Lumber and Allied Wood Products

The forest industry in Canada is one of the country’s largest industrial employers, directly and indirectly providing employment for more than one million Canadians across the country. In 2000, it generated 257,500 direct jobs and 772,500 indirect jobs, with the lumber and allied wood products sector responsible for about one quarter of both direct and indirect jobs. Sales of all forest products, including wood and allied products, produced in Canada during 2000 were $58.7 billion. Of that total, wood products accounted for $17 billion.

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC 25) definition of the lumber and allied wood products industry covers a wide range of facilities. These include sawmills, and composite wood product facilities such as shingle mills, plywood mills, various types of panelboard mills, the wood door and window industry, and prefab wooden buildings.

Lumber and composite products are put to a large variety of uses from building products to household uses. However, the vast majority of lumber and allied wood products are used in residential and industrial construction. Historically, building material consisted of dimension lumber and plywood. However, within the last 30 years an increasing number of composite wood products and higher value engineered wood products have emerged.

Those facilities and establishments that deal directly with wood fibre as a raw material to produce a wood product include the following: sawmills, shakes and shingles mills, plywood and veneer (hardwood and softwood) mills,and panelboard mills which include particleboard mills, medium density fibreboard (MDF) mills, hardboard mills, oriented strandboard (OSB) and waferboard mills.

Lumber is produced from softwood or hardwood logs in a sawmill. Shakes and shingles are produced by hand splitting, sawing and tapering. These products are either air of kiln dried.

Panelboard products are manufactured from wood flakes, strands or sawdust to which resin is added before being sent to a hot press where the composite materials are pressed into boards.

Engineered wood products are basically composite materials, intended for use as a substitute for lumber and other structural materials. They are made from lumber, veneers, wood strands and other wood elements bound together with adhesives and include products such as laminated veneer lumber (LVL), parallel strand lumber (PSL) and glue-laminated lumber (gluelam).

Emissions from wood products facilities vary with mill type and process used. Typically they could include Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs), Particulate Matter (PM10 and PM2.5), Nitrogen Oxides (NOx), and Carbon Monoxide (CO), methanol, formaldehyde, acrolein, or acelatdehyde.

Produits du bois d’œuvre et produits connexes

L’industrie forestière du Canada est l’un des plus grands employeurs industriels du pays, fournissant un emploi direct ou indirect à plus d’un million de Canadiens d’un océan à l’autre. En 2000, on y a recensé 257 500 emplois directs et 772 500 emplois indirects, dont environ un quart dans le secteur du bois d’œuvre et des produits connexes. La même année, les ventes canadiennes des produits de la forêt, y compris les produits du bois et les produits connexes, s’élevaient à 58,7 milliards de dollars. Sur ce total, les produits du bois représentaient 17 milliards de dollars.

Selon la définition de la classification type des industries (CTI 25), l’industrie du bois d’œuvre et des produits connexes englobe un large éventail d’installations, notamment les scieries et les usines de produits composites tels que les bardeaux, le contreplaqué, diverses sortes de panneaux, les portes et les fenêtres ainsi que les bâtiments préfabriqués.

Les produits du bois d’œuvre et les produits composites servent à toute une gamme d’usages, allant de la construction aux usages domestiques. Toutefois, la vaste majorité de ces produits est utilisée pour la construction résidentielle ou industrielle. Par le passé, les matériaux de construction étaient constitués de bois d’échantillon et de contreplaqué, mais on a vu au cours des 30dernières années l’émergence d’un nombre croissant de produits composites et de bois d’ingénierie de valeur supérieure.

Les installations qui traitent directement la fibre ligneuse comme une matière première en vue d’obtenir un produit du bois comprennent: les scieries, les usines de bardeaux, les usines de contreplaqué et de placages (bois dur ou mou) et les usines de panneaux, au nombre desquelles figurent les usines d’agglomérés de bois, de panneaux de fibres à densité moyenne, de panneaux rigides, de panneaux à copeaux orientés et de panneaux de grandes particules.

Le bois d’œuvre est produit dans les scieries à l’aide de billes de bois dur ou de bois mou. Le bardeau est obtenu par fendage, sciage et amincissement du bois à la main. Tous deux sont séchés à l’air ou au four.

Les panneaux sont des matériaux composites formés de morceaux, de copeaux ou de sciure de bois auxquels on ajoute de la résine avant de les presser à chaud.

Le bois d’ingénierie est constitué essentiellement de matériaux composites qui sont utilisés comme substituts du bois d’œuvre et d’autres matériaux de gros œuvre. Il est fabriqué de pièces de bois d’œuvre, de placages et d’autres éléments ligneux réunis entre eux à l’aide d’adhésifs. Les produits tels que le bois en placage stratifié, le bois de copeaux parallèles et le bois lamellé-collé font partie du bois d’ingénierie.

Les émissions des installations de produits ligneux varient selon le type d’usine et le procédé employé. En général, ce sont des Composés organiques volatils (COVs), des Particules (P10 et des P2,5), des Oxydes d’azote(NOx) et du Monoxyde de carbone (CO), du méthanol, du formaldéhyde, de l’acroléine et de l’acétaldéhyde.