Species at Risk Act

The purposes of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) are to prevent wildlife species in Canada from disappearing, to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated (no longer exist in the wild in Canada), endangered, or threatened as a result of human activity, and to manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or threatened. A series of measures applicable across Canada provides the means to accomplish these goals. Some of these measures establish how governments, organizations, and individuals in Canada work together, while others implement a species assessment process to ensure the protection and recovery of species. Some measures provide for sanctions for offences under SARA.

The Habitat Stewardship Program supports the public's habitat protection and species at risk recovery initiatives.

SARA also provides for the issuing of permits or the conclusion of agreements for certain scientific or educational activities and for the implementation of special emergency measures.

The adoption of the Species at Risk Act in 2002 completed the National Strategy for the Protection of Species at Risk. Two other components preceded this Act: the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk signed in 1996, and the Habitat Stewardship Program established in 2000. Through these initiatives, Canada is making its commitment under the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity a reality.

SARA encourages the various governments in Canada to cooperate to protect wildlife species in this country. Consultation and cooperation with Aboriginal peoples are essential to the successful implementation of SARA. All Canadians are invited to participate in local community stewardship programs or express an opinion through the SARA Public Registry.

Whether you are...

  • Aboriginal people, hunters, trappers, fishermen, outfitters, outdoor enthusiasts, or scientific researchers;
  • representatives of agricultural, forest, mining, or oil and gas industries;
  • promoters of development projects;
  • elected municipal officials; or
  • members of a nongovernmental organization or a community group, or if you are an individual citizen,

SARA can affect you if a species at risk is found at any time throughout the year on a property in which you have an interest. To learn about the species' critical habitat, consult the SARA Public Registry. You can also contact the specialists at Environment Canada or Fisheries and Oceans Canada or provincial or territorial authorities to find out how to comply with the Species at Risk Act.

Links to the Species at Risk Act

Other Links

Loi sur les espèces en péril

Prévenir la disparition des espèces sauvages du Canada, permettre le rétablissement de celles qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées et favoriser la gestion des espèces préoccupantes pour éviter qu'elles ne deviennent des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées, tel est le but de la LEP. Ce but est assorti d'une série de mesures applicables partout au Canada. Certaines de ces mesures établissent la manière dont les gouvernements du pays, les organisations et les particuliers travaillent ensemble, tandis que d'autres prévoient un processus d'évaluation des espèces en vue d'assurer leur protection et leur rétablissement. D'autres encore décrivent les peines applicables en cas d'infraction à la Loi.

Le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat soutient les initiatives du public visant la protection des habitats et le rétablissement des espèces en péril.

La LEP prévoit aussi la délivrance de permis ou la conclusion d'accords pour certaines activités à caractère scientifique ou éducatif ainsi que des mesures spéciales en cas d'urgence.

La LEP, une consolidation

La Loi sur les espèces en péril, adoptée en 2002, complète la Stratégie nationale pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les deux autres éléments qui ont précédé cette loi sont l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, signé en 1996, et le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat, mis en place en 2000. Ainsi, le Canada concrétise son engagement au titre de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la biodiversité biologique.

Collaboration et consultation : les clés du succès

La LEP incite les gouvernements du pays à collaborer à la protection des espèces sauvages. La consultation et la collaboration des peuples autochtones sont essentielles à l'application fructueuse de la LEP. L'ensemble de la population canadienne est invitée à participer aux programmes communautaires d'intendance mis en œuvre à l'échelle locale et à faire connaître son opinion par le biais du Registre public de la LEP.

Que vous soyez...

  • des autochtones, des chasseurs, des trappeurs, des pêcheurs, des pourvoyeurs, des amateurs de plein air ou des chercheurs scientifiques,
  • des représentants des industries agricole, forestière, minière ou pétrolière,
  • des promoteurs de projets de développement,
  • des élus municipaux,
  • des membres d'une organisation non gouvernementale ou d'un groupe communautaire, ou encore de simples citoyens,

la LEP peut s'appliquer à vous si une espèce en péril se trouve, à un moment quelconque de l'année, sur une propriété dans laquelle vous avez acquis un intérêt. Vous pouvez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril pour connaître l'habitat essentiel de cette espèce. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec les spécialistes d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou de Pêches et Océans Canada, ou encore avec les autorités provinciales ou territoriales pour savoir de quelle manière vous devez vous conformer à la LEP.

Lien vers la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Autres liens

Date de modification :