Canadian Atlas of Bird Banding

Explanation of Species Accounts

4.1 Species name

The first items in each account are the species' common and scientific names, for which we follow the seventh edition of the Check-list of North American Birds (American Ornithologists' Union 1998 and updates through the 50th supplement), and the species number from The North American Bird Banding Manual (Gustafson et al. 1997).

4.2 Encounter maps

The encounter map shows lines joining banding locations with encounter sites for birds encountered more than 100 km from the banding site. The symbol at the end of each line marks the encounter location.

Prior to mapping, data were screened to delete records showing encounters within 100 km of the banding site (the latter being relatively uninteresting for depiction on maps). Encounters with inexact location codes or coordinates were also excluded, except as follows. Records providing degrees of latitude and longitude but lacking the exact 10' block were assigned coordinates at the southeast corner of the 1o block. Some of the older encounters from Mexico report the state but do not give any coordinates; in such cases, we assigned coordinates for the centre of the state. To ensure that scarce longdistance encounters would be mapped, we also assigned coordinates for inexact locations within Central or South American countries, giving coordinates for the centre of the relevant country.

For species with few band encounters, every record of movement greater than 100 km could be mapped individually. However, this was not possible for species with high numbers of encounters, as even maps with as few as 50 lines can appear too cluttered. We therefore reduced the complexity of the maps using several methods. For example, for a few species (noted in the text), we omitted encounters within 200–400 km of the banding site, as opposed to the usual 100 km. A second approach was to produce several maps for a species to allow depiction of more cases.

Most commonly, we used a thinning process. First, groups of records were identified that shared the same banding and encounter coordinates (i.e., all the birds were banded within one 10' latitude-longitude block and encountered within another 10' block). Then a single line was plotted with a larger symbol to indicate the number of encounters represented by that line (see key on each map). If further thinning was required, coordinates were rounded to form larger degree blocks (instead of 10' blocks), and new (larger) groups of records were formed that shared the new banding and encounter coordinates. From each group, a single record was randomly chosen to represent the group on the map, and these lines were plotted using their original coordinates. Again, the size of the symbol at the end of the selected line shows the number of records represented. If the map was still too crowded, the process was repeated with larger block sizes until the maps became clear. Block size in degrees (in decimal format) is shown with each map for which block size was enlarged above 10' of latitude and longitude for the purposes of thinning.

The number of encounters represented by each symbol is consistent across all maps, with only two sets of frequency classes being used: one for large data sets (map symbols are triangles) and one for smaller data sets (map symbols are squares).

The result of the thinning process is a set of lines joining banding and encounter locations that summarizes geographic patterns of movement, rather than showing every encounter separately. The advantage of this system is that sparse or outlier records are not eliminated in the thinning process, whereas dense areas of repetitious records are rigorously weeded to reduce clutter. The disadvantage is that many individual records (sometimes hundreds) are not shown on the maps. When block size is large (over a few degrees), the text draws attention to that fact and notes any distortions of pattern that may result.

4.3 Narrative

Each narrative begins with a clarification of taxonomy if taxa traditionally recognized by banders do not coincide with those in current use by systematists. A short description of the North American breeding distribution and each species' wintering area follows, based mainly on Peterson (1980), the American Ornithologists’ Union (1998 and subsequent supplements), Godfrey (1986), and individual species accounts in the Birds of North America series (Gill and Poole 1991–2001).

The main body of the text discusses movement patterns revealed by the encounters and refers to specific records (by number) that are listed below the text. If there are major published analyses of band encounters for the species, relevant results are summarized briefly in the account, even if published later than the cut-off date for including band encounters (end of 1995). Cited longevity records (from the U.S. Banding Laboratory web site) were current as of 2006.

4.4 List of selected encounter records

The encounter records are listed in a standard format. Each one occupies two lines, the upper containing mostly the banding information, and the lower, the encounter details. The band number is given first. Below it, on the second line, appear either the initials of the bander or, if these cannot be traced, the bander’s permit number or acronym of the permitting organization or the name of the country of banding. (This is the only banding information that appears on the second line rather than the first.) The name of the bander can be displayed by scrolling over the bander’s initials.

All codes in the encounter listings are from The North American Bird Banding Manual (Gustafson et al. 1997). The meaning of the codes can be displayed by scrolling over the code. These codes are used in preference to the “international” symbols because they contain more information (Brewer and Salvadori 1978). Following the band number and the initials or permit number of the bander or country of banding are two sets of codes: on the upper line, the alphabetic versions of the codes for age (first) and sex (second) of the bird at banding; on the lower line, the numeric codes for “present status of bird and band” and “how obtained” from the encounter data. Together, the latter two codes give some indication of the completeness of information for the particular record.

Next are the dates of banding (above) and encounter (below). Note that these are in the order day/month/year (not month/day/year as they are in the computer files), to conform with common Canadian usage. Special codes indicate inexact dates of encounter (an explanation is provided by scrolling over the code).

Dates are followed by the names of the places of banding (above) and encounter (below). Most place names were obtained from the gazetteer of banding and encounter localities on file at the U.S. Bird Banding Laboratory. The location names in the gazetteer were assigned by Laboratory personnel and frequently differ from the names that banders assign to their own sites. We have changed site names to those more recognizable by banders in the few cases where we knew which names were more appropriate, but in many cases we were not able to do so. When locations were not given in the gazetteer, we used atlases to find nearby place names.

The next data in the encounter records are the latitude and longitude of banding (upper line) and encounter (lower line), expressed as the coordinates of the southeast corner of the appropriate 10′ geographic block (Gustafson et al. 1997). Question marks indicate inexact locations. Where we assigned coordinates (see notes in section 4.2), the distance travelled (see below) is given as approximate. In a few specific cases for which revelation of the breeding locations might be deleterious to the bird, precise banding locations have been omitted. In these cases, we have identified only the province or state and rounded the geographic coordinates and the distances travelled.

The last data given are not extracted from the standard computer files but have been calculated separately. On the upper line is the time elapsed between banding and encounter (omitted when date of actual encounter was ambiguous or the bird was long dead at the time it was found), and on the lower is the calculated distance and direction between banding and encounter locations (see Additional details on data coding and analyses). The latter is blank when locations are inexact or where approximate locations were assigned (see section 4.2), in which case approximate distance and direction were calculated. Most encounters listed in detail are specifically cited in the text, but often the bird with the longest period between banding and encounter is listed at the end without any comment.

4.5 Summary of banding statistics

A summary of banding statistics is provided for each species with bandings in Canada. Data are arranged in three columns: birds banded in their first calendar year of life (Hatch Year), those banded in their second or subsequent calendar year of life (After Hatch Year), and the total banded regardless of age (including birds of unknown age when banded). An explanation of each line in the summary table is given below.

No. of Canadian bandings (1955-1995):

Banding numbers were not handled by computer prior to 1955, so this item and the next ("No. encountered per 1000 banded") are restricted to the 1955–1995 period. These two lines are italicized in the table to emphasize that they are a restricted subset of the numbers appearing in the remainder of the table. The term Hatching Year refers to birds banded in the calendar year of hatching; After Hatch Year includes all older birds. Note that the Total also includes birds of unknown age.

No. encountered per 1000 banded (1955-1995):

((No. encounters of birds banded in Canada, 1955-1995) x 1000) / (Total no. banded in Canada, 1955-1995)

The number of encounters includes birds killed, found dead, or captured alive, as well as sight records (i.e., bands read from a distance). If a single bird was encountered multiple times, it was tallied only once.

The encounter rate is influenced by such factors as the size and conspicuousness of a species, density of human population, and whether the species is hunted, as well as by the geographic distribution of bird banders and the number of individuals of the species they handle. The encounter rate is also affected by the number of reports of birds encountered in the same 10′ block in which they were banded. Prior to 1958, encounters within 90 days at the site of banding were incorporated into the database (although the numbers are not large); in 1958, however, this practice was discontinued. Encounters at the site of banding more than 90 days after banding can still be submitted to the banding office; however, some banders do not submit such encounters, and not all of those sent in are actually entered into the database (L. Métras, pers. commun.).

Total no. encountered (1921-1995):

No. of encounters of birds banded in Canada (1921–1995) + no. of Canadian encounters of birds banded elsewhere (1921–1995)

All further calculations in this table are based on this set of encounters. Duplicate encounters of the same bird were excluded.

No. encountered from foreign bandings:

No. of the above encounters (1921-1995) that involved birds banded in another country but encountered in Canada

Maximum period from banding to encounter (mo.):

Maximum for any individual, rounded to the nearest month

This information is provided as an indicator of a bird's minimum age, so is not provided when date of encounter or actual date of death is highly uncertain. Note also that this figure does not represent longevity, except for birds banded as very young chicks, as no attempt was made to estimate the true age of the bird by guessing at its age when banded.

No. of Canadian-banded birds moving > 0 km:

This number gives the sample size for the calculation below.

Mean movement > 0 km of Canadian-banded birds:

(Sum of km moved for all encounters of Canadian-banded birds that moved > 0 km)
/ (No. of Canadian-banded birds moving > 0 km)

The distance between the banding and encounter locations of each record was computed using a great-circle distance — that is, the shortest distance that could be travelled between the two coordinates allowing for the curvature of the earth (Cowardin 1977; Additional details on data coding and analyses). Although the maps show straight lines connecting points of banding and encounter, no birds are likely to fly in an exact straight line, least of all seabirds, most of which will not overfly land and hence are constrained by the shape of coastlines. This is particularly important to bear in mind when considering birds banded in Hudson Bay or the Gulf of St. Lawrence and encountered on the U.S. east coast. These individuals must have travelled much farther than the straight-line distances suggest. Hence, mean movement should be treated as the absolute minimum distance that individuals had travelled between banding and encounter. Distance travelled is shown as approximate in records for which we assigned encounter coordinates (see explanation in section 4.2).

Maximum movement from all encounters (km):

Maximum calculated distance moved for any individual

Unlike the calculation for mean movement of Canadian-banded birds (above), the maximum distance is given for any encounter in the database, regardless of banding location.

% recovered (encountered dead):

((Total no. encountered dead) x 100) / (Total no. encountered)

Birds with "unknown" present condition codes were treated as dead for this calculation and the next one ("% direct recoveries"), as were birds banded in their Hatch Year and encountered in the same 10' block within three months of banding.

Birds encountered before 1965 and birds banded outside the North American banding scheme (mainly in Europe and Greenland) did not have true "present condition" codes to indicate whether the encountered bird was alive or dead. We assigned codes to these records based on available information to enable their inclusion in this calculation.

% direct recoveries:

((Total no. of direct recoveries) x 100) / (Total no. of encounters)

A direct recovery is an encounter with a bird "killed or found dead before, during, or immediately after the first period of migratory movement following banding and before return migration would be likely to have occurred" (Gustafson et al. 1997). Additional details on data coding and analyses shows how this designation was assigned; see also notes above on "% recovered."

The "% direct recoveries" is used chiefly as a measure of the hunting pressure on species in which most of the mortality is inflicted by hunters. In species that are not hunted, this figure is a rough guide to the magnitude of annual mortality. In the majority of species, this figure will be much higher for birds banded in their Hatch Year than for those banded in later years, reflecting the high mortality of juveniles typical of most birds.

% encountered during banding operations:

((Total no. encountered in banding operations) x 100) / (Total no. of encounters)

The number of birds encountered during banding operations was the sum of birds with "how obtained" codes of 89 or 99.

4.6 Banding effort map

The banding effort map shows the numbers of individuals for each species that were banded in Canada from 1955 to 1995 in each location (compiled by 10′ block, with blocks combined if too close to be shown separately on the map). This map helps the reader interpret the distribution of encounters, because it shows where banding effort has been concentrated. Under each map is a list of up to five of the master Canadian permit holders responsible for the most bandings of the species in Canada from 1955 to 1995 (listed in descending order). One to many individuals may band under a single master permit, so this listing does not necessarily identify the most prolific individual banders.

Date Modified:

Atlas des oiseaux bagués ou repris au Canada

Explication des comptes rendus sur les espèces

4.1 Le nom de l'espèce

Les premiers éléments trouvés dans chaque compte rendu sont le nom commun et le nom scientifique de l'espèce, que l'on trouve pour la plupart dans les Noms français des oiseaux du monde, 1993, aux éditions MultiMondes (en anglais : la septième édition de la Check-list of North American Birds [American Ornithologists' Union, 1998] et les mises à jour jusqu'au 50e supplément), ainsi que le numéro attribué à l'espèce tiré du North American Bird Banding Manual (Gustafson et al., 1997).

4.2 Cartes géographiques des reprises

Les cartes géographiques des reprises montrent des lignes qui rattachent les sites de baguage aux points de reprise pour les oiseaux repris à plus de 100 km du site de baguage. Le symbole apparaissant à la fin de chaque ligne désigne le lieu de la reprise.

Avant la production de la carte géographique, les données ont été triées afin d'enlever les enregistrements des oiseaux repris à moins de 100 km du lieu du baguage (ceux-ci n'étant pas assez intéressants pour être cartographiés). Les reprises dont le code ou les coordonnées de l'emplacement étaient inexacts ont aussi été rejetées, sauf dans les cas suivants : aux enregistrements qui fournissent les degrés de latitude et de longitude, mais non l'emplacement exact du quadrilatère de 10 minutes, on a attribué arbitrairement des coordonnées dans le coin sud-est du quadrilatère de 10. Quelques-uns des plus vieux enregistrements de baguage et de reprise du Mexique indiquent l'État, mais ne donnent pas les coordonnées. Dans de tels cas, nous avons attribué les coordonnées du centre de l'État. Pour nous assurer que les rares reprises de longue distance soient cartographiées, nous avons aussi attribué des coordonnées aux emplacements inexacts dans les pays d'Amérique centrale et d'Amérique du Sud, en leur attribuant les coordonnées du centre du pays concerné.

Pour les espèces baguées ayant fait l'objet de peu de reprises, chaque enregistrement de déplacement de plus de 100 km pouvait être cartographié individuellement. Cependant, ce n'était pas possible pour les espèces ayant fait l'objet d'un grand nombre de reprises parce que même les cartes géographiques ayant à peine 50 lignes peuvent paraître encombrées. Nous avons donc réduit la complexité des cartes à l'aide de plusieurs méthodes. Par exemple, pour quelques espèces (mentionnées dans le texte), nous avons mis de côté les reprises effectuées dans un rayon de 200 km à 400 km du site de baguage, plutôt que seulement celles effectuées dans le rayon habituel de 100 km. Une deuxième approche consistait à produire plusieurs cartes pour une espèce afin de permettre l'illustration d'un plus grand nombre de cas.

La plupart du temps, nous avons utilisé un processus de réduction. D'abord, on a regroupé les enregistrements qui avaient les mêmes coordonnées de baguage et de reprise (c.-à-d. tous les oiseaux qui ont été bagués dans un quadrilatère de 10 minutes de côté et ont été repris dans un autre quadrilatère de 10 minutes). Ensuite, une seule ligne a été tracée avec un symbole plus gros indiquant le nombre de reprises représentées par cette ligne (voir la légende de chaque carte). S'il fallait réduire davantage, les coordonnées étaient arrondies pour former des quadrilatères plus grands (au lieu de quadrilatères de 10 minutes), et de nouveaux groupes (plus grands) d'enregistrements étaient établis de façon à correspondre aux nouvelles coordonnées de baguage et de reprise. De chaque groupe, un enregistrement a été choisi au hasard pour représenter le groupe sur la carte, et les lignes ont été tracées en fonction de leurs coordonnées originales. Encore une fois, la taille du symbole indiqué à la fin de la ligne choisie indique le nombre d'enregistrements représentés. Si la carte géographique était encore trop encombrée, on répétait le processus jusqu'à ce que celle-ci devienne claire. Sur les cartes où les quadrilatères ont été agrandis au-delà de 10 minutes de côté dans le but d'en clarifier les détails, leur taille en degrés (décimaux) est indiquée.

Le nombre de reprises représentées par chacun des symboles est cohérent sur toutes les cartes. Il n'y a que deux classes de fréquences utilisées : une pour les grands ensembles de données (le triangle), et l'autre, pour les plus petits ensembles de données (le carré).

Comme résultat, le processus de réduction donne un ensemble de lignes reliant les sites de baguage et de reprise, qui fournit une idée générale des modèles migratoires plutôt que chaque reprise. Cette méthode a l'avantage de ne pas éliminer les enregistrements clairsemés ou discordants, alors que les zones denses ayant des enregistrements répétitifs se trouvent rigoureusement expurgées pour réduire l'encombrement. Toutefois, elle a également l'inconvénient de mettre de côté de nombreux enregistrements individuels (parfois des centaines). Quand le quadrilatère est grand (plus de quelques degrés), le texte le mentionne et fait état de toute distorsion des modèles pouvant en résulter.

4.3 Exposé

Chaque exposé commence par une clarification taxinomique au cas où les taxons traditionnellement reconnus par les bagueurs ne correspondraient pas à ceux qui ont cours chez les taxinomistes. Une brève description de la répartition des aires de nidification de l'Amérique du Nord et des aires d'hivernage de chaque espèce s'ensuit, principalement d'après Peterson (1980), l'American Ornithologists' Union (1998 et suppléments), Godfrey (1986) et des comptes rendus sur chaque espèce tirés de la série Birds of North America (Gill et Poole, 1991-2001).

La partie principale du texte étudie les modèles migratoires qu'ont fait ressortir les reprises et fait référence à des enregistrements particuliers (par leur numéro) qui sont inscrits au bas du texte. Si d'importantes analyses de reprises de bagues ont été publiées pour l'espèce, les résultats connexes sont résumés dans le compte rendu, et ce, même s'ils ont été publiés après la date limite pour l'inclusion des reprises d'oiseaux bagués (fin de 1995). Les données sur la longévité (prises sur le site Web du U.S. Banding Laboratory) datent de 2006.

4.4 Liste d'enregistrements de reprises choisis

Les enregistrements de reprises sont inscrits dans un format normalisé. Chacun s'inscrit sur deux lignes, la première donnant l'essentiel des renseignements sur le baguage, et la deuxième, les détails sur la reprise. Le numéro de la bague est donné en premier. Juste en dessous, sur la deuxième ligne, il y a soit les initiales du bagueur ou, s'il n'est pas possible de les retrouver, le numéro de permis du bagueur, l'acronyme de l'organisme délivrant le permis ou le nom du pays où a été effectué le baguage. Le nom du bagueur peut être affiché en passant la souris au dessus des initiales du bagueur.

Tous les codes dans la liste des reprises proviennent du manuel du programme nord-américain de baguage des oiseaux (Gustafson et al., 1997). La signification des codes peut être affichée en passant la souris au dessus des codes. Ces codes sont utilisés de préférence aux symboles « internationaux » parce qu'ils contiennent plus d'information (Brewer et Salvadori, 1978). Après le numéro de la bague et les initiales ou le numéro de permis du bagueur ou du pays de baguage, il y a deux ensembles de codes : sur la ligne supérieure, la version alphabétique du code d'âge (d'abord), puis du sexe (ensuite) de l'oiseau lors du baguage; sur la ligne inférieure, les codes numériques pour l'« état actuel de l'oiseau et de la bague » et les « codes de circonstances » des données de la reprise. Ensemble, ces deux codes donnent une idée de l'intégralité de l'information pour l'enregistrement.

Ensuite apparaissent les dates du baguage (en haut) et de la reprise (en bas). Elles sont indiquées dans le format « jour/mois/année » (et non « mois/jour/année » comme on les trouve dans les fichiers informatiques), conformément à l'usage canadien. Des codes spéciaux indiquent les dates inexactes de reprise (une explication est fournie en passant la souris au dessus du code).

Les dates sont suivies du nom des lieux de baguage (en haut) et de reprise (en dessous). La plupart des noms d'endroits ont été obtenus dans le répertoire des lieux de baguage et de reprise sur fichier au U.S. Bird Banding Laboratory. Les noms de lieux du répertoire ont été attribués par des employés du laboratoire et diffèrent souvent des noms que les bagueurs ont inscrits pour leurs propres sites. Nous avons remplacé les noms par ceux que reconnaissent les bagueurs dans les quelques cas où nous savions quels noms étaient les plus appropriés; mais dans bien des cas nous n'avons pas pu le faire. Lorsque les endroits n'étaient pas indiqués dans le répertoire, nous avons eu recours à des atlas pour trouver les noms d'endroits voisins.

Les données qui suivent dans l'enregistrement de reprise sont la latitude et la longitude du site de baguage (ligne supérieure) et de reprise (ligne inférieure), exprimées sous forme de coordonnées du coin sud-est du quadrilatère géographique de 10 minutes approprié (Gustafson et al., 1997). Les points d'interrogation désignent les lieux inexacts. Là où nous avons attribué des coordonnées (voir les notes à la section 4.2), la distance parcourue (voir ci-dessous) est approximative. Dans quelques cas précis où la divulgation du site de nidification peut nuire à l'oiseau, les lieux de baguage précis n'ont pas été donnés. Dans ces cas-là, nous avons seulement mentionné la province ou l'État et arrondi les coordonnées géographiques, ainsi que les distances parcourues.

Les dernières données indiquées ne proviennent pas des fichiers informatiques habituels, mais ont plutôt été calculées séparément. Sur la ligne supérieure se trouve le temps écoulé entre le baguage et la reprise (cette donnée n'est pas indiquée lorsque la date de la reprise était ambiguë ou que l'oiseau était déjà mort depuis longtemps avant sa récupération), et sur la ligne inférieure, la distance et la direction calculées entre les lieux de baguage et de reprise (voir Renseignements supplémentaires sur le codage et les analyses des données). La ligne inférieure est laissée en blanc lorsque l'emplacement est inexact ou dans le cas où un emplacement approximatif a été attribué (voir la section 4.2). Dans ce dernier cas, la distance approximative et la direction ont été calculées. La plupart des reprises inscrites en détail sont explicitement indiquées dans le texte, mais l'oiseau détenant la plus longue période entre le moment du baguage et celui de la reprise est souvent inscrit à la fin, sans aucun commentaire.

4.5 Résumé des statistiques de baguage

Un résumé des statistiques de baguage est fourni pour chacune des espèces dont des individus ont été bagués au Canada. Les données sont placées en trois colonnes : les oiseaux bagués durant leur première année (Année d'éclosion), ceux qui ont été bagués durant leur deuxième année ou par la suite (Après l'année d'éclosion) et le total des oiseaux bagués (Tout âge), ce qui comprend les oiseaux dont on ne connaît pas l'âge au baguage. Chaque ligne du tableau sommaire est expliquée ci-dessous.

Nombre de baguages au Canada (1955-1995) :

Le nombre de baguages n'était pas pris en charge par un ordinateur avant 1955; cet article-ci et le prochain (nombre de reprises par 1 000 baguages) ne sont donc valables que pour la période de 1955 à 1995. Ces deux lignes sont en italique dans le tableau dans le but de souligner le fait qu'il s'agit d'un sous-ensemble réservé des nombres apparaissant dans le reste du tableau. Le terme HY se réfère aux oiseaux bagués l’année civile de leur éclosion, et AHY se réfère aux oiseaux plus vieux. À noter que le total inclut les oiseaux dont on ne connaît pas l'âge.

Nombre de reprises par 1000 baguages (1955-1995) :

((Nombre de reprises d'oiseaux bagués au Canada, 1955-1995) x 1000) (Nombre total d'oiseaux bagués au Canada, 1955-1995)

Le nombre de reprises comprend les oiseaux tués, trouvés morts ou capturés vivants, de même que les enregistrements d'observation (c.-à-d. les bagues lues à distance). Si le même oiseau a été repris plusieurs fois, il n'a été inventorié qu'une fois.

Le taux de reprise est influencé par des facteurs comme la taille et la visibilité d'une espèce, la densité de la population humaine, le fait que l'espèce soit chassée ou non, la répartition géographique des bagueurs d'oiseaux et le nombre d'individus de l'espèce dont s'occupent ces derniers. Le taux de reprise est aussi influencé par le nombre de rapports d'oiseaux repris dans le même quadrilatère de 10 minutes que celui où ils ont été bagués. Avant 1958, les reprises effectuées dans les 90 premiers jours sur le site du baguage étaient incorporées à la base de données (il s'agit d'un petit nombre), mais, en 1958, cette pratique a été interrompue. Les reprises effectuées sur le site de baguage plus de 90 jours après le baguage peuvent toujours être soumises au bureau de baguage. Cependant, certains bagueurs ne tiennent pas compte de telles reprises, et quand ils les envoient, elles ne sont pas toutes entrées dans la base de données (L. Métras, comm. pers.).

Nbre total de reprises (1921-1995) :

Nbre de reprises d'oiseaux bagués au Canada (1921-1995) + nbre de reprises au Canada d'oiseaux bagués ailleurs (1921-1995)

Tous les calculs dans ce tableau sont fondés sur cette série de reprises. Les autres reprises d'un même oiseau ont été exclues.

Nbre de reprises de bagues posées à l'étranger :

Nbre de reprises au Canada (1921-1995) d'oiseaux bagués à l'étranger

Période maximale entre le baguage et la reprise (en mois) :

Maximum concernant tout individu, arrondi au mois.

Cette information est fournie à titre indicatif de l'âge minimal d'un oiseau; c'est pourquoi elle n'est pas donnée lorsque la date de la reprise ou la date réelle de la mort est incertaine. Il faut également noter que ce chiffre ne fait aucunement référence à la longévité, sauf dans le cas du baguage de très jeunes oisillons, car on n'a jamais tenté d'évaluer l'âge exact des oiseaux simplement en le devinant au moment du baguage.

Nbre d'oiseaux bagués au Canada qui se sont déplacés de > 0 km :

Ce nombre donne une taille étalon pour effectuer le calcul ci-dessous.

Déplacement moyen des oiseaux bagués au Canada > 0 km :

(Somme des km parcourus pour toutes les reprises d'oiseaux bagués au Canada qui se sont déplacés à > 0 km)
/ (Nombre d'oiseaux bagués au Canada qui ont franchi > 0 km)

La distance entre les sites de baguage et de reprise de chaque enregistrement a été informatisée selon une distance orthodromique, c'est-à-dire la plus courte distance possible entre les deux coordonnées en tenant compte de la sphéricité terrestre (Cowardin, 1977; Renseignements supplémentaires sur le codage et les analyses des données). Bien que les cartes montrent des lignes droites reliant les points de baguage et de reprise, il est peu probable que les oiseaux, surtout les oiseaux de mer, qui survolent les terres et suivent par conséquent la forme des côtes, volent en ligne droite. Il est particulièrement important de garder cette réalité en tête lorsque l'on considère les oiseaux bagués dans la baie d'Hudson ou le golfe du Saint-Laurent et repris sur la côte Est des États-Unis. Ces oiseaux se sont certainement déplacés sur une distance beaucoup plus grande que la ligne droite ne le suggère. Ainsi, le déplacement moyen doit être traité comme une distance minimale absolue que les individus parcourent entre le baguage et la reprise. Dans les enregistrements auxquels nous avons attribué des coordonnées de reprise, la distance parcourue est approximative (voir l'explication à la section 4.2).

Déplacement maximal lié à toutes les reprises (km) :

Distance maximale de déplacement calculée pour tout individu.

Contrairement au calcul de la moyenne des déplacements des oiseaux bagués au Canada (plus haut), pour toute reprise, on indique la distance maximale dans la base de données, indépendamment du lieu de baguage.

% des récupérations (reprises d'oiseaux morts) :

((Nbre total de reprises d'oiseaux morts) x 100) / (Nbre total de reprises)

Les oiseaux ayant des codes de conditions actuelles « inconnus » ont été traités comme s'ils étaient morts aux fins de ce calcul et du suivant (% des récupérations directes), ainsi que les oiseaux bagués durant leur première année (année d'éclosion) et repris dans le même quadrilatère de 10 minutes dans les 3 mois suivant leur baguage.

Les oiseaux repris avant 1965 et les oiseaux bagués en dehors du programme de baguage de l'Amérique du Nord (surtout en Europe et au Groenland) n'avaient pas de vrai code de « conditions actuelles » pour indiquer si l'oiseau repris était mort ou vivant. Nous avons attribué des codes à ces enregistrements d'après les renseignements disponibles afin de pouvoir les intégrer aux calculs.

% des récupérations directes :

((Nbre total de récupérations directes) x 100) / (Nbre total de reprises)

Une récupération directe désigne la reprise d'un oiseau « tué ou trouvé mort avant, pendant ou immédiatement après la première période du déplacement migratoire qui suit le baguage et avant que la migration de retour probable n'ait eu lieu » (Gustafson et al., 1997). La page Renseignements supplémentaires sur le codage et les analyses des données montre comment cette désignation a été attribuée; voir aussi les notes plus haut concernant le « % des récupérations ».

Le pourcentage des récupérations directes est surtout utilisé pour mesurer la pression exercée par la chasse sur les espèces dont le taux de mortalité est en grande partie imputable aux chasseurs. Pour les espèces qui ne sont pas chassées, ce chiffre constitue un guide approximatif de la portée de la mortalité annuelle. Pour la plupart des espèces, ce chiffre sera beaucoup plus élevé dans le cas des oiseaux bagués durant leur première année (année d'éclosion) que pour ceux qui l'ont été plus tard au cours de leur vie, ce qui témoigne du haut taux de mortalité des juvéniles, situation type pour la plupart des oiseaux.

% des reprises durant les opérations de baguage :

((Nbre total de reprises lors d'opérations de baguage) x 100) / (Nbre total de reprises)

Le nombre d'oiseaux repris lors d'opérations de baguage était la somme des oiseaux qui avaient des codes de circonstance de 89 ou de 99.

4.6 Carte géographique des initiatives de baguage

La carte géographique des initiatives de baguage montre les nombres d'individus de chaque espèce qui ont été bagués au Canada de 1955 à 1995 à chaque endroit (groupés par quadrilatère de 10 minutes, certains quadrilatères étant combinés lorsqu'ils sont trop rapprochés pour figurer séparément sur la carte géographique). Cette carte aide le lecteur à interpréter la répartition des reprises, car elle montre où les initiatives de baguage ont été concentrées. Au bas de chaque carte géographique figure une liste d'au plus cinq titulaires de permis principaux canadiens, responsables de la plupart des initiatives de baguage d'espèces au Canada de 1955 à 1995 (en ordre décroissant). Un seul permis principal permet à une personne ou plus de baguer; la liste ne mentionne donc pas nécessairement les bagueurs individuels les plus productifs.