec le bureau d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de votre province ou territoire, aux coordonnées fournies ci-dessous. Veuillez noter que toutes les demandes doivent être formulées par écrit soit à l'informathèque, par courriel ou à l’une des adresses suivantes:

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région de l’Atlantique Footnote 1
Service canadien de la faune
17, Waterfowl Lane
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick) E4L 1G6
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
1550, avenue d’Estimauville
Québec (Québec)
G1J 5E9
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région de l'Ontario
Service canadien de la faune
4905 Dufferin Street
Downsview (Ontario) M5H 5T4
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région des Prairies et du Nord Footnote 2
Bureaux Eastgate
9250, 49e rue NW
Edmonton (Alberta) T6B 1K5
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région du Pacifique et du Yukon Footnote 3
Service canadien de la faune
5421, route Robertson
Delta (Colombie-Britannique) V4K 3N2

Haut de la page

Date de modification :