Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership Sentenced for the Release of Effluent into the Columbia River

CASTLEGAR, B.C. -- July 26, 2012 -- On July 25, 2012, Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership was sentenced in British Columbia Provincial court for depositing effluent into the Columbia River, and for offences under the Environmental Management Act. The sentencing is the result of a conviction on February 16, 2012, following an 8-day trial.

Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership was fined a total of $150 000, and ordered to post details about the conviction on their corporate website until July 31, 2013. The Habitat Conservation Trust Foundation will receive $120 000 of the fine.

On November 19, 2008, Environment Canada initiated and led a joint investigation with the British Columbia Ministry of Environment’s Conservation Officer Service following a spill from the Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership pulp mill in Castlegar, British Columbia. The investigation led charges under the provincial Environmental Management Act. The judgment determined that effluent was released into the Columbia River over two days, and that Zellstoff Celgar failed to comply with permit requirements by discharging in excess of their permitted limits.

Environment Canada enforcement personnel investigate potential offences under a number of Acts and Regulations including the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999; the Species at Risk Act (SARA); the pollution provisions of Canada's Fisheries Act; the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994, and Regulation; and the Wild Animal and Plant Protection and Regulation of International and Interprovincial Trade Act (WAPPRIITA). Effective enforcement promotes greater compliance with the legislation and regulations that protect Canada's environment.

Environment Canada has created a subscription service to help the public stay current with what the Government of Canada is doing to protect our natural environment. Subscribing to Environment Canada’s Enforcement Notifications is easy, and free. Sign up today.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations
Environment Canada
819-934-8008

Date modified:

La société Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership condamnée pour le rejet d'un effluent dans le fleuve Columbia

CASTLEGAR, C.-B. -- le 26 juillet 2012 -- La société Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership a été condamnée, le 25 juillet 2012, devant la cour provinciale de la Colombie-Britannique pour avoir déversé un effluent dans le fleuve Columbia et pour avoir commis d’ infractions à la loi provinciale sur la gestion de l'environnement. La sentence a été prononcée à la suite d’une déclaration de culpabilité le 16 février 2012, au terme d’un procès d’une durée de 8 jours.

La société Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership a écopé d’une amende totale de 150 000 dollars et doit donner des précisions au sujet de sa condamnation sur son site Web jusqu’au 31 juillet 2013. De cette somme, la fondation fiduciaire Habitat Conservation Trust Foundation recevra 120 000 dollars.

Le 19 novembre 2008, Environnement Canada a lancé et dirigé une enquête conjointe avec le service des agents de conservation du ministère de l’Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique à la suite d’un déversement provenant de l’usine Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership, située à Castlegar, en Colombie-Britannique. L’enquête a donné lieu à des chefs d’accusation en vertu de la loi provinciale sur la gestion de l'environnement. Le jugement déclare d’effluents ont été déversés dans le fleuve Columbia et que la société a omis de respecter les exigences relatives à son permis à la suite d’un déversement dépassant les limites qui lui sont autorisées.

Le personnel d’Environnement Canada responsable de l’application de la loi mène une enquête à la suite d’infractions commises à plusieurs lois et règlements, y compris la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), la Loi sur les espèces en péril, les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches du Canada relatives à la pollution, la loi et le règlement visant les oiseaux migrateurs et Loi sur la protection d'espèces animales ou végétales sauvages et la réglementation de leur commerce international et interprovincial. Une application des lois efficace favorise une observation accrue de la législation et de la réglementation visant à protéger l’environnement au Canada.

Environnement Canada a créé un service de souscription pour permettre au public d’être tenu informé des mesures que prend le gouvernement du Canada en vue de protéger notre environnement naturel. S’inscrire aux notifications d'application de la loi d’Environnement Canada, c’est simple et gratuit. Inscrivez-vous maintenant.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquer avec :

Relations avec les médias
Environnement Canada
819-934-8008