Toronto Dry Cleaner Fined $60,000 for Environmental Offences

TORONTO, Ont. – September 23, 2013 – Ashford Cleaners Inc., a dry cleaner operating in Toronto, Ontario, was sentenced on August 19, 2013, in the Ontario Provincial Court of Justice for offences under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999).

Ashford Cleaners Inc. was convicted of contravening the Tetrachloroethylene (Use in Dry Cleaning and Reporting Requirements) Regulations. The offences occurred in July 2012 and included improper storage and containment of tetrachloroethylene waste water and residue. Tetrachloroethylene, also known as perchloroethylene and referred to as PERC, is a commonly used dry cleaning solvent and is designated as a toxic substance under CEPA, 1999. 

Ashford Cleaners Inc. was fined $60,000 which is to be paid to the Environmental Damages Fund. As part of a negotiated resolution agreement, the company is required to publish an article regarding the results of their case in a textile industry magazine. 

New penalties for offences under CEPA, 1999, were adopted on June 22, 2012. This change impacts individuals and corporations by introducing higher maximum and minimum fines that more accurately reflect the seriousness of environmental offences. Ashford Cleaners Inc. was fined under these new provisions and is one of the first cases in which the new higher minimum fines were imposed. 

Tetrachloroethylene is a toxic substance. When it is released, it can cause harm to both the environment and human health. The purpose of the Regulations is to prevent the release of tetrachloroethylene from dry cleaning facilities to the environment by implementing control measures for containing, storing, transporting, selling, recycling, and importing this substance.

The Environmental Damages Fund, administered by Environment Canada, follows the “polluter pays” principle to help ensure that those who cause damage to the environment or harm wildlife habitat take responsibility for their actions. It supports investments in repairing damage to the environment and wildlife habitat.

For more information, contact:

Media Relations
Environment Canada
819-934-8008

Date modified:

Une entreprise de nettoyage à sec de Toronto est condamnée à payer une amende de 60 000 dollars pour des infractions environnementales

TORONTO, Ont. – le 23 septembre 2013 – Ashford Cleaners Inc., une entreprise de nettoyage à sec exploitée à Toronto, en Ontario, a été condamnée le 19 août 2013 devant la Cour de justice provinciale de l’Ontario pour des infractions commises en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].

Ashford Cleaners Inc. a été déclarée coupable d’avoir contrevenu au Règlement sur le tétrachloroéthylène (utilisation pour le nettoyage à sec et rapports). Les infractions commises en juillet 2012 comprenaient l’entreposage et le confinement inadéquats d’eaux résiduaires et de résidus contenant du tétrachloroéthylène. Le tétrachloroéthylène, ou perchloréthylène (PERC), est un solvant couramment utilisé pour le nettoyage à sec et est désigné comme substance toxique en vertu de la LCPE (1999). 

Ashford Cleaners Inc. a écopé d’une amende de 60 000 dollars, qui doit être versée au Fonds pour les dommages à l’environnement. Au titre d’une entente négociée, l’entreprise est tenue de publier, dans un magazine de l’industrie du textile, un article concernant les résultats de son cas. 

De nouvelles pénalités en vertu de la LCPE (1999) ont été adoptées le 22 juin 2012. Ce changement a une incidence sur les particuliers et les sociétés puisqu’il y a une hausse des amendes maximales et minimales qui reflète encore mieux la gravité des infractions environnementales. Ashford Cleaners Inc. a été condamnée en vertu de ces nouvelles dispositions et représente l’un des premiers cas sanctionnés par ces nouvelles amendes minimales. 

Le tétrachloroéthylène est une substance toxique. Lorsqu’il est rejeté, il peut avoir des effets nocifs sur l’environnement et la santé humaine. Le Règlement vise à prévenir les rejets de tétrachloroéthylène des installations de nettoyage à sec dans l’environnement par la mise en œuvre de mesures de contrôle pour le confinement, l’entreposage, le transport, la vente, le recyclage et l’importation de cette substance.

Fondé sur le principe du « pollueur-payeur », le Fonds pour les dommages à l’environnement, administré par Environnement Canada, contribue à faire en sorte que ceux qui causent des dommages à l’environnement ou qui nuisent à l’habitat faunique assument la responsabilité de leurs actes. Il permet ainsi des investissements dans la réparation des dommages causés à l’environnement et à l’habitat des espèces sauvages.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquer avec :

Relations avec les médias
Environnement Canada
819-934-8008

Date de modification :