Alaskan outfitter faces bans, $20,000 fine and forfeiture of trophies

May 13, 2015 – Whitehorse, Yukon – Environment Canada

On May 8, 2015, Ronald Leslie Martin was fined $20,000 in Yukon Territorial Court after pleading guilty on March 31, 2015, for illegally importing and exporting wildlife, which are offences under the Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act (WAPPRIITA). The fine will be directed to the Environmental Damages Fund (EDF).

Mr. Martin, an outfitter from Haines, Alaska, pleaded guilty to the illegal possession of an Alaskan brown bear (grizzly bear) hide, two black bear hides and three wolverine hides, all of which had been imported or transported in contravention of WAPPRIITA. Under the law, it is prohibited to import an animal that was taken in contravention of the laws of another state and it is prohibited to transport an animal without a required provincial authorization or where the animal was possessed, distributed or transported in contravention of provincial legislation.

Mr. Martin also pleaded guilty to the illegal export of two Dall sheep from Yukon, the export of moose meat without a permit to Alaska, as well as the illegal transport of a Yukon grizzly bear hide to Alberta.

In addition to the $20,000 fine, Mr. Martin received a ten year prohibition from carrying a firearm and accompanying anyone hunting in the Yukon, with a condition allowing him to hunt with a bow for subsistence beginning in 2020.

Mr. Martin was required to forfeit several hunting trophies, namely a Dall sheep (full body mount), a moose head and antler (shoulder mount), and a raw grizzly bear hide. He is also banned for ten years from obtaining any Yukon export permits or any import or export permits.

The import and export of all species of bear are controlled by the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) which is an international agreement, that Canada signed onto on July 3, 1975, to regulate, or in some cases to prohibit, trade in specific species of wild animals and plants, as well as their respective parts and derivatives.

Environment Canada is the lead agency responsible for CITES implementation in Canada. WAPPRIITA is the legislation used to implement CITES in Canada. Under Canadian law, any CITES-listed wildlife imported into Canada, exported from Canada, or attempted to be exported without the required permits may be subject to seizure and forfeiture, and those responsible may be liable to prosecution.

WAPPRIITA also controls the import, export and transport of non-CITES Canadian domestic wildlife species, such as moose, Dall sheep and wolverines.

The investigation focusing on Mr. Martin was led by Environment Canada’s Enforcement Branch and Environment Yukon. It represents one element of Operation Bruin, an extensive three year multi-agency international investigation into the illegal hunting of Alaskan wildlife. Environment Canada, the United States Fish and Wildlife Service, Alaska Wildlife Troopers, Alberta Fish & Wildlife, and Environment Yukon collaborated on the investigation.

Quick Fact

  • The Environmental Damages Fund (EDF) helps turn environmental harm to environmental good. In the spirit of the polluter pays principle, those who cause environmental damage or harm, to wildlife, are required to take responsibility for their actions. Prosecutors and judges can require environmental offenders to pay financial penalties (fines, awards and/or settlements) to the EDF, thereby helping to improve Canada’s natural environment.

Associated Links

Contacts

Media Relations
Environment Canada
819-934-8008

Date modified:

Un pourvoyeur de l’Alaska est sanctionné par des interdictions, une amende de 20 000 dollars et la confiscation de trophées

Le 13 mai 2015 – Whitehorse (Yukon) – Environnement Canada

Le 8 mai 2015, Ronald Leslie Martin a écopé d’une amende de 20 000 dollars par la Cour territoriale du Yukon après avoir plaidé coupable le 31 mars 2015 à des accusations d’importation et d’exportation illégales d’espèces sauvages, ce qui constitue des infractions à la Loi sur la protection d’espèces animales ou végétales sauvages et la réglementation de leur commerce international et interprovincial (la Loi). L’amende sera versée au Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement.

M. Martin, un pourvoyeur de Haines, en Alaska, a plaidé coupable à des accusations de possession illégale d’une peau d’ours brun (grizzli) de l’Alaska, de deux peaux d’ours noir et de trois peaux de carcajou, toutes ces peaux ayant été importées ou acheminées en violation de la Loi. En vertu de cette loi, il est interdit d’importer un animal pris contrairement aux lois d’un État étranger et il est interdit d’acheminer un animal sans l’autorisation d’une autorité provinciale compétente ou si cet animal a été détenu, distribué ou acheminé contrairement aux lois ou règlements de la province.

M. Martin a également plaidé coupable à des accusations d’exportation illégale de deux mouflons de Dall du Yukon, d’exportation vers l’Alaska de viande d’orignal, sans permis, et d’acheminement illégal d’une peau de grizzli du Yukon jusqu’en Alberta.

En plus de l’amende de 20 000 dollars, M. Martin est sanctionné par une interdiction de porter une arme à feu et d’accompagner tout chasseur au Yukon pendant dix ans, avec une condition lui permettant de chasser à l’arc aux fins de subsistance à compter de 2020.

M. Martin a dû remettre plusieurs trophées de chasse, nommément un mouflon de Dall (animal entier empaillé), une tête d’orignal et ses bois (tête et épaules empaillées) et une peau brute de grizzli. Il lui est également interdit d’obtenir tout permis d’exportation du Yukon ou tout permis d’importation ou d’exportation pendant dix ans.

L’importation et l’exportation de toute espèce d’ours sont régies par la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES), un accord international signé par le Canada le 3 juillet 1975 visant la réglementation, ou dans certains cas l’interdiction, du commerce de certaines espèces animales et végétales sauvages ainsi que de leurs parties et de produits dérivés.

Environnement Canada est le principal organisme responsable de la mise en œuvre de la CITES au Canada. La Loi est utilisée pour la mise en œuvre de la CITES au Canada. En vertu des lois canadiennes, toute espèce sauvage inscrite à la CITES qui est importée au Canada ou exportée du Canada, ou encore qui fait l’objet d’une tentative d’exportation, sans être visée par le permis requis peut être saisie et confisquée, et les personnes responsables s’exposent à des poursuites.

La Loi régit également l’importation, l’exportation et l’acheminement d’espèces sauvages canadiennes non inscrites à la CITES, comme l’orignal, le mouflon de Dall et le carcajou.

La Direction générale de l’application de la loi d’Environnement Canada et le ministère de l’Environnement du Yukon ont dirigé l’enquête portant sur M. Martin. Cette enquête s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’opération Bruin, une enquête internationale approfondie d’une durée de trois ans menée par plusieurs organismes sur la chasse illégale d’espèces sauvages en Alaska. Environnement Canada, le Fish and Wildlife Service des États-Unis, Alaska Wildlife Troopers, la division des pêches et de la faune de l’Alberta et le ministère de l’Environnement du Yukon ont collaboré à cette enquête.

Fait en bref

  • Le Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement permet de transformer un dommage causé à l’environnement en une bonne action pour l’environnement. Dans l’esprit du principe du pollueur‑payeur, ceux qui causent des dommages à l’environnement ou à la faune doivent assumer la responsabilité de leurs actions. Les procureurs et les juges peuvent obliger les contrevenants aux lois sur l’environnement à payer des sanctions financières (amendes, paiements ou règlements) au Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement, et ainsi à contribuer à l’amélioration de l’environnement naturel au Canada.

Liens connexes

Personnes-ressources

Relations avec les médias
Environnement Canada
819-934-8008

Date de modification :