SNE Sea Products Incorporated to Pay $15,000 Penalty for Disposal at Sea Violations

SYDNEY, N.S. -- May 30, 2012 -- On May 16, 2012, SNE Sea Products Incorporated, its CEO and President, Mr. Yong Taek Kim, and company director, Mr. Man Hwa Lee, pleaded guilty in Nova Scotia provincial court in Sydney to dumping hagfish into Louisbourg Harbour without a permit--a violation of the disposal at sea regulations of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. The company was ordered to pay a $15,000 penalty. 

In February 2010, the Department received a public complaint that a large quantity of hagfish, also known as slime eels, was dumped into Louisbourg Harbour. Environment Canada enforcement officers carried out an inspection and observed approximately 90,000 kilogrammes of dead hagfish in the water and along the shore of the harbour.

The Department opened an investigation into the incident in March 2010 and subsequently laid charges against SNE Sea Products Incorporated on August 16, 2011.

The Court ordered that all $15,000 of the penalty will be directed to the Environmental Damages Fund.

The Environmental Damages Fund supports the “Polluter Pays Principle”. It provides judges and prosecutors with an effective and innovative mechanism for responding to environmental damage, thus ensuring that environmental good can result from environmental harm.

Environment Canada has created a subscription service to help the public stay current with what the Government of Canada is doing to protect our natural environment. Subscribing to Environment Canada’s Enforcement Notifications is easy, and free. Sign up today.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations
Environment Canada
819-934-8008

Date modified:

L’entreprise SNE Sea Products Incorporated est condamnée à payer une amende de 15 000 dollars pour des immersions illégales en mer

SYDNEY, N.-É. -- le 30 mai 2012 -- Le 16 mai 2012, l’entreprise SNE Sea Products Incorporated, son président-directeur général, M. Yong Taek Kim, ainsi que le directeur, M. Man Hwa Lee, ont plaidé coupables devant la cour provinciale de la Nouvelle-Écosse, à Sydney, à des accusations d'avoir rejeté des myxines dans le port de Louisbourg sans détenir un permis d’immersion en mer, ce qui contrevient au Règlement sur l’immersion en mer de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999). L'entreprise a été condamnée à payer une amende de 15 000 dollars.

En février 2010, le Ministère a reçu une plainte publique selon laquelle une importante quantité de myxines avait été rejetée dans le port de Louisbourg. Les agents de l’autorité d’Environnement Canada ont effectué une inspection et ont constaté la présence d'une importante quantité de cadavres de myxines dans l’eau et le long du littoral du port, soit une quantité équivalant à quelque 90 000 kilogrammes.

Le Ministère a lancé une enquête en mars 2010, puis a déposé des accusations contre SNE Sea Products Incorporated le 16 août 2011.

La cour a ordonné que la totalité de l’amende (15 000 dollars) soit versée au Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement.

Le Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement se fonde sur le principe du « pollueur-payeur ». Les juges et les procureurs disposent ainsi d’un mécanisme efficace et novateur pour réagir aux dommages causés à l’environnement et s’assurer que ceux-ci soient réparés.

Environnement Canada a créé un service de souscription pour permettre au public d’être tenu informé des mesures que prend le gouvernement du Canada en vue de protéger notre environnement naturel. S’inscrire aux notifications d’application de la loi d’Environnement Canada, c’est simple et gratuit. Inscrivez-vous maintenant.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec :

Relations avec les médias
Environnement Canada
819-934-8008