Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

 

Draft Environmental Code of Practice for Elimination of Fluorocarbon Emissions from Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Systems

PDF Version (2.00 Mb)

Chemicals Sector Directorate
Environment Canada

July 2011

Coordination:
Marie-France Nguyen, P.Eng
Chemical Production Division
Environmental Stewardship Branch
Environment Canada

Prepared by:
John Critchley, M.A.Sc, EP, CEA, EMS(LA), P.Eng
i14000.com Inc.

Aussi disponible en français

Acknowledgments

The preparation of this document would not have been possible without cooperation and assistance from many individuals representing the refrigeration and air conditioning industry, industry associations, organized labour, federal, provincial, and territorial governments, product manufacturers, and environmental groups. Environment Canada greatly acknowledges their contributions.

  • Alberta Environment
  • British Columbia Ministry of Environment
  • Génération HaloCAREbure Ltée
  • Heating, Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning Institute (HRAI)
  • Manitoba Conservation
  • Manitoba Ozone Protection Industry Association Inc. (MOPIA)
  • New Brunswick Department of Environment
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Environment
  • Northwest Territories Department of Environment and Natural Resources
  • Nova Scotia Department of Environment
  • Nunavut Department of Environment
  • Ontario Ministry of the Environment
  • Prince Edward Island Department of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Environment
  • Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs de Québec
  • Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment
  • Yukon Department of Environment

Disclaimer: The Environmental Code of Practice for Elimination of Fluorocarbon Emissions from Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Systems does not set out all norms and obligations from legislation, nor does it fully set out those norms and obligations it mentions. For a full perspective of the law, refer to the applicable legislation.

Background

In 1987, Canada signed an international multilateral environmental treaty, the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer (Montreal Protocol). The Montreal Protocol has universal participation, having been signed and ratified by 196 countries. Under the Montreal Protocol, parties have been phasing out the production and consumption of a wide range of chemicals that are known to contribute to ozone depletion, including chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) and hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs). The phase-out of these ozone-depleting substances (ODSs) has resulted in an increase in the use of halocarbon alternative substances such as hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) and perfluorocarbons (PFCs), which are now known to be potent greenhouse gases (GHGs).

At the federal level, Canada controls the production, import, export, sale, offer for sale and certain uses of ,ODSs through the provisions of the Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations, 1999. While the production and importation of virgin ODSs are controlled and largely phased out, sizeable volumes continue to exist in equipment such as large commercial building chillers, domestic appliances and mobile air conditioning. The federal government enacted the Federal Halocarbon Regulations, 2003 to reduce the emissions of refrigerants at federal facilities and on federal and Aboriginal lands. At the provincial and territorial level, there is legislation applicable to all sectors to prevent the release of ODSs, as well as addressing the recovery of refrigerants during servicing and the reuse of refrigerants. Moreover, there are many Standards relating to the design, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of refrigeration equipment.

Man writingThe Environmental Code of Practice for Elimination of Fluorocarbon Emissions from Refrigeration and Air Conditioningwas published in 1991 to provide guidelines for the reduction of atmospheric emissions of CFCs used in air conditioning and refrigeration applications. The Code was later updated in 1996.

This current version of the Code updates the phase-out of CFCs and HCFCs, the technologies and techniques (best practices) to reduce emissions of refrigerants, and alternate means and/or refrigerants to provide cooling.1 It also considers the global warming implications of refrigerants and their use. GHG emission reductions are not simply the result of reducing emissions in the operation and servicing of refrigerative equipment, but also the indirect result of using equipment that is more efficient and designing facilities to reduce the capacity of refrigerative equipment (and therefore reduce the volumes of refrigerants to spill). To fully appreciate and examine the efficiency of equipment, it is necessary to examine the costs of ownership (both acquisition and over the life cycle). These factors are addressed in this revised Code. In addition, due to the flammability of some newer refrigerants, more attention has been placed on safety. The focus of this Code is the responsible and safe use of refrigerants and refrigerative energy. 

Other initiatives are being considered in the near future that will undoubtedly influence the direction provided in this Code. Nonetheless, passages in this Code with respect to existing and proposed non-halocarbon refrigerants such as ammonia, carbon dioxide (CO2) and hydrocarbons (HC) may be useful and provide alternatives to leapfrog over HFCs in transitions from HCFCs directly to more sustainable solutions. 

This Code addresses the design, installation, operation, servicing, maintenance2 and decommissioning of cooling systems. It does not include fire-fighting halocarbons such as Halons and applications other than cooling. This Code does not replace regulations, Codes and Standards. These are to be reviewed and implemented in conjunction with this Code.

Table of Contents


1The terms “cooling” and “refrigerative” are used throughout this document to include both air conditioning and refrigeration.

2The term “maintenance” in this document includes preventive maintenance, repairs, overhauls and refurbishment.

Ébauche du Code de pratiques environnementales pour l’élimination des rejets dans l’atmosphère de fluorocarbures provenant des systèmes de réfrigération et de conditionnement d’air

Version PDF (2.18 Mo)

Direction du Secteur des produits chimiques Environnement Canada

Juillet 2011

Coordination:
Marie-France Nguyen, ing.
Division de la production des produits chimiques
Direction générale de la gérance de l'environnement
Environnement Canada

Préparé par :
John Critchley, M.A.Sc, PE, VEA, SGE (AP), ing.
i14000.com Inc.

Also available in English

Remerciements

La préparation de ce document n’aurait pas été possible sans la coopération et l’aide d’un grand nombre de personnes représentant l’industrie de la réfrigération et de la climatisation, des associations de l’industrie, des syndicats, les gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, les fabricants de produits et les groupes environnementaux. Environnement Canada les remercie sincèrement de leur apport.

  • Alberta Environment
  • British Columbia Ministry of Environment
  • Génération HaloCAREbure Ltée
  • Institut canadien du chauffage, de la climatisation et de la réfrigération (ICCCR)
  • Manitoba Conservation
  • Manitoba Ozone Protection Industry Association Inc. (MOPIA)
  • Ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario
  • Ministère de l’Environnement du Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Ministère des Pêches, de l’Aquaculture et de l’Environnement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Environment
  • Northwest Territories Department of Environment and Natural Resources
  • Nova Scotia Department of Environment
  • Nunavut Department of Environment
  • Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment
  • Yukon Department of Environment

Avertissement : Le Code de pratiques environnementales pour l’élimination des rejets dans l’atmosphère fluorocarbures provenant des systèmes de réfrigération et de conditionnement d’air n’énonce pas toutes les normes et obligations de la législation et n’explique pas entièrement les normes et les obligations qu’il mentionne. Pour une perspective intégrale de la loi, consulter la législation pertinente.

Contexte

C’est en 1987 que le Canada a signé un accord international multilatéral sur l'environnement, le Protocole de Montréal relatif à des substances qui appauvrissent la couche d'ozone(le Protocole de Montréal). Le Protocole de Montréal jouit d’une participation universelle, ayant été signé et ratifié par 196 pays. Dans le cadre du Protocole de Montréal, les Parties ont éliminé progressivement la production et la consommation d'un large éventail de produits chimiques qui sont reconnus comme contribuant à l'appauvrissement de la couche d'ozone, y compris les chlorofluorocarbures (CFC) et les hydrochlorofluorocarbures (HCFC). L'élimination progressive de ces substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (SACO) a entraîné une augmentation de l'utilisation de substances de remplacement des halocarbures, telles que les hydrofluorocarbures (HFC) et les hydrocarbures perfluorés (PFC), qui sont maintenant reconnus comme étant de puissants gaz à effet de serre (GES).

Au niveau fédéral, le Canada contrôle la production, l'importation, l'exportation, la vente, la mise en vente et d’autres utilisations de SACO par le biais des dispositions du Règlement sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone, 1999 (RSACO 1999). Bien que la production et l'importation des SACO vierges soient contrôlées et largement éliminées de façon progressive, on sait qu’il en existe encore des volumes considérables dans les équipements tels que les refroidisseurs des grands bâtiments commerciaux, les électroménagers et les systèmes de climatisation mobiles. Le gouvernement fédéral a adopté le Règlement fédéral sur les halocarbures (2003), qui vise à diminuer les émissions de frigorigènes dans les installations du gouvernement fédéral et sur des terres domaniales et autochtones. À l'échelon provincial et territorial, il existe une loi pour empêcher le rejet de SACO, ainsi qu’une loi traitant de la récupération des frigorigènes pour l’entretien et la réutilisation dans tous les secteurs. De plus, il existe plusieurs normes relatives au design, à l’exploitation, à l’entretien et à la mise hors service du matériel frigorifique.

Homme assis en train d'écrireLe Code de pratiques environnementales pour l’élimination des rejets dans l’atmosphère de fluorocarbures provenant des systèmes de réfrigération et de conditionnement d’air a été publié en 1991 afin d’établir des lignes directrices pour la réduction des rejets dans l’atmosphère de CFC utilisés dans les appareils de réfrigération et de climatisation. Le Code de pratiques a été mis à jour pour la dernière fois en 1996.

La version actuelle du Code est une mise à jour concernant l’élimination graduelle des CFC et des HCFC, les technologies et les méthodes (meilleures pratiques) pour diminuer les émissions de frigorigènes ainsi que les autres moyens et/ou types de frigorigènes pour fournir des systèmes de refroidissement1. Le Code porte également sur le rôle des frigorigènes dans le réchauffement climatique et leur utilisation. La réduction des rejets de GES ne découle pas uniquement de la diminution des émissions de gaz provenant de l’exploitation et de l’entretien du matériel de réfrigération, mais également, de façon indirecte, d’une utilisation plus efficace du matériel et d’un meilleur design des installations pour réduire le nombre de systèmes de réfrigération (diminuant ainsi la quantité de frigorigènes rejetés). Pour mieux apprécier et mieux examiner l’efficacité du matériel, il faut évaluer les coûts relatifs à la propriété (l’acquisition et la durée de vie du matériel). Ces facteurs sont abordés dans cette version révisée du Code. De plus, en raison de l’inflammabilité de certains nouveaux frigorigènes, c’est la sécurité qui a bien davantage retenu l’attention. L’objectif de ce Code est de promouvoir une utilisation responsable et sécuritaire des frigorigènes et de l’énergie réfrigérante.  

On tiendra compte, dans un avenir rapproché, d’autres mesures qui influeront sans aucun doute sur les lignes directrices énoncées dans le présent Code. Néanmoins, ce Code contient des passages relatifs aux frigorigènes existants et proposés ne contenant pas de fluorocarbures, comme l’ammoniac, le dioxyde de carbone (CO2), les hydrocarbures (HC), etc., pouvant être utiles et pouvant fournir des solutions de rechange plus viables pour éviter d’utiliser les HFC en remplacement des HCFC devant être éliminés.

Le présent Code porte sur le design, l’installation, l’exploitation, l’entretien2 et la mise hors service des systèmes de refroidissement. Il ne traite pas de la lutte contre les incendies causés par des halocarbures, comme les halons, ni des applications autres que de refroidissement. Le Code ne remplace pas les règlements, normes et codes qui doivent être étudiés et mis en application de concert avec le présent Code.

Table des matières


1 Les termes « refroidissement » et « réfrigérante » employés tout au long du présent document réfèrent aux systèmes de réfrigération et de climatisation.

2 Le terme « entretien » comprend l’entretien préventif, la réparation et la remise en état du matériel.

Date de modification :