Skip booklet index and go to page content

Compliance and Enforcement Policy for the Habitat Protection and Pollution Prevention Provisions of the Fisheries Act - November 2001

Jurisdiction and Responsibilities

Jurisdiction

Under section 91 of the Constitution Act, 1867, the federal government has exclusive jurisdiction over the conservation and protection of Canada's sea coast and inland fisheries. The Fisheries Act, first passed by Parliament in 1868, is the federal statute promulgated pursuant to this constitutional authority.

The Department of Fisheries and Oceans has primary, and ultimate, responsibility for administration of the Fisheries Act, which includes responsibility for administration and enforcement of the provisions dealing with physical alteration of fish habitat. The Department of the Environment has been assigned responsibility for administration and enforcement of the Fisheries Act provisions dealing with the deposit of deleterious substances into water frequented by fish through a 1978 Prime Ministerial decision. A 1985 Memorandum of Understanding between DFO and DOE reiterated the responsibilities of both departments and set out mechanisms for information sharing and co-operation.

Provincial, territorial and municipal governments also have powers that can have an impact on fishery resources and fish habitat through their authority to deal with water pollution and land and water use activities (e.g., forestry, mining, agriculture, hydro-electric power developments).

In order to implement the habitat protection and pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act, the federal, provincial and territorial governments may co-operate to promote compliance and enforce these provisions. This co-operation may include the designation of enforcement officials of these governments as Fishery Officers or Fishery Inspectors under the Act.

Authorities Responsible for Implementing the Habitat Protection and Pollution Prevention Provisions of the Fisheries Act

Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans is the federal Minister accountable to Parliament for all sections of the Fisheries Act. The Minister has responsibility for making regulations under the Act; designating Fishery Officers, Fishery Guardians, Fishery Inspectors, and Analysts; exercising the discretionary powers under the Act; and issuing Ministerial orders.

Minister of the Environment

As explained above, the Minister of the Environment has the responsibility for administration and enforcement of the pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act.

The assignment of administrative and enforcement authority with respect to subsection 36(3) does not include powers to make regulations, to appoint Fishery Officers, Fishery Guardians, Fishery Inspectors and Analysts, or to issue Ministerial orders. These powers rest with the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

Interdepartmental and Intergovernmental Co-operation

Administrative and enforcement activity by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans and the Department of the Environment may depend on working arrangements between the two federal departments at the regional level, or between DFO or DOE and a provincial or territorial agency. Those activities may also be governed by administrative agreements signed with provincial and territorial governments by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans under the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Act. Where administrative agreements involve the pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act, both the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and the Minister of the Environment sign the document.

Personnel Who Are Involved in Compliance Promotion

Personnel from the Department of Fisheries and Oceans and the Department of the Environment carry out many activities intended to promote compliance, including developing guidelines and codes of practice and providing technical advice. These personnel may review proposals and referrals for new projects and provide technical advice on how to achieve compliance. They may also provide expert testimony in court to support prosecutions under the Fisheries Act.

Habitat Management personnel from DFO, on behalf of the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, may authorize harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat pursuant to subsection 35(2) of the Act. Project proposals that may affect fish habitat are received directly from proponents or through various referral processes from other government agencies. Habitat Management personnel review these proposals and provide technical advice on avoiding and/or mitigating potential effects on fish habitat; or where this is impossible and the proposal is nevertheless acceptable, advice on habitat compensation. Their activities are guided by the Policy for the Management of Fish Habitat (1986). Its operating (guiding) principle is "no net loss" of the productive capacity of fish habitats.

Enforcement Personnel

Enforcement personnel are individuals designated by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans under the Fisheries Act as Fishery Officers or Fishery Guardians (section 5), or as Fishery Inspectors (section 38).

Powers of Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians

Subject to limitations of their powers pursuant to subsection 5(1) of the Fisheries Act, Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians are charged with enforcing all of the provisions of the Fisheries Act, including the habitat protection and pollution prevention provisions. However, they must exercise their powers in accordance with the requirements of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. The enforcement powers of Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians depend on whether they intend to conduct an inspection or a search. The main distinction between inspection and search will be discussed below.

Inspections

Inspection requires that a Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian must have reasonable grounds to believe that there are activities or things that are subject to the Act or are relevant to its administration. In carrying out an inspection, the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian is verifying compliance with the Act and is not undertaking a search in order to gather evidence of an alleged offence.

To ensure compliance with the Act and regulations, a Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may, therefore, enter and inspect any place in which the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian believes on reasonable grounds there is any work or undertaking or any fish or other thing to which the Act or regulations apply. Activities or things regulated by the Act may be in any place including any premises, vessel or vehicle. Entry does not require an inspection warrant. There is one exception. A Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may not enter any place, premises, vessel or vehicle that is a dwelling place, unless the occupant has given consent or unless they have obtained an inspection warrant.

To conduct an inspection, a Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may:

  • open any container;
  • examine any fish or other thing and take samples of it;
  • conduct any tests or analyses and take any measurements;
  • require any person to produce records or documents for examination;
  • use or cause to be used any data processing system;
  • reproduce or cause to be reproduced any print-out or intelligible output for examination or copying; and
  • use or cause to be used any copying equipment.

A Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian or anyone accompanying them, may enter on and pass through or over private property without being liable for trespass. In addition, a Fishery Officer has the power to authorize another person who may not be accompanying the Fishery Officer, to enter on and pass through or over private property.

Searches

Search requires the belief, on reasonable grounds, that an offence has been committed before a Fishery Officer may enter premises to search for evidence of an alleged offence. The officer may search for any thing that he or she believes on reasonable grounds will provide evidence of a violation of the Act, or that was used in connection with the commission of an offence against the Act. The Fishery Officer must conduct a search under the authority of a search warrant, except when exigent circumstances make it impracticable to obtain a warrant and, under those circumstances, the officer may enter and search without a search warrant. Under the Fisheries Act, exigent circumstances include situations in which the delay necessary to get a search warrant would result in danger to human life or safety or the loss or destruction of evidence.

In conducting a search, a Fishery Officer may exercise any of the powers that are described above under the heading "Inspections".

Although the Fisheries Act does not authorize a Fishery Guardian to conduct searches, a Fishery Guardian may do so pursuant to a search warrant obtained under subsection 487(1) of the Criminal Code or without a search warrant pursuant to section 487.11 of the Code. A Fishery Guardian may not conduct such searches if the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans imposes limits on the exercise of these powers when designating Fishery Guardians under subsection 5(1) of the Fisheries Act. Similarly, the Minister may impose limits on Fishery Officers when designating them.

Seizures

A Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may seize any thing that the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian believes on reasonable grounds was obtained by or used in connection with the commission of an offence against the Act or will afford evidence of an offence under the Act. The Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may use this power during an inspection or when investigating under the authority of a search warrant or without a search warrant in exigent circumstances. The Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may seize evidence in plain view as authorized by subsection 489(2) of the Code.

If the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian were to enter a place to carry out an inspection without any belief that an offence had occurred, and, during that inspection, came to the belief that there was a violation of the Fisheries Act, the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian would have three options:

  • the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may seize evidence in plain view; or
  • if the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian wishes to search further and seize items that may not be in plain view, he or she must seek a search warrant; or
  • the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may search further and seize such items without a search warrant where there are exigent circumstances and it would be impracticable to obtain a warrant.

Arrests

Under authority of section 50 of the Fisheries Act, and subject to the limitations set out in section 495 of the Criminal Code, a Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian may arrest, without warrant, a person who the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian believes, on reasonable grounds, has committed an offence against the Act or any of its regulations, or whom the Fishery Officer or Fishery Guardian finds committing or preparing to commit an offence against the Act or any of its regulations. Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians are "peace officers" under the Criminal Code when performing any of their duties or functions pursuant to the Fisheries Act and are authorized in using as much force as is reasonably necessary for that purpose.

Generally, Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians are employees of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans may also designate federal, provincial and territorial officials as Fishery Officers or Fishery Guardians.

Duty to Assist

Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians must be given all reasonable assistance to enable them to carry out inspections and to exercise their inspection powers, and they must also be provided with any information relevant to the administration of the Fisheries Act or the regulations that they may reasonably require. It is an offence not to do so. It is also an offence to obstruct Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians when they are carrying out their duties or functions under the Act, including investigations and searches.

Powers of Fishery Inspectors

Generally, Fishery Inspectors are employees of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans or the Department of the Environment. In some cases, employees of other federal, provincial and territorial governments may also be designated Fishery Inspectors by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

Fishery Inspectors' powers relate specifically to the pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act. Fishery Inspectors, like Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians, must also exercise their powers in accordance with the requirements of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. The distinction between the terms "inspections" and "searches" that is discussed above under the heading "Powers of Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians" also applies to the activities of a Fishery Inspector.

Inspections

Fishery Inspectors have the power to enter and inspect any place, premises, vehicle or vessel, except a private dwelling place or any part of any place, premises, vehicle or vessel used as a permanent or temporary private dwelling place. A Fishery Inspector does not require an inspection warrant to inspect. Unlike the authority given by the Act to Fishery Officers and Fishery Guardians, there is no authority for Fishery Inspectors to obtain an inspection warrant to inspect a private dwelling place.

To enter and inspect, a Fishery Inspector must have reasonable grounds to believe that there is an activity resulting, or likely to result, in a deposit of a deleterious substance:

  1. in water frequented by fish; or
  2. in any place under conditions where the deleterious substance or any other deleterious substance that results from the deposit of that deleterious substance may enter any water frequented by fish.

Fishery Inspectors may conduct inspections, including:

  • examining any substance or product;
  • taking samples of any substance or product;
  • conducting tests; and
  • taking measurements.

Searches and Seizures

Fishery Inspectors may enter and search for and seize any thing that the Fishery Inspector believes on reasonable grounds will afford evidence of an offence under the Act or was used in connection with the commission of an offence against the Act. They must do so under the authority of a search warrant authorized under subsection 38(3.2) of the Fisheries Act (search powers) or under subsection 487(1) of the Criminal Code (search and seizure powers), unless there are exigent circumstances where it would be impracticable to obtain a warrant as authorized by subsection 487.11 of the Code. The Fishery Inspector may seize evidence in plain view as authorized by subsection 489(2) of the Code.

As stated earlier, under the Fisheries Act, exigent circumstances include situations in which the delay necessary to obtain the search warrant would result in danger to human life or safety or the loss or destruction of evidence.

A Fishery Inspector may exercise powers of search if that Fishery Inspector believes on reasonable grounds, during an inspection, that an offence has been, is being or is about to be committed.

Arrests

Fishery Inspectors are not authorized to arrest under the pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act. Nor are they authorized to arrest under section 495 of the Criminal Code, since they are not peace officers.

Reporting and Directions

Anyone who owns, manages or controls a deleterious substance has a duty to report any deposit or danger of deposit out of the normal course of events to a Fishery Inspector or such other person or authority as is prescribed by the regulations.

In the case of deposit of a deleterious substance, or serious and imminent danger of deposit, a Fishery Inspector may take or direct remedial measures. Directions by Fishery Inspectors are further discussed in the chapter entitled "Responses to Alleged Violations".

Duty to Assist

Fishery Inspectors must be given all reasonable assistance to enable them to carry out their inspection duties and functions, and they must also be provided with such information relevant to the administration of section 38 of the Fisheries Act that they may reasonably require. It is an offence not to do so. It is also an offence to obstruct them when they are carrying out their duties or functions under the Act, including investigations and searches.

Attorney General of Canada and Officials

Generally, the Attorney General of Canada has responsibility for all litigation relating to the Fisheries Act.

While Fishery Officers, Fishery Guardians and Fishery Inspectors may lay charges for alleged offences under the Act, the ultimate decision on whether to proceed with prosecution of the charges rests with the Attorney General of Canada. However, in some provinces or territories, provincial or territorial officials that have been designated as Fishery Officers, Fishery Guardians and Fishery Inspectors may refer charges to the provincial or territorial Crown Attorney.

In these cases, responsibility for prosecution rests with the respective provincial or territorial Attorney General. With respect to an application for an injunction or a civil suit for recovery of costs in the various circumstances in which such recovery is allowed under the Act, enforcement personnel will recommend these civil actions to officials of the Attorney General. The legal counsel representing the Attorney General has the ultimate decision on proceeding with the injunction or civil suit for cost recovery.

Courts

The courts make the final decision regarding disposition of injunctions, prosecutions and civil suits brought by Her Majesty in Right of Canada, a province or a territory under the habitat protection and pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act. They also have authority to impose penalties and/or court orders following the conviction of a Fisheries Act offender.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Politique de conformité et d'application des dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la protection de l'habitat du poisson et la prévention de la pollution

Compétence et responsabilités

Compétence

En vertu de l'article 91 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, le gouvernement fédéral exerce une compétence exclusive sur la conservation et la protection du littoral et de la pêche intérieure au Canada. D'abord adoptée par le Parlement en 1868, la Loi sur les pêches est la loi fédérale promulguée en vertu de ce pouvoir constitutionnel.

Le MPO a la responsabilité première et finale d'administrer la Loi sur les pêches, y compris celle d'administrer et d'appliquer les dispositions portant sur l'altération physique de l'habitat du poisson. Suite à une décision du Premier ministre qui date de 1978, le ministère de l'Environnement a été investi de la responsabilité d'administrer et d'appliquer les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches portant sur l'immersion ou le rejet de substances nocives dans des eaux où vivent des poissons. En 1985, un protocole d'entente entre le MPO et le ME a confirmé les responsabilités des deux ministères et a précisé les mécanismes de partage d'information et de collaboration.

Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et les administrations municipales exercent aussi des pouvoirs qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur les ressources halieutiques et l'habitat du poisson, en vertu de leurs pouvoirs de s'occuper des questions de pollution des eaux et des activités reliées à l'utilisation des terres et des eaux (p. ex., foresterie, exploitation minière, agriculture, aménagements hydroélectriques).

Afin d'appliquer les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la protection de l'habitat du poisson et la prévention de la pollution, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux peuvent collaborer afin de promouvoir la conformité et d'appliquer ces dispositions. Cette collaboration peut comprendre la désignation des agents d'application de la loi de ces différents ordres de gouvernement en tant qu'agents des pêches ou inspecteurs en vertu de la Loi.

Autorités responsables de la mise en application des dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la protection de l'habitat du poisson et la prévention de la pollution

Ministre des Pêches et des Océans

Le ministre des Pêches et des Océans est responsable envers le Parlement de l'application de tous les articles de la Loi sur les pêches. Il a la responsabilité de prendre des règlements en vertu de la Loi, de désigner les agents des pêches, les gardes-pêche, les inspecteurs et les analystes, d'exercer des pouvoirs discrétionnaires en vertu de la Loi et de rendre des arrêtés ministériels.

Ministre de l'Environnement

Tel qu'expliqué plus haut, le ministre de l'Environnement est responsable d'administrer et d'appliquer les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la prévention de la pollution.

L'attribution du pouvoir d'administration et d'application de la loi afférent au paragraphe 36(3) n'inclut pas les pouvoirs de prendre des règlements, de nommer des agents des pêches, des gardes-pêche, des inspecteurs et des analystes ou de rendre des arrêtés ministériels. Ces pouvoirs appartiennent au ministre des Pêches et des Océans.

Collaboration interministérielle et intergouvernementale

Les activités d'administration et d'application de la loi du MPO et du ME peuvent reposer sur des méthodes de travail entre les deux ministères fédéraux au niveau régional ou entre ceux-ci et un organisme provincial ou territorial. Ces activités peuvent aussi être régies par des ententes administratives passées avec les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Pêches et des Océans. Lorsque ces ententes administratives mettent en cause les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la prévention de la pollution, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans et le ministre de l'Environnement signent tous deux le document.

Personnel qui participe à la promotion de la conformité

Les employés du MPO et du ME procèdent à maintes activités visant à promouvoir la conformité, y compris l'élaboration de lignes directrices et de codes de pratiques et la prestation de conseils techniques. Ils peuvent examiner les propositions et les recommandations de nouveaux projets et prodiguer des conseils techniques sur la façon d'atteindre la conformité. Ils peuvent aussi agir à titre de témoin expert en cour à l'appui des poursuites judiciaires intentées en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches.

Le personnel de la Gestion de l'habitat du MPO, au nom du ministre des Pêches et des Océans, peut autoriser la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de l'habitat du poisson en vertu du paragraphe 35(2) de la Loi. Les propositions de projets qui peuvent affecter l'habitat du poisson sont reçues directement des promoteurs ou par le truchement de divers processus de renvoi d'autres organismes gouvernementaux. Le personnel de la Gestion de l'habitat examine ces propositions et prodigue des conseils techniques sur la façon d'éviter ou d'atténuer les incidences potentielles sur l'habitat du poisson ou, si la chose est impossible et que la proposition est néanmoins acceptable, des conseils sur l'indemnisation de l'habitat. Ses activités s'inspirent de la Politique de gestion de l'habitat du poisson (1986). Son principe opérationnel (directeur) est la « perte nette nulle » de la capacité de production des habitats du poisson.

Personnel chargé d'appliquer la Loi

Le personnel chargé d'appliquer la Loi est composé de personnes désignées par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches comme agents des pêches ou garde-pêche (article 5) ou comme inspecteurs (article 38).

Pouvoirs des agents des pêches et des gardes-pêche

Sous réserve des restrictions de leurs pouvoirs en vertu du paragraphe 5(1) de la Loi sur les pêches, les agents des pêches et les gardes-pêche sont chargés d'appliquer toutes les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches, incluant les dispositions de la Loi pour la protection de l'habitat du poisson et la prévention de la pollution. Cependant, ils doivent exercer leurs pouvoirs en respectant les prescriptions de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Leurs pouvoirs varient selon qu'ils ont l'intention de procéder à une inspection ou à une perquisition. Nous verrons ci-dessous quelle est la principale distinction entre l'inspection et la perquisition.

Inspection

Pour procéder à une inspection, l'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche doit avoir des motifs raisonnables de croire en la présence d'activités ou de choses assujetties à la Loi ou reliées à son administration. Lorsqu'il procède à une inspection, l'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche vérifie la conformité à la Loi et ne procède pas à une perquisition pour recueillir des preuves d'une infraction présumée.

Pour garantir le respect de la Loi et des règlements, l'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche peut donc pénétrer et procéder à des inspections dans tous lieux où il a des motifs raisonnables de croire en la présence d'un ouvrage ou d'une entreprise, de poisson ou de quelque autre élément visé par la Loi ou les règlements. Les activités ou choses visées par la Loi peuvent se trouver dans tout lieu, y compris un véhicule ou navire. Un mandat d'inspection n'est pas nécessaire pour pénétrer dans les lieux. Il y a une exception. L'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche ne peut pas pénétrer dans un lieu, y compris un véhicule ou navire, utilisé comme un local d'habitation, sans avoir au préalable obtenu le consentement de l'occupant ou un mandat d'inspection.

Pour procéder à une inspection, l'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche peut :

  • ouvrir tout contenant;
  • examiner tout poisson ou autre élément et en prélever des échantillons;
  • procéder à tout test ou analyse et faire des mesures;
  • ordonner à toute personne de présenter des dossiers ou des documents pour examen;
  • utiliser ou faire utiliser un système de traitement des données;
  • reproduire ou faire reproduire tout document ou relevé intelligible à des fins d'examen ou de copie;
  • utiliser ou faire utiliser tout appareil à copier.

L'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche, ou toute personne qui l'accompagne, peut pénétrer dans une propriété privée et y circuler sans s'exposer à une poursuite pour violation du droit de propriété. En outre, l'agent des pêches a le pouvoir d'autoriser une autre personne, qui peut ne pas l'accompagner, à pénétrer dans une propriété privée et à y circuler.

Perquisition

Pour procéder à une perquisition, l'agent des pêches doit avoir des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une infraction a été commise avant de pouvoir pénétrer dans les lieux pour trouver des preuves d'une infraction présumée. Il peut perquisitionner pour trouver toute chose dont il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'elle fournira des preuves d'une infraction à la Loi ou qu'elle a servi à l'enfreindre. Il doit perquisitionner en vertu d'un mandat de perquisition, sauf dans des circonstances urgentes où il est pratiquement impossible d'obtenir un mandat; dans ces circonstances, il peut pénétrer dans les lieux et perquisitionner sans mandat de perquisition. En vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, les circonstances urgentes comprennent les situations où le délai nécessaire à l'obtention d'un mandat de perquisition entraînerait un danger pour la vie ou la sécurité humaine, ou la perte ou la destruction des preuves.

Lorsqu'il procède à une perquisition, l'agent des pêches peut exercer tout pouvoir décrit plus haut sous « Inspection ».

Même si la Loi sur les pêches n'autorise pas le garde-pêche à perquisitionner, il peut le faire en vertu d'un mandat de perquisition obtenu conformément au paragraphe 487(1) du Code criminel, ou sans mandat de perquisition en vertu de l'article 487.11 du Code. Il ne peut pas perquisitionner si le ministre des Pêches et des Océans impose des restrictions à l'exercice de ces pouvoirs lorsqu'il désigne les gardes-pêche en vertu du paragraphe 5(1) de la Loi sur les pêches. De même, le Ministre peut imposer des restrictions aux agents des pêches lorsqu'il les nomme.

Saisie

L'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche peut saisir toute chose dont il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'elle a été obtenue ou utilisée pour enfreindre la Loi ou qu'elle fournira des preuves d'une infraction à la Loi. Il peut exercer ce pouvoir au cours d'une inspection ou d'une enquête en vertu d'un mandat de perquisition ou sans mandat de perquisition dans des circonstances urgentes. Il peut saisir des preuves bien en vue, ainsi que le permet le paragraphe 489(2) du Code criminel.

Si l'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche pénètre dans un lieu pour procéder à une inspection sans croire qu'il y a eu infraction et qu'il en vient à croire au cours de l'inspection qu'on a enfreint la Loi sur les pêches, il peut opter pour une des trois démarches suivantes :

  • saisir des preuves bien en vue;
  • s'il désire poursuivre sa perquisition et saisir des objets qui peuvent ne pas être bien en vue, il doit solliciter un mandat de perquisition;
  • poursuivre sa perquisition et saisir ces articles sans mandat de perquisition s'il y a des circonstances urgentes et qu'il serait pratiquement impossible d'obtenir un mandat.

Arrestation

En vertu de l'article 50 de la Loi sur les pêches et sous réserve des restrictions indiquées à l'article 495 du Code criminel, l'agent des pêches ou le garde-pêche peut arrêter sans mandat une personne dont il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'elle a commis une infraction à la Loi ou à ses règlements ou qu'il prend en flagrant délit d'infraction ou se préparant à commettre une infraction à la Loi ou à ses règlements. Les agents des pêches et les gardes-pêche sont des « agents de la paix » en vertu du Code criminel lorsqu'ils exercent leurs fonctions ou attributions en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches et ils sont alors autorisés à employer toute force raisonnable nécessaire.

En général, les agents des pêches et les gardes-pêche sont des employés du MPO. Le ministre des Pêches et des Océans peut aussi nommer des fonctionnaires fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux comme agents des pêches ou gardes-pêche.

Obligation d'assistance

Les agents des pêches et les gardes-pêche doivent obtenir toute l'assistance possible dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions, de même que tous les renseignements qu'ils peuvent valablement exiger dans le cadre de l'application de la Loi sur les pêches ou de ses règlements. Tout refus à cet égard constitue une infraction. Le fait d'entraver l'action des agents des pêches et des gardes-pêche dans l'exercice des fonctions que leur confère la Loi, incluant les enquêtes et les perquisitions, constitue aussi une infraction.

Pouvoirs des inspecteurs

En général, les inspecteurs sont des employés du ministère des Pêches et des Océans ou du ministère de l'Environnement. Dans certains cas, des employés d'autres ministères du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements des provinces et des territoires peuvent aussi être nommés inspecteurs par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans.

Les pouvoirs des inspecteurs ont trait tout particulièrement aux dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la prévention de la pollution. Les inspecteurs, comme les agents des pêches et les gardes-pêche, doivent aussi exercer leurs pouvoirs conformément aux prescriptions de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. La distinction entre les termes « inspection » et « perquisition », dont il est question plus haut à « Pouvoirs des agents des pêches et des gardes-pêche », s'applique aussi aux activités des inspecteurs.

Inspection

Les inspecteurs peuvent pénétrer et procéder à des inspections dans tous lieux, y compris un véhicule ou navire, à l'exception des locaux d'habitation privés ou des parties de ces lieux utilisées comme des locaux d'habitation privés permanents ou temporaires. L'inspecteur n'a pas besoin d'un mandat pour procéder à une inspection. Contrairement à l'agent des pêches et au garde-pêche à qui la Loi accorde un tel pouvoir, l'inspecteur n'a aucun pouvoir d'obtenir un mandat d'inspection pour inspecter des locaux d'habitation privés.

Pour pénétrer dans un lieu et procéder à des inspections, l'inspecteur doit avoir des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'on s'y adonne à une activité qui entraîne ou est susceptible d'entraîner l'immersion ou le rejet d'une substance nocive dans des eaux où vivent des poissons, ou en quelque autre lieu si le risque existe que la substance ou toute autre substance nocive provenant de son immersion ou rejet pénètre dans ces eaux.

Lorsqu'il procède à une inspection, l'inspecteur peut :

  • examiner toute substance ou tout produit;
  • prélever des échantillons de toute substance ou de tout produit;
  • faire des tests;
  • faire des mesures.

Perquisition et saisie

L'inspecteur peut pénétrer et perquisitionner dans un lieu et y saisir toute chose dont il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'elle fournira des preuves d'une infraction en vertu de la Loi ou qu'elle a servi à enfreindre la Loi. Il doit alors agir selon un mandat de perquisition autorisé en vertu du paragraphe 38(3.2) de la Loi sur les pêches (pouvoirs de perquisition) ou en vertu du paragraphe 487(1) du Code criminel (pouvoirs de perquisition et de saisie), sauf s'il y a des circonstances urgentes où il serait pratiquement impossible d'obtenir un mandat, ainsi que le permet l'article 487.11 du Code. Il peut saisir des preuves bien en vue ainsi que le permet le paragraphe 489(2) du Code.

Comme on l'a déjà mentionné, en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, les circonstances urgentes comprennent les situations où le délai nécessaire à l'obtention d'un mandat de perquisition entraînerait un danger pour la vie ou la sécurité humaine, ou la perte ou la destruction des preuves.

L'inspecteur peut exercer des pouvoirs de perquisition s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire, au cours d'une inspection, qu'une infraction a été, est ou sera commise.

Arrestation

Les inspecteurs n'ont pas l'autorisation de procéder à une arrestation en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la prévention de la pollution. De plus, ils n'ont pas l'autorisation de procéder à une arrestation en vertu de l'article 495 du Code criminel, puisqu'ils ne sont pas des agents de la paix.

Rapports et directives

Dans le cours normal des choses, en cas de rejet ou d'immersion ou de danger de rejet ou d'immersion d'une substance nocive, quiconque en est le propriétaire ou a toute autorité sur celle-ci doit, conformément aux règlements applicables, en faire rapport à un inspecteur ou à toute autre autorité prévue par les règlements.

En cas d'immersion ou de rejet, ou de danger grave et imminent d'immersion ou de rejet d'une substance nocive, un inspecteur peut prendre ou faire prendre des mesures correctives. On traite plus amplement des directives des inspecteurs au chapitre intitulé « Interventions en cas de contraventions présumées ».

Obligation d'assistance

Les inspecteurs doivent obtenir toute l'assistance possible pour leur permettre d'exercer leurs attributions et leurs fonctions d'inspection, de même que tous les renseignements qu'ils peuvent valablement exiger dans le cadre de l'administration de l'article 38 de la Loi sur les pêches. Tout refus à cet égard constitue une infraction. Le fait d'entraver l'action des agents des pêches et des gardes-pêche dans l'exercice des fonctions que leur confère la Loi, incluant les enquêtes et les perquisitions, constitue aussi une infraction.

Procureur général du Canada et agents

Ordinairement, le Procureur général du Canada a la responsabilité de toute procédure en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches.

Même si les agents des pêches, les gardes-pêche et les inspecteurs peuvent porter des accusations pour des infractions présumées en vertu de la Loi, la décision finale d'intenter ou non une poursuite judiciaire à la suite des accusations relève du Procureur général du Canada. Cependant, dans certaines provinces ou les territoires, les fonctionnaires provinciaux ou territoriaux désignés comme agents des pêches, gardes-pêche ou inspecteurs peuvent s'en remettre au procureur de la Couronne au niveau de la province ou du territoire pour les accusations.

Dans ces cas, la responsabilité de la poursuite judiciaire revient au procureur général de chaque province ou territoire. En ce qui concerne la demande d'injonction ou de poursuite civile pour recouvrer les frais dans les diverses circonstances où la Loi autorise un tel recouvrement, le personnel chargé d'appliquer la Loi recommandera ces poursuites civiles aux agents du Procureur général. La décision finale portant sur l'injonction ou la poursuite civile pour recouvrer les frais relève du conseiller juridique représentant le Procureur général.

Tribunaux

Les tribunaux prennent la décision finale sur l'issue des injonctions, des poursuites judiciaires et des poursuites civiles de Sa Majesté la reine du chef du Canada ou d'une province en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la protection de l'habitat du poisson et la prévention de la pollution. Ils ont aussi le pouvoir d'imposer des peines ou de rendre des ordonnances judiciaires à la suite de la condamnation d'un contrevenant à la Loi sur les pêches.