Toronto-based mining company ordered to pay penalty for Fisheries Act violation near Baker Lake, Nunavut

May 5, 2017 – Iqaluit, Nunavut – Environment and Climate Change Canada

On May 1, 2017, Agnico Eagle Mines Limited pleaded guilty, in the Nunavut Court of Justice, to one offence under the Fisheries Act. The court ordered the company to pay a total penalty of $50,000, which will be directed to the federal Environmental Damages Fund. As a result of this conviction, the company’s name will be added to the Environmental Offenders Registry.

In August 2013, an inspection at the Meadowbank Gold Mine revealed seepage from the tailings impoundment area into an area immediately next to a fish-bearing waterbody. The release had not been reported to an Environment and Climate Change Canada inspector or to the territorial spill line. Following an investigation by the Department’s enforcement officers, the company was charged, and it subsequently pleaded guilty to a violation of subsection 38(4) of the Fisheries Act--failing to notify an inspector following the unauthorized deposit of a deleterious substance into water frequented by fish.

Quick facts 

  • Environment and Climate Change Canada is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the pollution-prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act, which prohibit the deposit of deleterious substances into water frequented by fish.
  • Created in 1995, the Environmental Damages Fund is a Government of Canada program administered by Environment and Climate Change Canada. The fund follows the polluter pays principle and ensures that court-awarded penalties are used for projects with positive environmental impacts.

Associated links 

Fisheries Act

Environmental Damages Fund

Contacts

Media Relations
Environment and Climate Change Canada
819-938-3338 or 1-844-836-7799 (toll free)

Date modified:

Une compagnie minière de Toronto mise à l’amende pour avoir contrevenu à la Loi sur les pêches près de Baker Lake, au Nunavut

Le 5 mai 2017 – Iqaluit (Nunavut) – Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Le 1er mai 2017, Agnico-Eagle Mines Limited a plaidé coupable devant la Cour de justice du Nunavut pour une infraction à la Loi sur les pêches. La Cour a condamné la compagnie à payer une amende totale de 50 000 $, somme qui sera versée au Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement (FDE) du gouvernement fédéral. En raison de cette condamnation, le nom de la société sera ajouté au Registre des contrevenants environnementaux

Une inspection effectuée à la mine d’or de Meadowbank en août 2013 a permis de découvrir un suintement d’eau du dépôt de résidus miniers vers une zone adjacente à un plan d’eau où vivent des poissons. Le rejet n’avait pas été déclaré à un inspecteur d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC), ni à la ligne d’urgence en cas de déversement du Nunavut. Après une enquête menée par des agents de l’autorité d’ECCC, des accusations ont été portées contre la compagnie, qui a ensuite plaidé coupable d’avoir contrevenu au paragraphe 38(4) de la Loi sur les pêches pour avoir omis de signaler à un inspecteur le rejet non autorisé d’une substance nocive dans des eaux où vivent des poissons.

Faits saillants

  • Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est chargé de l’administration et de l’application des dispositions relatives à la prévention de la pollution de la Loi sur les pêches, en vertu de laquelle il est interdit de rejeter des substances nocives dans des eaux où vivent des poissons.
  • Créé en 1995, le Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement est un programme du gouvernement du Canada qui est administré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Fondé sur le principe du « pollueur-payeur », le Fonds permet d’acheminer les amendes imposées par les tribunaux vers des projets qui seront avantageux pour notre environnement naturel.

Liens connexes 

Loi sur les pêches

Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement

Personnes-ressources

Relations avec les médias
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
819-938-3338 ou 1-844-836-7799 (sans frais)

Date de modification :