Environment Canada Protected Areas Strategy

cover of publication

In Canada the legal protection of lands for the benefit of wildlife, habitat and biodiversity conservation is largely led by Federal, Provincial, Territorial and Aboriginal governments. Environment Canada's mandate focuses specifically on the conservation and protection of migratory birds and, with the support of provinces, territories and aboriginal peoples, species at risk and other species of national interest. Environment Canada contributes to this goal through its network of protected areas whose designations and management are supported by legislation.

The purpose of the Environment Canada Protected Areas Strategy is to outline the role, strategic direction, and scope of the Protected Areas Program for the period 2010-2015. This program is delivered by the Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS), a Directorate of the Department of Environment.The Strategy builds on the vision and directions provided by the CWS 2010-15 Strategic Plan, the 2005-2010 Protected Areas Strategic Plan, and the 2005 Federal Marine Protected Areas Strategy.

Available Formats:

PDF; 292.6 KB / HTML

Environment Canada produces a wide variety of publications in various print and electronic formats. Some formats may not be accessible to screen readers. Alternate accessible formats are available upon request. Please contact enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Author: Environment Canada
  • Language of Document: Separate English/French
  • Document Type: Report
  • Cat. No.: En14-44/2011E-PDF
  • ISBN: 978-1-100-18657-3
  • Size: 21.6x28 cm
  • Pages: 16
  • Year: 2011
Date modified:

Stratégie des aires protégées d’Environnement Canada

photo couverture de la publication

Au Canada la protection juridique des terres destinées à la conservation de la faune, de l'habitat et de la biodiversité est principalement assurée par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones. Le mandat d'Environnement Canada est surtout axé sur la conservation et la protection des oiseaux migrateurs et, avec l'apport des provinces, des territoires et des peuples autochtones, sur les espèces en péril et autres espèces d'intérêt national. Environnement Canada contribue à cet objectif au moyen de son réseau d'aires protégées dont l'établissement et la gestion reposent sur la législation.

La Stratégie des aires protégées d'Environnement Canada vise à décrire le rôle, l'orientation stratégique et la portée du Programme pour les aires protégées couvrant la période 2010-2015. Le Service canadien de la faune (SCF), une direction du ministère de l'Environnement, est responsable de son exécution. La Stratégie est fondée sur la vision et les orientations établies dans le Plan stratégique 2010-2015 du SCF, le Plan stratégique 2005-2010 sur les aires protégées, et la Stratégie fédérale de 2005 sur les aires marines protégées.

Formats disponibles :

PDF; 277,6 Ko / HTML

Environnement Canada produit une grande variété de publications de différents formats électroniques et imprimés. Certains formats peuvent ne pas être accessibles pour des lecteurs d'écran. Des médias substituts accessibles sont disponibles sur demande. Veuillez communiquer avec enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Auteur : Environnement Canada
  • Langue du document : anglais/français séparé
  • Type de document : Rapport
  • N° de catalogue : En14-44/2011F-PDF
  • ISBN : 978-1-100-97362-3
  • Taille : 21,6x28 cm
  • Pages : 17
  • Année : 2011
Date de modification :