Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Compliance and Enforcement Policy for the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Inspection and Investigation

Enforcement officers appointed under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 carry out two categories of enforcement activity: inspection and investigation. A general discussion of these two types of activity follows.

Inspection

The purpose of an inspection is to verify compliance with the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and its regulations. To conduct an inspection of premises other than a private dwelling, an enforcement officer must have reasonable grounds to believe that, on the premises that he or she intends to enter and inspect, there are activities, materials, substances, records, books, electronic data or other documents that are subject to the Act or relevant to its administration.

Sometimes, an enforcement officer may be refused entry to premises where there are activities, materials, substances, records, etc. that are relevant to the Act. The officer may also find premises that are locked or abandoned. Those premises could be factories, distribution centres or the offices of private companies or federal institutions. For such cases, an enforcement officer may seek an inspection warrant from a justice of the peace. In the inspection warrant, the justice may name any person to accompany the enforcement officer or authorize, in the inspection warrant, the use of any power that the justice deems required, including the use of force to break locks or force open a locked door.

In the case of a private dwelling which the enforcement officer has reasonable and probable grounds to believe may be subject to inspection under CEPA, 1999 or any of its regulations, the officer is required to seek the consent of the occupant, in order to carry out the inspection. Where consent is refused, the officer must obtain an inspection warrant, and can seek, from a justice, authorization for persons to accompany him or her or to use force as described in the previous paragraph.

In the course of an inspection, an enforcement officer may examine substances or products, open and examine receptacles, containers or packages, and take samples. The officer may also examine books, records or electronic data and make copies of them.

If, during an inspection, an enforcement officer must shift to the investigative role, he or she will so indicate to the individual, company or government agency. The enforcement officer will act similarly if, in an emergency, he or she must direct or cause action to be taken following an unauthorized release or to prevent such a release.

If, as described above, an enforcement officer discovers a violation during an inspection, the officer may determine that circumstances are exigent and that he or she must take action on the spot. In exigent circumstances, namely, when the delay necessary to obtain a warrant would likely result in danger to the environment or human life or in the loss or destruction of evidence, the enforcement officer will begin an investigation immediately and, where necessary, exercise the power to search without a warrant, and to seize and detain items. In all other circumstances, where the enforcement officer has determined that further investigation is required, this will be done under the authority of a search warrant. Investigation of violations is discussed below. The possible responses to violations discovered by enforcement officers are discussed in detail in the chapter of this policy entitled "Responses to Alleged Violations".

Inspection Program

There will be a program of inspections, complemented by spot checks. The schedule of inspections will be determined by the risk that the substance or activity presents to the environment or to human health, and by the compliance record of the individual, company or government agency. In addition, it is generally the case that, when new regulations are brought into effect, they are identified as priorities within Environment Canada's inspection program under CEPA, 1999. Inspection schedules will also be established to verify adherence to:

  • warnings;
  • directions by enforcement officers;
  • Ministerial orders;
  • environmental protection compliance orders;
  • injunctions;
  • environmental alternative measures; and
  • court orders upon conviction of an offender.

Ministerial orders as well as directions by enforcement officers, environmental protection compliance orders and environmental protection alternative measures will be discussed in the chapter entitled "Responses to Alleged Violations".

If information or complaints have been brought to the attention of enforcement officers, additional inspections will be carried out as required. In addition, enforcement officers may develop a special inspection schedule when companies or facilities undertake expansion or alteration of a process.

Investigation

An investigation involves gathering, from a variety of sources, evidence and information relevant to a suspected violation. A search is a component of an investigation, and the search power may be used by enforcement officers when fulfilling their duties under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

There are two instances in which an enforcement officer will conduct an investigation:

  • when he or she has reasonable grounds to believe that an offence has been committed under the Act; or
  • when an individual of at least 18 years of age, resident in Canada, petitions the Minister to investigate an alleged violation of the Act.

The only occasion when an enforcement officer will not seek a search warrant is in exigent circumstances as stated above.

During the course of a search with or without a warrant, enforcement officers may seize and detain anything which they reasonably believe was used to commit an offence under the Act, is related to the commission of an offence or will provide evidence of an offence. Enforcement officers will use their powers of seizure and detention, when they believe that the seizure is necessary and in the public interest. Reasons for seizure and detention may include:

  • the need to take possession of a substance, equipment or any other thing to prevent danger to the environment, human life or health;
  • the need to prevent distribution of a prohibited substance, products containing a prohibited substance, or substances new to Canada, for which the required information has not been provided to the Minister under the Act;
  • the need to prevent the export of a substance for which notice of export to the receiving country is required, when that notice has not been provided to the receiving country or to the Minister within the prescribed time;
  • the need to prevent further violation of the Act; or
  • the need to prevent loss or destruction of evidence.

The enforcement officer may also move the seized substance, product, equipment or thing to a secure location when he or she believes that it is necessary and in the public interest.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Politique d'observation et d'application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Inspections et enquêtes

Les agents de l'autorité nommés aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) exercent deux catégories d'activités : les inspections et les enquêtes. Voici une analyse générale de ces deux genres d'activité.

Inspections

Ces inspections visent à contrôler l'observation de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et de ses règlements. Pour procéder à une inspection dans un lieu autre qu'un domicile, l'agent de l'autorité doit avoir des motifs raisonnables de croire que, là où il désire pénétrer et faire une inspection, il y a une activité, du matériel, une substance, des dossiers, des livres, des registres, des données électroniques ou d'autres documents visés par la Loi ou assujettis à son application.

Parfois, l'agent de l'autorité se voit refuser l'entrée dans un lieu où il y a des activités, du matériel, une substance, des dossiers, etc. assujettis à la Loi. Il peut aussi faire face à des lieux fermés ou abandonnés. Il peut s'agir d'une usine, d'un centre de distribution, des bureaux d'entreprises privés ou d'établissements fédéraux. Dans ces cas-là, l'agent doit se présenter devant un juge de la paix et demander un mandat d'inspection. Dans ce mandat, le juge peut désigner une personne chargée d'accompagner l'agent de l'autorité ou autoriser l'exercice de tout pouvoir qu'il estime justifié, notamment le recours à la force pour casser les verrous ou forcer une porte verrouillée.

Dans le cas d'un domicile privé où l'agent de l'autorité a des motifs raisonnables et probables de croire qu'il peut faire l'objet d'une inspection en vertu de la LCPE, 1999 ou de l'un de ses règlements, il doit demander le consentement de l'occupant avant d'effectuer l'inspection. Si ce consentement est refusé, il doit obtenir un mandat d'inspection auprès d'un juge de la paix, et peut demander à celui-ci l'autorisation de se faire accompagner ou de recourir à la force, tel qu'expliqué au paragraphe précédent.

Pendant une inspection, l'agent de l'autorité peut examiner les substances ou les produits, ouvrir et examiner les récipients, les contenants ou les emballages et prélever des échantillons. Il peut également examiner les livres, les dossiers ou les données électroniques et en faire des copies.

Si, au cours d'une inspection, un agent de l'autorité doit procéder à une enquête, il lui faudra alors en aviser le particulier, la société ou l'organisme gouvernemental. L'agent fera de même, si, dans un cas urgent, il doit prescrire ou prendre lui-même une mesure suite à un rejet non autorisé ou pour prévenir un tel rejet.

Dans le cas où l'agent de l'autorité relève une infraction au cours d'une inspection, il peut décider que les circonstances sont urgentes et qu'il doit prendre des mesures immédiates. Dans une telle situation - c'est-à-dire quand le délai nécessaire pour obtenir un mandat de perquisition risque de mettre en danger l'environnement ou la vie humaine ou entraînerait la perte ou la destruction d'éléments de preuve - l'agent de l'autorité entreprendra une enquête sur-le-champ et exercera au besoin son pouvoir de perquisitionner sans mandat, de saisir et de retenir les pièces à conviction. Dans tous les autres cas, lorsque l'agent décide qu'une enquête s'impose, il demandera un mandat de perquisition. Les enquêtes sur les infractions sont expliquées ci-dessous et les mesures de répression possibles sont traitées en détail au chapitre « Répression des infractions présumées ».

Programme d'inspection

Il y aura un programme d'inspections régulières, complétées par des vérifications-surprises. La fréquence des inspections dépendra du risque que la substance ou l'activité représente pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine ainsi que du bilan de conformité qu'affiche le particulier, la société ou l'organisme gouvernemental. En outre, lorsque de nouveaux règlements entrent en vigueur, ils sont souvent considérés comme prioritaires dans le programme d'inspection d'Environnement Canada en vertu de la LCPE, 1999. Des calendriers d'inspection seront établis également pour vérifier si les mesures suivantes ont été respectées :

  • Avertissements;
  • Ordres donnés par les agents de l'autorité lorsqu'il survient un rejet non autorisé d'une substance réglementée;
  • Arrêtés ministériels;
  • Ordres d'exécution en matière de protection de l'environnement (OEPE);
  • Injonctions;
  • Mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement;
  • Ordonnances du tribunal après déclaration de culpabilité d'un contrevenant.

Les divers ordres émis par le ministre et les agents de l'autorité, les OEPE et les mesures de rechange pour la protection de l'environnement seront abordés dans le chapitre « Répression des infractions présumées ».

Des inspections complémentaires s'ajouteront aux inspections régulières si des informations ou des plaintes parviennent aux agents de l'autorité. Par ailleurs, les agents de l'autorité peuvent établir un calendrier d'inspections spécial lorsque des sociétés ou des usines réalisent une expansion ou modifient une opération.

Enquêtes

Les enquêtes consistent à réunir, de diverses sources, des preuves et des renseignements concernant une infraction présumée. Les perquisitions font partie de la procédure d'enquête, et les agents de l'autorité pourront se prévaloir de ce pouvoir en exerçant leurs fonctions en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).

Il existe deux cas où l'agent de l'autorité effectue une enquête :

  • S'il a de motifs raisonnables de croire qu'il y a eu infraction à la Loi;
  • Si une personne âgée de 18 ans au moins résidant au Canada demande au ministre d'enquêter sur une infraction présumée à la Loi.

C'est seulement dans des circonstances urgentes, tel que mentionné plus haut, que l'agent de l'autorité ne demandera pas de mandat de perquisition.

Au cours d'une perquisition avec ou sans mandat, l'agent peut saisir et retenir tout ce qu'il soupçonne, pour des motifs raisonnables, avoir servi à commettre un délit aux termes de la Loi, se rapporte à la perpétration d'un délit ou permettra de prouver qu'il y a eu délit. L'agent de l'autorité exercera ses pouvoirs de saisie et de rétention s'il estime qu'une telle saisie s'impose dans l'intérêt de la population. Parmi les raisons justifiant la saisie et la rétention, mentionnons :

  • la nécessité de confisquer une substance, un équipement ou tout autre objet pour prévenir une menace à l'environnement, à la vie humaine ou à la santé;
  • la nécessité d'empêcher la distribution sur le marché canadien d'une substance interdite, de produits contenant une substance interdite ou de substances nouvelles au Canada, pour lesquels les renseignements exigés par la Loi n'ont pas été fournis au ministre;
  • la nécessité d'empêcher l'exportation d'une substance pour laquelle un avis d'exportation doit être adressé au pays destinataire, si cet avis n'a pas été fourni dans les délais prescrits au pays en question ou au ministre;
  • la nécessité d'empêcher toute autre infraction à la Loi;
  • la nécessité de prévenir toute perte ou destruction d'éléments de preuve.

L'agent de l'autorité peut également placer la substance, le produit, le matériel ou tout autre objet saisi en lieu sûr lorsqu'il le juge nécessaire et dans l'intérêt public.