Human Health Costs

Air pollution damages the health of Canadians which imposes significant financial, economic, and social costs on the Canadian economy and people.  In terms of increased health care costs, missed days of work, and reduced worker productivity, air pollution costs Canadians and the Canadian economy billions of dollars per year.  The full social costs of air pollution, however, are even higher. The social costs of air pollution include not only health care costs and lost productivity, but also the loss in social welfare due to pain, suffering, and death.

Air pollution is linked in varying degrees with a wide variety of health concerns including asthma and cardiovascular disease. Studies from the Toronto Public Health Department, the Government of Canada, and the Ontario Medical Association all show that air pollution can lead to premature death, increased hospital admissions, more emergency room visits, and higher rates of worker absenteeism.

Modest reductions in the levels of key air pollutants can have potentially large impacts on human health and the economy. For example a 10 percent reduction in the ambient levels of ground level ozone and fine particulate matter (PM2.5) across Canada would have significant health benefits, including reducing the number of premature deaths by hundreds, reducing hospital admissions and emergency room visits by thousands, and reducing restricted activity days by millions. These health improvements would result in several hundred million dollars in savings for Canada's medical system.

The social impact of air pollution on human health is not limited to the medical costs. For example, the medical costs associated with a hospital admission for respiratory illness is, on average, approximately $3,000. But the typical respiratory illness hospital admission might also result in approximately an extra $1,000 in lost wages and worker production. However the social cost of a respiratory hospital admission is even greater than $4,000, because this figure does not account for the pain and suffering that accompanies such illness. The additional social cost of illness is measure based on the willingness of individuals to pay to avoid the illness, either through a direct payment, or through making choices in their life that represent trading off material consumption for improved health.

Many studies in the Environmental Valuation Reference Inventory (EVRI) show that people are willing to pay to reduce many ailments and diseases caused by air pollution. (EVRI is a searchable storehouse of empirical studies on the economic value of environmental benefits and human health effects. The database is available with a free subscription.)

For example, the paper Valuing Stated Preferences for Health Benefits of Improved Air Quality: Results of a Pilot Study co-sponsored by several partners, including Environment Canada and Health Canada, estimated individuals' willingness to pay to avoid health effects associated with air pollution. Depending on the type and severity of the health problem, respondents indicated that on average they would pay between $69 and $1,816 (1996 Canadian Dollars) to avoid an episode of poor health.

For instance, on average, people would pay $143 to avoid an occurrence of an episode that would limit their activity in a minor way such as a runny nose and sore throat. By comparison, people would pay an average of $1,638 to avoid a full day of coughing, wheezing, and shortness of breath that would severely limit their activity.

When the social welfare impacts of illness and mortality related to air pollution are considered, the benefits of reducing air pollution are substantial. For a 10 percent reduction in PM2.5 and ozone levels, the net social welfare benefit for Canadians would be in excess of $4 billion. Roughly $500 million of these benefits would be direct financial benefits, and the remaining $3.5 million or more is an expression of how much more Canadians would be willing to pay to avoid the health impacts associated with the change in PM and ozone levels.

Date modified:

Coûts en matière de santé

La pollution de l'air affecte la santé des Canadiens ce qui engendrent des répercussions financières, économiques et sociales sur l'économie du Canada et les gens. Si l'on considère la hausse des coûts de la santé, les journées de travail perdues et les pertes de productivité des travailleurs, la pollution atmosphérique coûte aux Canadiens des milliards de dollars par année. Les coûts sociaux liés à la pollution de l'air sont encore plus grands, car en plus des coûts de la santé, ils comprennent la perte de bien-être social due à la douleur, à la souffrance et à la mort.

La pollution atmosphérique est liée à différents degrés à un grand nombre de problèmes de santé comme l’asthme et les maladies cardiovasculaires. Des études du Toronto Public Health Department, du gouvernement du Canada et de la Ontario Medical Association révèlent toutes que la pollution atmosphérique peut donner lieu à des décès prématurés, à une hausse des hospitalisations, à des visites plus fréquentes à l’urgence et à de plus forts taux d’absentéisme.

Même une réduction modeste de la concentration des principaux polluants atmosphériques aurait une influence très positive sur la santé humaine et l’économie. Par exemple, une réduction à l’échelle canadienne de 10 pour cent des concentrations d’ozone troposphérique et de particules fines (P2,5) se traduirait par des avantages évidents en matière de santé, comme la réduction par centaines du nombre de décès prématurés, la réduction par milliers des hospitalisations et des visites à l’urgence et la réduction par millions des journées d’activité restreinte. Ces améliorations feraient économiser plusieurs centaines de millions de dollars au système de santé canadien.

Les répercussions sociales des effets de la pollution atmosphérique sur la santé ne se résument pas aux coûts médicaux. En effet, les coûts associés à une hospitalisation pour maladie respiratoire sont de 3000$ en moyenne, et à cela peuvent s’ajouter 1000$ en pertes de salaires et de productivité. Cependant, le coût social d’une hospitalisation pour maladie respiratoire dépasse les 4000$, car ce chiffre ne tient pas compte de la douleur et de la souffrance qu’implique ce genre de maladie. Le coût social additionnel des maladies respiratoires est mesuré d’après la disposition des personnes à payer pour éviter ces maladies, que ce soit directement ou en faisant des choix de vie qui privilégient la santé plutôt que l’aisance matérielle. 

De nombreuses études faisant partie de l’Inventaire de référence des valorisations environnementales (IRVE) révèlent que les gens sont prêts à payer pour lutter contre de nombreuses affections et maladies causées par la pollution atmosphérique. (L’IRVE est un répertoire consultable d’études empiriques sur la valeur économique des avantages environnementaux et des effets sur la santé. Cette base de données est accessible par abonnement gratuit.)

Par exemple, l’article Valuing Stated Preferences for Health Benefits of Improved Air Quality: Results of a Pilot Study, réalisé avec l’appui de plusieurs partenaires dont Environnement Canada et Santé Canada, estime la disposition des particuliers à payer pour éviter que la pollution atmosphérique ne nuise à leur santé. Selon le type et la gravité du problème de santé, les répondants indiquaient qu’ils auraient payé, en moyenne, entre 69$ et 1816$ (en dollars canadiens de 1996) pour rectifier la situation.

Les gens paieraient 143$ en moyenne pour éviter que ne se produisent des troubles de santé qui gêneraient un peu leurs activités, comme l’écoulement nasal ou le mal de gorge. Par comparaison, ils paieraient 1638$ en moyenne pour éviter une journée complète de toux, de respiration sifflante et d’essoufflement pendant laquelle leurs activités seraient fortement limitées.

Lorsque l’on prend en compte les conséquences que la maladie et la mortalité liées à la pollution atmosphérique font subir à la société, les avantages de la réduction de la pollution sont considérables. Avec une réduction de 10 pour cent des concentrations de P2,5 et d’ozone, l’avantage collectif dont bénéficieraient les Canadiens dépasserait les quatre milliards de dollars. De ce montant, environ 500millions seraient des avantages financiers directs, et les 3,5 milliards restants refléteraient ce que les Canadiens seraient prêts à payer pour éviter des problèmes de santé si les concentrations de particules et d’ozone étaient réduites.