Ontario man sentenced to jail for illegal importation of endangered reptiles

June 8, 2017 – Fredericton, New Brunswick – Environment and Climate Change Canada

Grigori Zaharov, from Thornhill, Ontario, has been sentenced in Fredericton Provincial Court to concurrently serve two three-month jail terms after pleading guilty to one count of importing an animal, without the necessary permits, and to one count of exporting an animal from Cuba, without the proper authorization. Both acts were in contravention of the Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act.

On September 17, 2016, Mr. Zaharov and a companion were intercepted by Canada Border Services Agency officers after returning on a flight from Cuba with two iguanas and failing to declare the animals when completing their Canada Border Services Agency declaration card. Environment and Climate Change Canada enforcement officers identified the animals to be two Cuban rock iguanas (Cyclura nubila). The species is listed in Appendix I of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora. Mr. Zaharov did not present permits to the officers for the export from Cuba or for the import into Canada.

Environment and Climate Change Canada enforces federal laws that conserve and protect wildlife, and it works closely with other federal, provincial, territorial, and international agencies (in this case, the Canada Border Services Agency and Cuban authorities) to detect violations and take enforcement action.

Quick facts

  • In Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada is the lead department responsible for implementing the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, an international agreement between governments, which aims to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival. The Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act is the legislation used to implement the Convention.
  • Appendix I of the Convention lists species that are the most endangered among the listed animals and plants. Trade in specimens of these species is permitted only in exceptional circumstances. An import permit is required and may be issued only if the specimen is not to be used for commercial purposes primarily and if the import is intended for purposes that will not threaten the survival of the species.
  • Listed wildlife that is imported into or exported from Canada, or attempted to be exported without the required permits, may be seized. Those responsible may be prosecuted and, if convicted, may be liable to fines of up to $150,000 and/or to up to five years in jail.
  • The Cuban rock iguana is one of the world's largest iguanas. Adult males sometimes reach lengths of 1.25 to 1.5 metres and weights of nearly 7 kilograms. As its name implies, the Cuban rock iguana is found in Cuba and its surrounding islands. This species as well as the other members of the Cyclura family are vulnerable due, in part, to habitat transformation and human disturbance, especially on Cuba’s main island.

Contacts

Media Relations
Environment and Climate Change Canada
819-938-3338 or 1-844-836-7799 (toll free)

Date modified:

La prison pour un Ontarien reconnu coupable d’avoir importé illégalement des reptiles en voie de disparition

Le 8 juin 2017 – Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick) – Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Grigori Zaharov, de Thornhill, en Ontario, a été condamné par la Cour provinciale de Fredericton à deux peines de prison de trois mois après avoir plaidé coupable à un chef d’accusation d’importation d’un animal sans détenir les permis nécessaires et à un autre chef d’accusation d’exportation d’un animal de Cuba sans avoir obtenu l’autorisation requise. Ces deux agissements contreviennent à la Loi sur la protection d’espèces animales ou végétales sauvages et la réglementation de leur commerce international et interprovincial.

Le 17 septembre 2016, M. Zaharov et un comparse ont été interceptés par des agents de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada à leur retour de Cuba pour avoir ramené deux iguanes à bord de leur vol et avoir omis de déclarer les animaux dans leur carte de déclaration de l’Agence. Les agents de l’autorité d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ont identifié les animaux comme étant deux iguanes terrestres de Cuba (Cyclura nubila). L’espèce est inscrite à l’annexe I de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de flore et de faune sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES). M. Zaharov a n’a pas présenté aux agents les permis requis, ni pour l’exportation de Cuba, ni pour l’importation au Canada.

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est responsable de de l’application des lois fédérales qui assurent la conservation et la protection des espèces sauvages, et il travaille en étroite collaboration avec des organismes fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et internationaux, tels que l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et, dans le présent cas les autorités cubaines, pour détecter les infractions et prendre des mesures d’application de la loi.

Faits saillants

  • Au Canada, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est le ministère responsable de la mise en œuvre de la CITES, un accord international entre États qui a pour but de veiller à ce que le commerce international des spécimens d’animaux et de plantes sauvages ne menace pas la survie des espèces auxquelles ils appartiennent. La WAPPRIITA est la loi qui sert à mettre en œuvre la CITES.
  • L’annexe I de la CITES est la liste des espèces qui sont les plus menacées d’extinction parmi les animaux et les végétaux visés par la CITES. Le commerce de ces espèces est autorisé uniquement dans des cas exceptionnels. Un permis d’importation est requis et peut être délivré uniquement si le spécimen n’est pas destiné à des fins principalement commerciales et si l’importation ne nuit pas à la survie de l’espèce.
  • Les espèces sauvages inscrites à la CITES qui sont importées au Canada ou exportées du Canada, ou qui font l’objet d’une tentative d’exportation, sans les permis requis, peuvent être saisies. Les responsables sont passibles de poursuites, et s’ils sont reconnus coupables, s’exposent, dans le cas de personnes physiques, à une amende maximale de 150 000 $ et à un emprisonnement maximal de cinq ans, ou à l’une de ces peines.
  • L’iguane terrestre de Cuba est l’un des plus gros iguanes au monde : les mâles adultes peuvent mesurer de 1,25 à 1,5 mètre et peser près de 7 kilogrammes. Comme son nom l’indique, l’iguane terrestre de Cuba est présent à Cuba et sur des îles environnantes. Cette espèce (de même que les autres membres de la famille Cyclura) est vulnérable en partie en raison de la transformation de son habitat et des perturbations d’origine humaine, surtout sur la principale île de Cuba.

Personnes-ressources

Relations avec les médias
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
819-938-3338 ou 1-844-836-7799 (sans frais)

Date de modification :