Duncairn Reservoir Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Access and Activities | Map of the Area | Summary Table | Contact Information

Photo of Mallard female
Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada. Mallard female.

Duncairn Reservoir Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) is situated 32 km southwest of Swift Current, Saskatchewan. Duncairn Reservoir, also known as Reid Lake, is an impoundment formed by a Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration dam on the Swift Current Creek. The MBS was one of five sanctuaries established in 1948 to replace five other sanctuaries that had become unsuitable as a protected migratory bird area because of drought conditions.

Located in the semi-arid Mixed-Grass ecoregion of Saskatchewan, the Y-shaped reservoir is relatively deep and capable of maintaining favourable water levels except during periods of extreme drought. There are no islands in the reservoir. For the most part, the banks of the reservoir are high and steep. Vegetation on the banks consists of native grassland and shrubland. Mud flats of variable width between the banks and the water have scattered clumps of willows, sedges and a variety of other wet meadow species. Emergent aquatic vegetation is lacking because of the steep shoreline and extensive wave action; however, isolated beds of pondweeds are present. Surrounding uplands outside the boundaries of the MBS are a mix of native grasslands grazed by livestock, irrigated and dryland crop production, and two resort communities that have developed along the shorelines. Sixteen public roads provide access to points along or across the MBS.

Importance of the Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Duncairn Reservoir MBS is an important fall staging area for ducks (mainly Mallards), geese and Tundra Swans in the drought-prone, semi-arid region. Inadequate riparian habitat limits the value of this reservoir as a breeding and moulting area for waterfowl, and the lack of islands means that the reservoir is not used as a breeding site for colonial nesting water birds.

Access and Activities

MBSs are established for the protection and conservation of migratory birds. Activities that could harm migratory birds, their nests or their eggs are prohibited.

MBSs can be and have been established on private, provincial, territorial and federally owned lands. Access to each MBS varies by site and is at the discretion of the landowner and land manager.

Where MBSs are located on federal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the management and protection of migratory birds, nests, eggs and habitat. Where MBSs are located on provincial land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests, while the chief game officer of the province is responsible for the management of habitat. Where MBSs are located on private or municipal land, Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the protection of migratory birds and their nests. Habitat management is the responsibility of the landowner.

Public access to Duncairn Reservoir MBS is at the discretion of the many private landowners adjacent to the reservoir, or via the many provincial and municipal road access points. There are limited municipal road access points. The standard prohibitions under the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations apply to this site: hunting migratory birds is prohibited, and no person shall disturb, destroy or take the nest of a migratory bird or have in his or her possession a live migratory bird, or a carcass, skin, nest or egg of a migratory bird, except under the authority of a permit issued by Environment and Climate Change Canada or unless authorized by the Regulations. Possession of firearms or other hunting appliances is prohibited. Dogs and cats must not be allowed to run at large.

For more information on entry, activities and permits in MBSs, please visit the Management and Activities section of the Migratory Bird Sanctuaries website. For more information on protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada in Quebec, please contact the regional office.

For greater certainty, nothing in this document shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from the protection provided for existing Aboriginal or treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada by the recognition and affirmation of those rights in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Map of the Area

Long description of the map

Map showing the location of Duncairn Reservoir Migratory Bird Sanctuary relative to Saskatchewan, Duncairn, Simmie and Reid Lake. The map shows the boundaries of the sanctuary, which covers Reid Lake and a small amount of surrounding land. The scale of the map is in kilometers.

This map is for illustrative purposes only and should not be used to define legal boundaries. Duncairn Reservoir MBS can also be viewed using Google Maps. Please note that the Google map is a complementary source of information and does not represent the official map or site name.

Summary table

Summary table for Duncairn Reservoir Migratory Bird Sanctuary
CategoryInformation
Protected Area designationMigratory Bird Sanctuary
Province or territorySaskatchewan
Latitude/longitude50°02' N, 108°06' W
Size in hectares (ha)1615 ha
Date created (Gazetted)1948
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Management CategoryV - Protected Landscape/Seascape
Additional designationsNone
Main habitat typeOpen water and mud flats (100%)
Key bird speciesMallard, Tundra Swan, geese
Other speciesBirds: American White Pelican, terns, Great Blue Heron, Killdeer, Spotted Sandpiper, Willet, Wilson's Phalarope, Semipalmated Sandpiper, Least Sandpiper, Baird's Sandpiper, Pectoral Sandpiper, Sanderling, American Avocet
Listed species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA)None
Management agencyCanadian Wildlife Service, Prairie and Northern Region
LandownerProvince of Saskatchewan

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada - Prairie and Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
115 Perimeter Road
Saskatoon, SK S7N 0X4
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email: ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date modified:

Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Duncairn Reservoir

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs | Accès et activités | Carte du refuge | Tableau sommaire | Coordonnées

Photo de Canard colvert femelle
Photo : © Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Canard colvert femelle.

Le refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) de Duncairn Reservoir est situé à 32 km au sud-ouest de Swift Current, en Saskatchewan. Le Réservoir Duncairn, aussi appelé le lac Reid, est un réservoir de retenue formé par un barrage de l'Administration du rétablissement agricole des Prairies situé sur le ruisseau de Swift Current. Le ROM figure parmi les cinq refuges qui ont été créés en 1948 pour remplacer cinq autres refuges qui ne convenaient plus comme zone de protection pour les oiseaux migrateurs en raison des conditions de sécheresse.

Situé dans l'écorégion de la prairie mixte et semi-aride de la Saskatchewan, le réservoir en forme de Y est relativement profond et peut conserver des niveaux d'eau favorables, sauf durant les périodes de sécheresse extrême. Le réservoir ne renferme aucune île. Dans l'ensemble, les berges du réservoir sont élevées et abruptes. La végétation sur les berges est composée de prairies et de terres arbustives. Les vasières de largeurs variables qui se forment entre les berges et l'eau sont parsemées d'amas de saules, de carex et de diverses autres espèces des prés humides. La végétation aquatique émergente est insuffisante en raison de l'inclinaison abrupte du rivage et de l'ampleur des vagues; toutefois, des potamots sont présents. Les zones sèches environnantes à l'extérieur des limites du ROM sont composées d'un mélange de prairies indigènes servant de pâturage pour le bétail, de culture agricole irriguée et aride et de deux centres de villégiature qui ont été développés le long des rives. Seize routes publiques mènent à des points d'accès situés le long ou en travers du ROM.

Importance du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs

Le ROM de Duncairn Reservoir représente une importante halte migratoire pour les canards (surtout les Canards colverts), les bernaches et les Cygnes siffleurs dans cette région semi-aride et sujette à la sécheresse. Les habitats riverains inadéquats limitent l'importance de ce réservoir à titre d'aire de reproduction et de mue pour la sauvagine. De plus, le manque d'îles fait que le réservoir ne sert pas de site de reproduction pour les oiseaux aquatiques qui nichent en colonie.

Accès et activités

Les ROM ont pour objectif la protection et la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs. Les activités pouvant nuire aux oiseaux migrateurs, à leurs nids ou à leurs œufs sont interdites.

Les ROM peuvent être, et ont été établis sur des terres de propriété privée, provinciale, territoriale et fédérale. L'accès à chacun des ROM varie selon le site et est laissé à la discrétion du propriétaire et du gestionnaire des terres.

Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire publique fédéral, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la gestion et de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs, de leurs nids, de leurs œufs et de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur le territoire publique provincial, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids, tandis que le garde-chasse en chef de la province est responsable de la gestion de l'habitat. Dans les ROM situés sur des terres de propriété privée ou municipale, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et de leurs nids. La gestion de l'habitat relève du propriétaire des terres.

L'accès du public au ROM de Duncairn Reservoir est à la discrétion des nombreux propriétaires de terrains adjacents ou peut se faire en empruntant un des nombreux accès routiers provinciaux ou municipaux. Les interdictions générales en vertu du Règlement sur les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs sont en vigueur à ce site : la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est interdite, et nul ne doit déranger, détruire ou enlever le nid d'un oiseau migrateur, ni avoir en sa possession un oiseau migrateur vivant, une carcasse, une peau, un nid ou un œuf d'un oiseau migrateur, à moins de détenir un permis délivré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou d'être autorisé par le Règlement. La possession d'armes à feu ou d'autres instruments de chasse est interdite. Il est interdit de permettre aux chiens et aux chats de courir en liberté.

Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant l'accès, les activités interdites et les permis dans les ROM, consultez la page Gestion et activités de la section Refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs. De plus amples informations sur les aires protégées administrées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au Québec peuvent être obtenues en communiquant avec le bureau de la région.

Il est entendu que rien dans ce document ne doit être interprété de façon à porter atteinte à la protection des droits existants -- ancestraux ou issus de traités -- des peuples autochtones du Canada découlant de leur reconnaissance et de leur confirmation au titre de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Carte du refuge

Description longue pour la Carte

Carte indiquant l'emplacement du refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs du Réservoir Duncairn par rapport à la Saskatchewan, à Duncairn, à Simmie et au lac Reid. La carte indique les limites du refuge, qui renferme le lac Reid et une petite parcelle des terres avoisinantes. L'échelle de la carte est en kilomètres.

La présente carte est à titre indicatif seulement et ne devrait pas servir à déterminer les limites juridiques. Vous pouvez également utiliser Google Maps pour situer le ROM de Duncairn Reservoir. Veuillez noter que Google Maps constitue une source d'information complémentaire et ne représente ni la carte ni le nom officiel du site.

Tableau sommaire

Tableau sommaire du Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de Duncairn Reservoir
CatégorieInformation
Désignation de l'aire protégéeRefuge d'oiseaux migrateurs
Province ou territoireSaskatchewan
Latitude/longitude50°02' N, 108°06' O
Superficie en hectares (ha)1,615 ha
Date de création (publication dans la Gazette du Canada)1948
Catégorie de gestion de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN)V - Paysage terrestre ou marin protégé
Désignations supplémentairesAucune
Type d'habitat principalEau libre et vasières (100 %)
Principales espèces d'oiseauxCanard colvert, Cygne siffleur, oies
Autres espècesOiseaux : Pélican d'Amérique, sternes, Grand Héron, Pluvier kildir, Chevalier grivelé, Chevalier semipalmé, Phalarope de Wilson, Bécasseau semipalmé, Bécasseau minuscule, Bécasseau de Baird, Bécasseau à poitrine cendrée, Bécasseau sanderling, Avocette d'Amérique
Espèces inscrites sous la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)Aucune
Organisme de gestionService canadien de la faune, région des Prairies et du Nord
Propriétaire foncierLa province de la Saskatchewan

Coordonnées

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada - Région des prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et unité d'intendance
115, route Perimeter
Saskatoon, (Saskatchewan) S7N 0X4
Sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca
Date de modification :