Canada’s Emissions Trends 2012

cover of publication

Consistent with its goal of becoming a "World Class Regulator," and ensuring greater transparency, Environment Canada has committed to publish emissions projections annually. This is the second annual report, building on last year's publication, Canada's Emissions Trends 2011.

The analysis presented in this report incorporates the most up-to-date statistics on GHG emissions and energy available at the time that the technical modeling was completed , and is based on scenarios of emissions projections using a detailed, proven Energy, Emissions and Economy Model for Canada.

Last year, projected emissions were 710 Mt in 2010. Since that time, data collected by Statistics Canada for 2010 has been assessed for the National Inventory Report 1990-2010: Greenhouse Gas Sources and Sinks in Canada (NIR) in accordance with standards set by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change - a United Nations body. Estimates published in the 2012 NIR show that Canada's emissions in 2010 were actually 2.6% lower at 692 Mt. Subsequently, emissions projections in this paper have been revised down compared to the 2011 Report to reflect these changes as well as factors such as slower-than-expected economic growth for certain emissions-intensive subsectors.

Available Formats:

HTML / PDF 862 KB

Environment Canada produces a wide variety of publications in various print and electronic formats. Some formats may not be accessible to screen readers. Alternate accessible formats are available upon request. Please contact enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Author: Environment Canada
  • Language of Document: Separate English/French
  • Document Type: Report
  • Cat. No.: En84-83/2012E-PDF
  • ISBN: 978-1-100-99582-3
  • Size: 21.6x28 cm
  • Pages: 69
  • Year: 2012

Tendances en matière d'émissions au Canada 2012

photo couverture de la publication

Conformément à son objectif visant à devenir une « autorité de réglementation de calibre mondial » tout en assurant une plus grande transparence, Environnement Canada s'est engagé à publier chaque année des prévisions en matière d'émissions. Il s'agit du deuxième rapport annuel, lequel s'appuie sur la publication de l'an passé, Tendances en matière d'émissions au Canada en 2011.

L'analyse présentée dans ce rapport intègre les statistiques les plus récentes sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et l'énergie disponible au moment où la modélisation technique a été achevée; elle se base sur des scénarios de prévisions d'émissions grâce à un modèle énergie-émissions-économie détaillé et ayant fait ses preuves pour le Canada.

L'année dernière, les émissions prévues se chiffraient à 710 Mt en 2010. Depuis, les données recueillies par Statistique Canada pour l'année 2010 ont été évaluées en vue de la production du Rapport d'inventaire national (RIN), conformément aux normes établies par le Groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat - un organisme des Nations Unies. Les estimations publiées dans le Rapport d'inventaire national 2012 montrent que les émissions du Canada en 2010 ont en fait été inférieures de 2,6 % et se sont établies à 692 Mt. Par conséquent, les projections d'émissions figurant dans le présent document ont été révisées à la baisse relativement au rapport de 2011 afin de refléter ces changements, ainsi que des facteurs comme la croissance économique plus faible que prévu dans certains sous-secteurs à forte intensité d'émissions.

Formats disponibles :

HTML / PDF 580 Ko

Environnement Canada produit une grande variété de publications de différents formats électroniques et imprimés. Certains formats peuvent ne pas être accessibles pour des lecteurs d'écran. Des médias substituts accessibles sont disponibles sur demande. Veuillez communiquer avec enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

  • Auteur : Environnement Canada
  • Langue du document : anglais/français séparé
  • Type de document : Rapport
  • N° de catalogue : En84-83/2012F-PDF
  • ISBN : 978-1-100-99582-3
  • Taille : 21,6x28 cm
  • Pages : 80
  • Année : 2012
Date de modification :