This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Water Research Topics

Environment Canada research is vitally important to the conservation and protection of Canada's water resources. Environment Canada scientists are leading the way in recognizing new threats to the quality and quantity of freshwater and in producing the scientific knowledge needed by policy makers and governments to act swiftly to confront them.

Environment Canada conducts research in every region of Canada, investigating environmental issues such as impacts of agriculture, industry, and urbanization on water quality; the effects of contaminants in lakes, rivers, groundwater, and sediments; the extent of atmospherically transported persistent organic pollutants and metals in aquatic ecosystems; and the potential impact of climate change on water quantity and quality.

Explore some of our research by topic:

Winter scene | Photo: Environment CanadaIn Canada, 24,000 drugs are approved for human and veterinary use - some of these are being found in wastewater and agricultural runoff | Photo: Environment CanadaElevated E. coli bacteria levels can adversely affect recreational waters and result in beach closures | Photo: Corel CorporationWinter sampling water chemistry on Batchawana Lake | Photo: Environment CanadaFarm scene | Photo: Environment Canada

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sujets de recherche de l'eau 

Les recherches menées à Environnement Canada sont très importantes pour la conservation et a protection des ressources en eau du Canada. Les chercheurs d’Environnement Canada jouent un rôle de pionniers en identifiant les nouvelles menaces qui pèsent sur les eaux douces, tant pour la qualité que pour la quantité, et en produisant les connaissances scientifiques dont ont besoin les décideurs et les gouvernements pour intervenir rapidement.

Environnement Canada mène des recherches dans toutes les régions du Canada, et étudie des problèmes environnementaux comme les répercussions de l’agriculture, de l’industrie et de l’urbanisation sur la qualité de l’eau; les effets des contaminants dans les lacs, les rivières, les eaux souterraines et les sédiments; l’ampleur du transport atmosphérique des polluants organiques persistants et des métaux dans les écosystèmes aquatiques, et les impacts potentiels du changement climatique sur la quantité et la qualité de l’eau.

Examinez certaines de nos recherches par sujet :

Scène d'hiver | Photo : Environnement CanadaAu Canada, 24 000 médicaments sont homologués pour administration aux humains et aux animaux - certains de ces médicaments se trouvent dans les eaux usées et les eaux de ruissellement agricole | Photo : Environnement CanadaDes niveaux élevés de bactéries E. coli peuvent affecter de manière défavorable les eaux utilisées à des fins récréatives et entraîner des fermetures de plage | Photo : Corel CorporationÉchantillonnage d'hiver pour étudier la chimie de l'eau du lac Batchawan | Photo : Environnement CanadaScène agricole | Photo : Environnement Canada

Date de modification :